We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed two nights and could not have been nicer. Very clean nice breakfast very friendly and helpful staff. The pool was very nice as well. I very much enjoyed the front pourch. It was relaxing and peaceful to watch the buggies go by.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 378 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed at the Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana for three nights. Nice big room and very clean. Front desk people very nice and helpful. The hotel location is perfect and very close to restaurants, shops, etc.. Nice continental plus breakfast. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Check on discounts for AAA, military, senior, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenC354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Everything A+ from reservation to checkout. Room very nice and clean. Bed very comfortable. Third floor by elevator but still quiet. Good selection for provided breakfast. Pool looked nice, although we didn't use it. Room had coffee pot, microwave, and refrig.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2important
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Stayed here for a one-night trip to Shipshewana. Extremely clean--no bed bugs. Towels & sheets were clean, too. Breakfast was OK. Very comfortable and homey lobby. Our room was at the very end of the hall which was good for privacy, but a LONG walk even from the mid-corridor door. One thing--this hotel is leaving the Country Inn & Suites chain. What that will do to its standards could be questionable. Don't know until it happens. We'll try it again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Very impressed. With all of the talk of bedbugs we talked about not taking our trip. We did a lot of reserch and decided to try this hotel, glad we did! Everything was clean and well taken care of, beds were newer and rooms were in excellent shape. Breakfast was above the usual and staff was great. We stayed 2 nights and checked out, shortly after checking out there was a winter storm and we checked back in. I can't say enough about their staff. Everyone we came across was so friendly and helpful. It is nice when you can have a conversation without feeling rushed and you can here. The kids had a lot of fun in the pool. If there is a downfall it is just that there isn't much in the area that you can walk to which is what we like to do.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itsme1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

#1 on Trip Advisor for a reason. We drove down for a one night stay on a Friday night to attend the musical at the Blue Gate Theater downtown Shipshewana. This facility is located less than a mile north of the small town. Check in was easy. We had a king room on the second floor, end room. Nice valted ceiling, made the room feel much larger. Micro/frig nicely hidden in the TV entertainment center. Refrigerator is low to the ground, if bending is an issue. The bed was very comfortable, no double sheeting but they were good quality. 4 pillows on the bed with one more in the closet. The bathroom was large with plenty of counter space. The room had one easy chair to sit in along with a desk chair. The breakfast was nice. We appreciated the cooked oatmeal in the crock pot. Yogurt with granola was also a nice touch. Eggs, waffles, sauage, potatoes and the usual cold cereals, breads etc were also available. Fruit mixture along with fresh fruit was also served. Check out was easy, bill was under our door so all we did was return the room keys.
Only small concern was the computer in the lobby was so slow. I attempted to check our e-mail but after about 20 minutes I finally gave up. Took forever to boot up and load.
I never did get to our server web page.
There is a indoor swimming pool but no spa whirlpool.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We had an issue the last time we stayed here because they said we needed AARP or CARP -- we didn't! This time, I had prior confirmation that this wouldn't be required, and we checked in with no problem for a 2-night stay. On the 1st morning, a note was under my door to "please come to front desk with photo ID". I did - and they just wanted to confirm age. On the 2nd morning, note on my bill said "please come to front desk with photo ID". I did (for the 2nd time). They wanted to take a copy of ID. I'm 64 and my husand is 67. We stay in Country Inn & Suites frequently on our way to and from Florida every year, and we've never been put through all this. It's a great hotel -- just be prepared.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senior_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya7627, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2010

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologize for the mix-up about your senior discount. Our front desk representative that both checked you in and also looked at your ID the next day was fairly new. (I believe that was only her second weekend working alone.) There are so many new things to learn at a new job, and she may have simply forgotten to make a copy of your ID or we may have neglected to tell her to do so. Either way, when our night auditor saw that we didn't have any verification of discount, she put a note under your door as she always does in this situation. We try to always get a copy of discount eligibility to deter others from receiving a discount when they don't qualify.
Once again, I sincerely apologize for the confusion and hope that it in no way prevents you from visiting us again when you are in the Shipshewana area.
Thank you so much and we all hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday season.
Sincerely,
Tonya Christner
Director of Sales
Country Inn & Suites--Shipshewana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
1.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
898 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
14.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Address: 1175 N Van Buren Street, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8746 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: $85 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Van Buren Hotel is the ideal place to stay while visiting the Shipshewana area. Our exceptional service and hospitality is among the best in town. We offer a full, hot complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, along with many other fine amenities. Come stay and enjoy The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana where our family serves your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shipshewana
Shipshewana Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing