We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: When the newly built Blue Gate Restaurant & Bakery opened it doors on August 4th, 2001 in Shipshewana, the entire town was invited over for dinner. As one of Indiana's largest restaurants, the Blue Gate comfortably seats 600 (more than the town's population). Built to reflect the surrounding community, the Blue Gate resembles a rambling white farmhouse, similar to those that dot the surrounding Amish coutnryside.An award winning restaurant serving a world famous Family-style meal that features pressure fried chicken and 3 other meats, real mashed potatoes, Amish noodles, plus lots of other sides and 25 varieties of pies to choose from
Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had excellent food at the Blue Gate. Jailyn did a great job serving us. They have so many types of pie it is difficult to order just one kind. Their chicken and noodles are to die for! I definitely recommend this restaurant!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhioTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    309
    134
    56
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice Amish Resteraunt”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

It is pretty big and some people might think it is too much of a Tourist attraction but I liked it. Some of the staff were Amish, some were not. They had veggie burgers, which was great as a vegetarian as I struggled in a lot of places, particularly Indiana. The only odd thing was it came with a bowl of fresh fruit. I never got to the bottom of that.

You get a little loaf of Amish bread with peanut butter and apple sauce free with every meal, which is nice touch.

There is an amazing selection of fruit pies for desert. One night we went in just for pie!

There is also a tourist shop and bakery on the site which is worth looking at.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brown9952173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great home cooking”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The service, food, and atmosphere was excellent! Just like home except someone else did the cooking and work!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mackinawmaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
164 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“If you like Amish family style meals - this is the place.”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had dinner as part of the evening including a show that is done upstairs from the restaurant. The family style meal was one of the better ones I've had for that type of meal. Very good chicken and we opted for the ham as the second choice. All sides and dessert were also good. Great service and friendly environment

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We liked the restaurant with the Amish folk . The service was good and we were shown to a table straight away.I had an Amish food sampler. Really good with fried chicken, ham and beef.The pies were good too, we had butter pie.Good prices too

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing