We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our first time at this hotel, and we had a great stay! It's a short distance away from the "hustle and bustle" of Shipshewana, but that can certainly be a plus. Previous reviews have described this property as being spotless, and they were 100% correct! The room and bed was very comfortable. The only "negative" comment I will mention is that there was no one at the front desk when we arrived (a trend we are seeing more-and-more). We rang the buzzer, and someone came soon after. We will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: I would request a room on the top floor next time. We were on the first floor, and our ceiling woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelmaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya C, Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana. We take a lot of pride in our little corner of Shipshewana, and want it to be the best place for people to stay when they are in the area. I apologize for the absence of any front desk personnel upon your arrival. They are away from the front desk, from time to time, delivering requested items to other guests or simply doing laundry. We certainly hope to see you here at The Van Buren again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 387 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

So peaceful and relaxing - we tried the other highly rated hotel in Shipshewana last week, and although the Van Buren requires a short drive to the center of town, it will be our choice from now on when we visit. The staff is exceptional, the furnishings quite nice. Better quality linens, extra pillows on the beds (none offered at the Farmstead), reasonably updated rooms.

The best thing about this hotel is how quiet it is! Highly recommend. If you don't like light shining through your windows at night, be sure to ask for a room on the south side of the building, away from the parking lot. It makes a big difference in light pollution and privacy if you are on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Your kind words have been well received. I share comments with the entire staff, and you have made everyone's day. I'm honored that you chose us, and I look forward to serving you, again, soon! Again, thank you, so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our second stay here as we visit the flea market and all the shops in the area. This is our yearly trip to Shipshewanna The Van Buren hotel has chairs that you can sit and enjoy the horse and buggies go by and enjoy the weather if its not raining. Hotel s very quiet and the staff are very friendly we enjoyed our second stay here

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HERMAN-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are so glad to see that you chose us for a second stay! Hopefully, there will be a third, fourth, fifth. I think you get the point :) We are very proud of our establishment, and the porches are a huge hit. Thank you for validating what we do here, and we will see you soon. ( I hope!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The room had everything you need. Unlike some local hotels we have stayed the environmental controls allowed guest heat and air as they desired. The breakfast the first morning was great with great sausage, eggs, and sausage gravy. The second morning the was no meat or gravy...eggs and potatoes. But the eggs were good. The staff was very kind and friendly. We will go back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are so grateful for your kind words, and I apologize for the 2nd morning's breakfast. Our delivery truck hadn't made it here yet, but we're glad there was something for you to enjoy. We look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our two-night stay here was a joy. Initially there was a glitch in that, after reserving by phone a month in advance, we had to call a week later to say that our plans had changed and we needed to come the same two days, but a week later. Apparently that wasn't entered in the system, because when we called back a few days before leaving -just to confirm - the desk clerk couldn't find our reservation. With gracious apologies we were upgraded, at no extra charge, to a King Suite. So, we only paid $109. a night for a unit with a living room/wall TV, bath, and bedroom with King bed/wall TV. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable we had ever slept on; the place was beautiful, clean, and quiet, with a free hot breakfast, including waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits/gravy, sliced peaches, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, homemade bagels, etc. In the morning we saw the Amish lady housekeepers arrive on their bicycles, neatly attired in pastel dresses and white caps, ready to do their part to make this the fine hotel that it is!



the Single King room we requested

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

I'm so glad that, given the rough start, we were able to make a stay a great one! I hope that you will come to visit, again, soon. I look forward to seeing you, again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

There were a few places to choose from in the area, but I'm so glad we chose this one. The staff was friendly, and helpful. The Hotel was very clean and well maintained. We had a king bed with a with a separate seating area which made for a very spacious room. When we are back in this area we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rates are reasonable, so upgrading to a King suite is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The king suites are my favorite room type. It makes me happy that others may try it, thanks to your positive review. Thank you, for all of your kind words, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first stay here, but it will not be our last! The entire hotel was spotless and even smelled clean! The Amish oak furniture that decorated not only the rooms, but the dining area and communal space was beautiful! The location is perfect for shopping the area and the flea market. The breakfast buffet had so many choices both hot and cold, that it was hard to decide on what to have. I do have to confess, I tried a bit of everything!

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there is a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PureMichigan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review!! We really do try to make everyone feel at home, and cleanliness is just the first step. I look forward to being able to take care of your next stay with us, and I hope it's soon. And, just between us, you're not the only one to "completely" enjoy the breakfast. That's what it's there for, right? :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
1.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
932 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#1 of 6 in Goshen
276 reviews
21.4 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Address: 1175 N Van Buren Street, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8746 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: $74 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Van Buren Hotel is the ideal place to stay while visiting the Shipshewana area. Our exceptional service and hospitality is among the best in town. We offer a full, hot complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, along with many other fine amenities. Come stay and enjoy The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana where our family serves your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shipshewana
Shipshewana Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing