We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality is Slipping”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Gate Theatre

Blue Gate Theatre
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Blue Gate is best place for evening entertainment in Shipshewana and is fast becoming a household name in the Midwest, featuring over 280 shows per year with 75 different performers, 3 hit musicals and much more. This year will feature the new musical "The Home Game" based on the new book by Martha Bolton. Also enjoy concerts by multiple Grammy winning performers, hilarious comedians, Southern Gospel favorites and other family-friendly entertainment.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality is Slipping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've eaten here several times before and always felt the quality of food and service was good. Recently we ate there again with some friends of ours and I was very disappointed in the quality and quantity of the food. The service was good, but the food was average for the prize we paid.

We have never seen a Theater production. I have heard they are very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gmchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    74
    28
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“O.K. But Don't Expect Broadway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Saw two different shows at the theater. Actors are not the best quality. The theater seating is o.k. as the place is not very big at all. Sound tends to be too loud for the size of the place. Workers are friendly. Attendees seem to be mostly "seasoned citizens", but don't let that stop you from attending. Overall, not a bad way to spend a few hours, but don't expect a top notch production.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No Bad Seats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We enjoyed our two shows at this theater. Staff were friendly and helpful. The stage play was Amish-themed and very professional. The bluegrass show (Dailey and Vincent) was fantastic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelhedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, in
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Easy access to seats...the show was awesome! I would love to return to the theater for future shows...very comfortable and intimate!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flechco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gospel Sing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was a very long show but very enjoyable! All the families that performed were amazing with their many talents.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mamawpapawwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gate Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Blue Gate Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing