We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We booked this hotel over the internet sight unseen, it was great, clean,quiet and inexpensive we traveled from NJ to NE and back and decided to stop in Shipshewanna we actually ended up booking another nigtht.
The hotel is very very nice if you don't need all the expensive stuff you pay for in the big hotels.
You walk alot and having a nice room to come back to is great. A must stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lolly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 126 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

The room was very clean and the decor and furniture was really great. It is in a great position for exploring the area. We were unlucky to have a loud snorer in the next room so didn't sleep well. Also breakfast could have been a little better according to other reviews. There was only cereal and toast ,with a few muffins. The waffle maker,fruit and biscuits and gravy were all packed away. We were told it wasn't busy so had to have instant coffee too.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We initially looked at Der Ruhe Blatz based on the price and then we looked at other reviews. We were surprised to see that this hotel gets such good reviews for being so cheap. We booked the room and we were happy to see that it was as good as everyone else says it is. Just know that if you are looking for a place with all of the amenities, this place is not for you. If you want a nice place to stay, clean room, comfy bed, and nice breakfast all for a good price then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WDWis4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place was clean. It was quiet. It was inexpensive. Under $75. Average was under $65 for a queen bed. All no smoking inside. Nice breakfast. Waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereal and juice. Coffee or hot tea for breakfast til they locked the office for the night. The lady who owned the place was very accommodating. We needed to leave early and she made sure breakfast was ready on a Monday morning on time. It was a modern place not what you would expect for this price. There wasn't a fitness center but in Shipshewana you are going to do a lot of walking anyway. No pool... This is not something we have to have.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carrie141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Visited this motel again this year in September and as always everything was great. Had no complaints what so ever. Am looking forward to next year already. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and all appliances in the rooms are clean as well. The housekeeping staff are very trustworthy and keep the rooms very clean and fresh smelling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We've stayed at this motel several times and have never had a bad experience. The rooms are filled with beautiful Amish made furniture. The beds are exceptionally comfortable. We like that you can park in front of your room. There's an ample comp b'fast served in their lobby area. Seating is limited to 12-14 but we had no problems finding space. We've never had a problem with unclean rooms or nasty little critters crawling around. The price is way less than other lodging in the area and some may think that because of the inexpensive rates, that the motel doesn't measure up to the standards of others in the area but it definitely does. We also like that there's a sink separate from the toilet/tub/shower, so 2 people can be tending to themselves. Bathrooms are small but clean and it serves the purpose! Excellent value for families. They have adjoining rooms if needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RosieTholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first time staying here.The price was right and the room was nice, and very close to everything! We were towards the front with parking right out side our door. The refrigerator was not very cold, and there was no air on when we got there so room was hot. Did'nt like that the office closed at night so therefore no ice or coffee. Big disappointment was no Sunday breakfast, not even coffee to go. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
2 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
0.7 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
20.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#6 of 22 in Elkhart
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Ruhe Blatz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Ruhe Blatz Motel

Address: 1195 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: $70 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Der Ruhe Blatz Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by 16 Amish families it's called the "The Rest Place" and with all there is to see and do in our quaint little town, you'll be ready to kick off your shoes at the end of the day and settle in for a quiet night. Each of the 30 rooms feature all oak furniture built by the local Amish families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Der Ruhe Blatz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing