We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives Up To Reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lives Up To Reviews”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is well maintained and very clean, inside and out. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly. The breakfast area is large and well maintained with a good selection of foods. The only thing missing was bananas, which most hotels offer for breakfast. The only other negative was the reluctance to give us a late check out time. We stayed two nights while I was working in Howe Indiana and I could not get back by 11:00 AM to pick up my wife. The clerk did not want to give us an extra hour until a manager finally agreed. One other observation was that the hotel advertises a "no pet" policy yet we ran into a lady with a small dog (clearly not a service animal) with her several times in the hall. Also allowing smoking on the porches was a negative for us. Overall this is a very nice hotel and I will probably stay here again when working in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rondot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell others in the travel community about your stay here at The Van Buren Hotel. We truly appreciate the feedback. The reason for the reluctance to give a late check-out is that we are one of those hotels that works very hard to maintain a good, clean, safe and comfortable property. We only have 4 hours between check-out and check-in to get everything ready for the next guest. On some particular days, either our housekeepers or maintenance staff needs to take care of things in rooms, and we needed to make sure that we would be able to prepare the room for the incoming guests in time. We usually grant a late check-out, but we just have to make sure it would work for everyone's cleaning/maintenance schedules. I would also like to mention that the dog you saw in the hallway during your stay was, in fact, a service animal. (I believe she was a seizure alert/response dog.) The first thing that particular guest did when she approached the front desk was present her "service animal identification card". Rest assured, if we had an unauthorized pet of any kind in our hotel, we would have taken care of it promptly. Thank you again, and we hope to see you back at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    85
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
107
125
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
monroe, michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very clean and well maintained, but misses the mark to get a top rating. Even though there is a sign at the front desk for a AAA or AARP discount, for some reason, our room didn't qualify. I didn't make an issue of it, but I probably should have. Then I had to remind the desk clerk that we needed our keys. The bathroom has an exhaust fan that is silent, but from the steam that quickly accumulated it either wasn't working or isn't good at it's job. The breakfast buffet was middling. While certainly better than a discount motel, I have had much better at hotels in this price range. The eggs and potatoes were awful, but the biscuits and gravy and the Belgian waffles pass muster. And no bacon or sausage?? One last thing, there is no program guide on the TV. You have to channel surf to see what is on. I would try a different place if we return, but would not avoid the Van Buren. The room was vey clean and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonroeJabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience with The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana. I apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations for your stay with us. Unfortunately, you had chosen one of our King Whirlpool Suites to stay in, and our policy is that particular room type does not qualify for any discounts. Please be assured that every other room type we have here does qualify for a AAA, AARP or senior citizen discount. You had also mentioned that you were unhappy with the breakfast selection (no bacon or sausage) and quality in the morning. We have a rotating menu for our hot items (including sausage), and you just happened to be there when we were serving eggs & potatoes. We believe our breakfast is the best of any hotel in our wonderful town, and are saddened to hear when a guest is displeased with the variety. Once again, I apologize for not meeting your expectations, and hope to see you back the next time you visit the Shipshewana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Do not stay anywhere else in Shipshewana! This is our second stay at this lodging facility. In previous years we have stayed in many of the other hotel/motels in town and none compare to the Van Buren. We visited this past weekend, during a busy Saturday night. My request for a quiet, south facing window room was honored. We love having a nice easy chair in the room along with the small table and 2 chairs. The flat screen wall mounted TV was also a nice touch. TV channels are limited and not HD. The beds were extremely comfortable with lots of pillows. What stands out for us was the morning breakfast. One of the best we have ever had. Absolutely love the home made oatmeal in the crock pot. It was one of the reasons that we returned to this facility. The breakfast area is very large and not at all cramped. We hope to return in the future and will not stay anywhere else in Northern Indiana.

Room Tip: South side rooms are darker and more quiet. They face a field & not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words, and for taking the time to share your opinion of our hotel with other potential travelers. It is very nice to hear when a guest enjoys so many aspects of their stay with us. Thank you, especially, for mentioning your satisfaction with our complimentary breakfast. With many hotels only offering a few things, it is nice to hear that our efforts to offer more variety have not been overlooked. We certainly hope to see you again the next time you visit the Shipshewana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This one has it all. Close to the shops, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff who greeted us. Whirlpool room was roomy and tub for 2 excellent. One suggestion. Around the room and the tub they had lots of greenery which adds a nice touch especially around the large tub BUT it really needed to be dusted or updated. It had a dusty, faded kind of look that spoiled an otherwise beautifully decorated room. We would stay there again when visiting Shipshewana.

Room Tip: #127 with whirlpool was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripster5486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell others in the travel community about your stay here at The Van Buren Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the condition of the greenery in your room. I will be sure and take a look into it and see if there is anything we can do to make it more appealing. Thank you again, and we hope to see you back here the next time you are back in the Shipshewana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Second stay and again they were great. This time stayed in whirlpool room and every thing worked fine. The breakfast was good and the employees friendly. This is the place to stay in Shipshewana. We will go back there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time once again to tell others about your stay at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana. We truly appreciate the wonderful comments, and are so glad to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations. Thank you again, and we hope to see you when your travels bring you back to the Shipshewana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband, myself and our 15 month old son, stayed here for one night while visiting Shipshewana. Hotel is less then 2 minute drive to shops. This is a beautifully, clean and tasteful hotel. Pool is heated and great after a day at the shipshewana shops. The room was clean and large. Always fresh cookies available at reception desk. And the breakfast is self serve, but includes everything from coffee, orange juice and cereal to eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit and pastries. Very delicious.

Would recommend going on a Tuesday or Wednesday, as these are the days the large flea market is open. We missed it, but heard its great to see.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience with us. I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here so much! We really do take a lot of pride in our little corner of the world, and it is nice to hear that our guests appreciate the work we do. Thank you again, and we hope to see you and your family back soon. (Hopefully next time you can make it on a Tuesday or Wednesday, so you can enjoy the Flea Market as well!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent the night at the Van Buren last week and enjoyed our stay. The handicapped room was really nice. The bathroom and shower were great, and such a nice size.

The breakfast served was one the the best I have ever had. It was truly abound with all breakfast goods, and everything was kept spotless. Normally I have found that most hotel/motel breakfast are minimal, but this one was special.

The hotel is out of town, and I imagine they will be building up the area. It could use a little restaurant for a meal during the afternoon hours, or to grab a bite in the evening.

Room Tip: I can only say that the Handicapped rooms are generous. They are all on the first floor, which I re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for the wonderful comments on your stay with us. It truly is great to hear that a guest of ours enjoyed their time with us this much. I am glad to hear that you especially enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We offer many items, and are glad to hear that you appreciate the variety. (I have, myself, been know to sneak in the breakfast room for some biscuits and gravy when no one else is looking.) Thank you again, and we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
1.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
767 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#3 of 5 in Shipshewana
681 reviews
2.0 mi away
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
#5 of 5 in Shipshewana
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Property: The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Address: 1175 N van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8746 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Van Buren Hotel is the ideal place to stay while visiting the Shipshewana area. Our exceptional service and hospitality is among the best in town. We offer a full, hot complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, along with many other fine amenities. Come, stay, and enjoy The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana where our family serves your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shipshewana
Shipshewana Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing