We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, rooms and amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a beautiful spot to stay, just barely outside of Shipshewana. Very quiet spot. The room was beautiful and spotless. Gorgeous wood furniture, custom made to house the refrigerator and microwave were nice touches. HUGE bathroom counter in a 2 queen room, so that everyone could leave their toiletries there. Clothesline in the bathroom which was nice for hanging suits after swimming. Pool is a nice size, was relatively warm, and there was plenty of space on the deck around it. Breakfast was one of the most extensive we have seen included with a room. Biscuits, gravy, eggs, sausage, oatmeal, cereal, pastries, bread, bagels, greek yogurt, juices, etc.

Three things would have made out stay a bit better. When we arrived my husband stood at the front desk for ten minutes and then began wandering the property looking for staff, while leaving our teenage daughter at the front desk in case the staff returned. When he could find no one, I finally tried calling the property, and they answered, and came right to the front desk. The sign at the desk said they were helping a guest, and when I called they said that the were locking up and had taken a call while locking up. I had communicated accurately when we planned to arrive, and if someone isn't going to be there, it would be much nicer if they could leave a bell/phone or something for guests to call a staff person to the front desk. In my humble opinion, 10 minutes is much too long to be left standing and waiting with no clue when someone will return. If this had been the only time, I might have just let it go. But I came looking for front desk staff when our key didn't work, and I waited 5 minutes until staff returned to the desk. Staff was extremely pleasant, but if they have just one person working, they really need to leave us a way to reach that person when we are waiting at the front desk.

My second mention would be the beds. Not sure if they are all like this, but my husband weighs all of about 155 lbs, and when he was on one side of the bed, it took muscles while sleeping not to roll into him. So the bed must be old or not properly supported or something. The bed felt comfortable when we went to bed, but both of our bodies hurt in the morning. And in general, we aren't particularly sensitive to beds.

My third item would be the coffee. Great breakfast, lousy coffee.

One other thing to note, on a Sunday evening the only food available in town is Subway, and a so-so pizza spot. So if you are staying there on Sunday, you might want to eat before you get into town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winniewms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to tell others about the many things we offer. We truly appreciate it. I would also like to apologize about the extensive wait time before check-in and the issue with the bed. I hope that experience doesn't deter you and your family from visiting us again in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 394 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Took a girl's trip to Shipshewana and chose this hotel based on customer reviews. Everything stated in previous reviews is true. The hotel was clean and comfortable. My girlfriend and I enjoyed sitting out at night in the rocking chairs. While the hotel is out of "downtown" Shipshewana it is delightful enjoying the Amish countryside. We enjoyed hearing the Amish carriages on the road (Hwy 5). While we did encounter a slight inconvenience the staff was very nice and accommodating. If we returned to Shipshewana we would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: If you request a room on the south side be sure to check-in early. This way rooms on that side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xboox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that a guest plans to stay with us again. I would also like to take this time to apologize for whatever the slight inconvenience was, and am glad to hear that our staff took care of the problem to your satisfaction. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Van Buren the night of July 13, along with my brother and his wife. It is a beautiful hotel..absolutely spotless. Our check in was quick..Thank you Rachel..and our room, a king bed suite...was as nice as any place we have ever stayed. The room was beautiful..comfortable. We had lots of fresh, fluffy towels, beautiful linens and a quiet and comfortable room. (335) The Van Buren is close to town, but just far enough away that we were out of the hustle-bustle of the charming Shipshewana shopping area. We ate dinner Saturday night at the Blue Gate Restaurant...which was FABULOUS...we had the very best server ever..Cheri...this was our first visit to Shipshewana, but certainly won't be our last

Room Tip: We were in 335...never heard a sound from any other room...beds were very comfy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patnmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

I am so happy to hear that you and your family had a great experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about it. We certainly hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you back to the Shipshewana area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Clean room, friendly staff, nice free breakfast. We got the king whirlpool suite, the whirlpool was great fit two people with plenty of room to spare. Close to town, yet far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. If there is a downside to the place it would be the indoor pool, it was just to small.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duce97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your Whirlpool Suite and complimentary breakfast. And thank you for acknowledging our hotel staff. Our goal is to make our guests feel like they are at their home away from home, and comments like that are proof that we are succeeding. Thanks again, and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My sister and I took my mom to Shipshewana for the weekend. I looked at all the local hotels and bed/breakfast deals. Van Buren offered the ideal floorplan. We got a room that had a living room and a separate bedroom. That allowed for someone to watch tv, and others could read quietly. The room also had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Being on the top floor was also ideal - no one walking on your head. Indoor pool was a nice break one morning. Staff was gracious. Hotel was clean. Hot breakfast was included - and totally adequate. Enjoyed the location also - because it was just north of the chaos - so close, but not in the midst of the craziness.

Room Tip: Third floor is ultra quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agioe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel. We strive to make The Van Buren Hotel the best place to stay when visiting the Shipshewana area. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, amenities, and location of our property. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My 16 year old son and I stayed here one night July 2, 2013 having never been to Shipshewana before. Very courteous and swift check in. The room was larger than expected, two solid oak queen beds, SUPER CLEAN. The hotel is north of town on the main route, plenty of horse & buggy traffic to view from the room or from the outdoor sitting porches. Fridge & microwave standard in the rooms turned out to be a savior for the fudge, cheese and candy we bought. Only drawback: breakfast was surprisingly disappointing for Amish-land. The breakfast was "Hampton" caliber. Still a great value for the price. Definitely recommend and will stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor is most convenient, hotel is a straight long line. No bad rooms. Room 126 was closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockTIlUDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Van Buren Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed many of the amenities that we offer; such as the in-room refrigerator and our front porches. I apologize that our breakfast wasn't what you had expected. We offer a variety of foods; including sausage and eggs, waffles, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, cereal, locally made danishes, fruit, and much more. We try to make sure there is something there for everyone, and I hope that does not deter you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had stayed here when it was Country Inn and Suites, not sure when it changed names. The rooms look the same, Oak furniture. We had a king size bed and sitting room. It is nice to have microwave and mini frig in the room. Bathroom was very clean. Just the way we remember it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to visit TripAdvisor and share your opinion with the travel community. We became an independent hotel a few years ago. However, the only thing that has really changed is the name. We still strive to make our guests feel like they are at their home away from home. We certainly hope to see you here at The Van Buren again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
1.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
959 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
752 reviews
2 mi away
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
#5 of 5 in Shipshewana
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Address: 1175 N Van Buren Street, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8746 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: $73 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Van Buren Hotel is the ideal place to stay while visiting the Shipshewana area. Our exceptional service and hospitality is among the best in town. We offer a full, hot complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, along with many other fine amenities. Come stay and enjoy The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana where our family serves your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shipshewana
Shipshewana Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing