We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Ruhe Blatz Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Middletown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in room 125. The room was clean and quite. Good location, Workers very friendly. The price was reasonably priced. I was very impressed with how well kept up it is. I would stay there again. Great place

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 212Copper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
50
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is our fourth stay at is motel . It is very clean and quite. The manager is very friendly and helpful. Every time we go that direction we will stay their. It is in a good location to see all the Dutch Amish people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This motel is a nice value. Breakfast is included in the price and a bonus is that if you have a small dog/pet, for $10.00 extra per night, they can stay as well. The rooms are outdated, but clean and they do not have King beds, only Queen size. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We just returned from another 4 day great relaxing stay with Dixie and Andy. The room was as clean as ever and nothing changed. Would recommend anyone visiting Shipshewana stay here. Looking forward to returning

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We booked this hotel over the internet sight unseen, it was great, clean,quiet and inexpensive we traveled from NJ to NE and back and decided to stop in Shipshewanna we actually ended up booking another nigtht.
The hotel is very very nice if you don't need all the expensive stuff you pay for in the big hotels.
You walk alot and having a nice room to come back to is great. A must stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lolly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean and the decor and furniture was really great. It is in a great position for exploring the area. We were unlucky to have a loud snorer in the next room so didn't sleep well. Also breakfast could have been a little better according to other reviews. There was only cereal and toast ,with a few muffins. The waffle maker,fruit and biscuits and gravy were all packed away. We were told it wasn't busy so had to have instant coffee too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We initially looked at Der Ruhe Blatz based on the price and then we looked at other reviews. We were surprised to see that this hotel gets such good reviews for being so cheap. We booked the room and we were happy to see that it was as good as everyone else says it is. Just know that if you are looking for a place with all of the amenities, this place is not for you. If you want a nice place to stay, clean room, comfy bed, and nice breakfast all for a good price then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WDWis4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
0.8 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn
19.6 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Ruhe Blatz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Ruhe Blatz Motel

Property: Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Address: 1195 S. Van Buren Street, Shipshewana, IN 46565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Der Ruhe Blatz Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by 16 Amish families it's called the "The Rest Place" and with all there is to see and do in our quaint little town, you'll be ready to kick off your shoes at the end of the day and settle in for a quiet night. Each of the 30 rooms feature all oak furniture built by the local Amish families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Der Ruhe Blatz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing