We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating like a time warp of 80's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Shipshewana
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
wheaton IL
Level Contributor
351 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Needs updating like a time warp of 80's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I usually do not do negative reviews but when there are only 5 hotels in the area and this is a huge corporate company they should be ashamed of themselves!!
First room we had smelled of cigar smoke! The service agents replies to us Oh that's a $300 fine... Really? Maybe you should tell your last guest that or fire the GM on duty who dis nothing about it not tell me.. Btw I am complaining about it!!
So room two is much better but there was 7 different stains on the carpeting that was cleaned over and over again. Chair had a cigarette burn again with the no smoking hotel that keeps have smokers!! It was not dirty just looks like a very old tired room that needs deserpate updating. Stay else where!

We didn't bother with the free breakfast cereal I am sure would be expired!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashish505, General Manager at Super 8 Shipshewana, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for sparing your valuable time and giving us your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you had during your stay.

Yes you are right, when I investigated, I found that we had a guest who smoked in the room and we did charge him and charge anyone who does so a $300 fine. Allow me to please clarify that what our front desk staff meant was that we charge our guests that fine if they do so. We did not meant to charge it to you as you had just gone in the room and came back with the complaint.

About the condition of the room carpet and the recliners, you are right. If you have read our responses before yours and if you can spare some time by the end of this year and check out our facebook page and our website, we will post actual pictures of the major renovation that is planned in the last quarter of this year. This includes new carpets for the entire hotel, new recliners, new bedding for the entire hotel and a lot of small odd and off renovations.

Our breakfast is something that our guests love and please be rest assured, that is something that we are actually proud of and guests have mentioned it in our tripadvisor stream also.

Regardless of where you stay, the next time you are in Shipshewana, IN; I invite you for a breakfast on us and take a tour of the hotel and check out our property. I am sure we will be able to change your opinion about us.

Thank you,
Sincerely

Ashish Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    218
    131
    54
    15
See reviews for
171
214
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knightstown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Exterior entry needs sprucing up. Last years plants (dead) are still in the planters. Property itself looks fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashish505, Manager at Super 8 Shipshewana, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Lois,

Thanks a bunch for sparing your valuable time to give us your feedback. It's important to us. Yes you are right about the plants outside. They died with the first cold front we hit this year. And it was too late in the season to plant some new ones. It is on the agenda to plant fresh beautiful looking ones as soon as the winter ends. In the meantime we have cleaned them up too so they don't look as ugly.

Thank you
Sincerely

Bobby Amin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel this week and I feel it is in need of serious updating. No fridge or microwave in the rooms? No elevator, nothing to do after the town closes up at 5:00 other than sit in your room and watch television. Also if you want breakfast plan on waking up before 7:30 or you will not get a seat in the little breakfast nook. If you are visiting this area with children I think you would be better off looking someplace else!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor. No elevators so you have to carry your own luggage up to the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashish505, Manager at Super 8 Shipshewana, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Pam,
Thank you so much for sparing your valuable time and giving us your feedback. It's important for us.

You are right, most of the shops and attractions close down between 5 and 6. Most restaurants close between 8 and 9 in the evening. We are actively participating in the city councils efforts to have the businesses open for a bit longer.

You are also right, we don't have the fridge and microwave in all our rooms, but like I have mentioned in my earlier responses, This last quarter of the year is going to be some major renovations with new beddings, new recliners, fridges and tv's, new carpet for the entire hotel. Keep an eye on our facebook page as we will be posting pictures of the renovations as they happen.

So, regardless of where you stay the next time in Shipshewana, we invite you to come take a tour of our hotel when you are in town again. I am confident that we will be able to change your opinion.

Thank you
Sincerely

Bobby Amin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.1 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
0.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn
11.3 mi away
Travelodge Sturgis
Travelodge Sturgis
#2 of 5 in Sturgis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Shipshewana

Property: Super 8 Shipshewana
Address: 740 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Shipshewana 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Shipshewana, a block away from the world famous Flea Market & Auction place and about half a mile from the downtown Shipshewana. Enjoy the shopping, dining and entertainment while lodging within a mile of the heart of Shipshewana. With a Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor in 2012 and 2013, Super 8 Shipshewana provides clean, comfortable rooms for lodging with quite a few complimentary amenities to go along with. Some of them are:• Free Super Start Full Hot breakfast.• Free wireless internet• Cable television including free Premium channels like HBO• 24 hours of fresh coffee and tea in the room and in the lobby• Handicap accessible rooms with one or two beds available• Guest Laundry facility• Pets are welcome for a small fee• Free local calls• All interior corridors• In room safe• Truck or bus parking• Group rates or Package rates available • AAA, AARP, Government, Military, Senior Citizens discount offered• Wyndham Rewards program honored without black out dates• In room Refrigerators & Microwave So, come on over and have a fun filled vacation in Shipshewana, IN and make Super 8 your lodging destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Shipshewana
Shipshewana Super Eight
Shipshewana Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing