We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Educational”

Menno-Hof Mennonite - Amish Visitor Center
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amish and Mennonite museum and visitor center.
Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Educational”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Learned a lot about the Amish and Mennonites. Right next door to the Farmstead Inn. Exhibits were nicely constructed and very thorough. Small kids may not like the Tornado room.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hap-hazzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    63
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toledo
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth the Time to Learn”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Worth the time to learn about the culture. If you're going on vacation to this area because of the culture then learn about the culture. Great tour - friendly staff.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank maadta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband & I enjoyed our visit here. Hands on self guided. Saw a movie first telling us all about the different people who settled here, their religion and lifestyle. Very informative. The tornado room was interesting and the church.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CantonSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great education”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Menno-Hof Mennonite Amish Visitor Center is an excellent way to get an overview of the Amish community for a reasonable price. I visited with my mother and my 15 year old daughter and we all enjoyed it very much. It was both educational and fun. The guides were knowledgeable, and the films and exhibits information. I highly recommend it as a first stop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank plvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very informing”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Visited during stay in the area. Great guides and info on the different cultures.

Only drawback was for the guides to give more info on the Amish, etc. living
standards. Such as, after the tour, I asked a guide about their church get
togethers, their volunteer work outside the state, their different clothing, etc.
I thought it would cover more about their daily living of which I am very interested in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RedontheheadIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menno-Hof Mennonite - Amish Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Menno-Hof Mennonite - Amish Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing