We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Exceptionally clean with excellent bedding. Good hot free breakfast. Hotel is one mile north of the main intersection in town where most of the activity is.We came for the fall crafts fair, not the flea market, which is on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Ate at the Blue Gate for lunch one day (excellent home cooking), and at a sandwich and bakery shop on the 4th floor of the Mercantile by the carousel. Try one of the stuffed sandwiches. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for the kind words! We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to tell others about your experience with us. I am always happy to hear that a guest was pleased with their stay. Thank you again, and we will be here whenever you have need of a place to stay the next time you visit the Shipshewana area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 370 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Apparently the hotel was formerly a Comfort Inn. It is spotlessly clean. The staff was friendly and there was a good hot breakfast. You may have to drive to Middlebury for dinner. The only downside was that the mattress was not particularly comfortable but I am spoiled.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gail g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks a bunch for letting others know about your stay with us, and for the positive comments. About 2 1/2 years ago we became an independent hotel after being a Country Inn & Suites for several years. I would also like to apologize that our mattress did not meet your expectations, and I hope that does not deter you from choosing The Van Buren Hotel the next time your travels bring you back to Shipshewana again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent hotel.
Convenient - Just a mile or so from town center.

Clean.
Friendly staff.
Free breakfast.
Adequate parking.

We stayed for two nights, and found it relaxing and enjoyable.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*--*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-

Room Tip: The two-room suites are very nice. Convenient and comfortable
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Like your review, I'm gonna keep this response short and sweet. Thank you for choosing The Van Buren Hotel, and thank you for telling others how much you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The room was clean and spacious, but the in room coffee and coffee maker are a joke at best.
I have to have my coffee first thing and the ridiculous single cup coffee maker just did not come close. The breakfast was pretty standard and only fair, but the room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vulcandjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for posting comments on your stay at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana. I apologize that the in-room coffee maker did not meet your standards. For future reference, the next time you stay with us, there is also coffee available in the breakfast room 24/7. Anytime, day or night. However, I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the comfort and cleanliness of your room. Thank you again, and hope to have you back the next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I agree, the hotel is very well maintained and exceptionally clean. We were travelling with a group of nine couples and the hotel was able to keep all of us together. The staff was very helpful and even posted signs welcoming our group. The breakfast area was not quite large enough to accommodate the amount of people who were staying there at the time. The food was more than adequate, and constantly being refilled. Any time we travel back to Shipshewana, this is the place we will stay. The pictures on the internet do not do this place justice, it is much nicer .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for the kind words about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience during your time here. I certainly hope everyone else in your group had a pleasant stay as well. It seems that some mornings; everyone comes down for breakfast at the same time. Making it quite crowded in there, but we do our best to make sure that everyone gets a good breakfast before going out to face the day. Thank you again, and we hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is well maintained and very clean, inside and out. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly. The breakfast area is large and well maintained with a good selection of foods. The only thing missing was bananas, which most hotels offer for breakfast. The only other negative was the reluctance to give us a late check out time. We stayed two nights while I was working in Howe Indiana and I could not get back by 11:00 AM to pick up my wife. The clerk did not want to give us an extra hour until a manager finally agreed. One other observation was that the hotel advertises a "no pet" policy yet we ran into a lady with a small dog (clearly not a service animal) with her several times in the hall. Also allowing smoking on the porches was a negative for us. Overall this is a very nice hotel and I will probably stay here again when working in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rondot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell others in the travel community about your stay here at The Van Buren Hotel. We truly appreciate the feedback. The reason for the reluctance to give a late check-out is that we are one of those hotels that works very hard to maintain a good, clean, safe and comfortable property. We only have 4 hours between check-out and check-in to get everything ready for the next guest. On some particular days, either our housekeepers or maintenance staff needs to take care of things in rooms, and we needed to make sure that we would be able to prepare the room for the incoming guests in time. We usually grant a late check-out, but we just have to make sure it would work for everyone's cleaning/maintenance schedules. I would also like to mention that the dog you saw in the hallway during your stay was, in fact, a service animal. (I believe she was a seizure alert/response dog.) The first thing that particular guest did when she approached the front desk was present her "service animal identification card". Rest assured, if we had an unauthorized pet of any kind in our hotel, we would have taken care of it promptly. Thank you again, and we hope to see you back at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very clean and well maintained, but misses the mark to get a top rating. Even though there is a sign at the front desk for a AAA or AARP discount, for some reason, our room didn't qualify. I didn't make an issue of it, but I probably should have. Then I had to remind the desk clerk that we needed our keys. The bathroom has an exhaust fan that is silent, but from the steam that quickly accumulated it either wasn't working or isn't good at it's job. The breakfast buffet was middling. While certainly better than a discount motel, I have had much better at hotels in this price range. The eggs and potatoes were awful, but the biscuits and gravy and the Belgian waffles pass muster. And no bacon or sausage?? One last thing, there is no program guide on the TV. You have to channel surf to see what is on. I would try a different place if we return, but would not avoid the Van Buren. The room was vey clean and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonroeJabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience with The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana. I apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations for your stay with us. Unfortunately, you had chosen one of our King Whirlpool Suites to stay in, and our policy is that particular room type does not qualify for any discounts. Please be assured that every other room type we have here does qualify for a AAA, AARP or senior citizen discount. You had also mentioned that you were unhappy with the breakfast selection (no bacon or sausage) and quality in the morning. We have a rotating menu for our hot items (including sausage), and you just happened to be there when we were serving eggs & potatoes. We believe our breakfast is the best of any hotel in our wonderful town, and are saddened to hear when a guest is displeased with the variety. Once again, I apologize for not meeting your expectations, and hope to see you back the next time you visit the Shipshewana area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
1.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
854 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
14.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Address: 1175 N Van Buren Street, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8746 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: $99 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Van Buren Hotel is the ideal place to stay while visiting the Shipshewana area. Our exceptional service and hospitality is among the best in town. We offer a full, hot complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, along with many other fine amenities. Come stay and enjoy The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana where our family serves your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shipshewana
Shipshewana Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing