We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Shipshewana
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My sister and I asked a shop-owner in Shipshewana about the local Super 8. She said it was nice, clean, and a bargain price. Wow, was she correct! What she didn't tell us was that the hosts are above and beyond gracious and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 741 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

Reena Patel and her husband Gotham Patel are wonderful hosts. They are always helpful. They always greet you with a smile. The breakfast area is kept filled and neat even though us guests are not neat. We have stayed here several times and you can depend on the front desk help to be cheerful and welcoming. See you next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Booked this hotel because of being close to the fea market. It was clean and the desk help was very friendly. They went out of their way to speak and be sure everything was okay. Breakfeast was good. Eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffles, doughnuts, cereal ect. This is a quiet area and clean with friendly people. There was a washer and dryer to do laundry if so desired. There is no fridge or microwave but there is a coffee pot... Our bed was a bit hard but it slept very well. The flea market was big and we enjoyed it. Took a amish buggy ride and enjoyed it as well. I would stay there again..

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Firstly the desk clerk was very pleasant, secondly noticing I was paying with a choice hotels (comfort inn etc) credit card , he inquired if I was a Wyndam member (which I am), he then upgraded my room..(which was nice) ....to a two double bed instead of the single double bed I thought I booked, but maybe it had a different feature or just being on the first floor might have been the upgrade., either way it all worked out fine.


I don't believe the hotel has an elevator and I although was given a first floor room, given the average age of the guests I passed in the hallways and while at breakfast, I being much younger than anyone one of them sort of wished I would have been placed on the second floor making my room available for a potential soon to be scooter user/heavy breather ...you could almost hear bones creaking as these folks sat down in the breakfast area the following morning . (Nice to know they're still able to travel).

Cable TV is a bit lacking in channel selection, Internet worked fine.

The hotel is a bit dated, but clean enough, located next to the convention center and just down the street from Men o hof and a quick walk,stroll, or scooter roll... into the Shipshewana business district and very close to the flea market. So it is located close to where you'd want to be.

Check out was quick, breakfast was waffler,toaster, cheesedup omelette, biscuit and gravy and some cereals and pastries, it appeared light on fruits and I didn't see any yogurt. (maybe I missed it).

Would I stay here again? , yes although...it looks like there are nicer (and more expensive) places to stay north of the city center, but the super 8 seems to be better located if you're walking to stuff south of downtown and downtown itself.

Room Tip: South side borders the convention center ,which appears unopened as of May 17/12. North side borders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willdriveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This an older hotel but very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and can keep you going most of the day - if you can eat all that is offered! Rooms have no fridge, microwave, and a lot of amenities found in a more expensive hotel, but is a great, affordable place to stay while enjoying "Amish Country". Planning to go back next year to see all that we missed and will be happy to stay at this same hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gma2ddaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The room was old but clean. The bed was very hard. so ask for the new pillow top which is the new update. The breakfast area was clean. food was hot. The staff was so helpful, the best I've had on this trip. The amish museum very good. see it first. Go to the bulk store, great. Flea market just ok, to much commercial stuff not enouhg local crafts. Hudson museum very good. Country drives beautiful and very peacefu. You can find things to buy outside of town too at Amish homes. l

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dm12468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

i was impressed by this hotel. the staff were helpful and friendly. the room was top notch. the cost was reasonable. i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.1 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
0.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
927 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
11.4 mi away
Travelodge Sturgis
Travelodge Sturgis
#2 of 5 in Sturgis
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Shipshewana

Address: 740 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: $59 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Shipshewana 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Shipshewana, a block away from the world famous Flea Market & Auction place and about half a mile from the downtown Shipshewana. Enjoy the shopping, dining and entertainment while lodging within a mile of the heart of Shipshewana. With a Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor in 2012 and 2013, Super 8 Shipshewana provides clean, comfortable rooms for lodging with quite a few complimentary amenities to go along with. Some of them are:• Free Super Start Full Hot breakfast.• Free wireless internet• Cable television including free Premium channels like HBO• 24 hours of fresh coffee and tea in the room and in the lobby• Handicap accessible rooms with one or two beds available• Guest Laundry facility• Pets are welcome for a small fee• Free local calls• All interior corridors• In room safe• Truck or bus parking• Group rates or Package rates available • AAA, AARP, Government, Military, Senior Citizens discount offered• Wyndham Rewards program honored without black out dates• In room Refrigerators & Microwave So, come on over and have a fun filled vacation in Shipshewana, IN and make Super 8 your lodging destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Shipshewana
Shipshewana Super Eight
Shipshewana Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing