We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice older motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice older motel”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

For an older motel, the rooms are clean, staff is friendly, and bed was fairly comfortable. Breakfast was ok. It was nice to have a fridge in the room. Hotel is very close to the attractions of Shipshewana. The only complaint I would have is that the walls are thin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
51
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My daughter (from Indiana) & I (from Michigan) met for a 2-1/2 day mini-vacation.

We were very pleased with our 2-queen bed room. There was plenty of space. It was very nice having a mini-fridge in the room to keep our water & a couple of other things cold while we were out at the flea market. The breakfast was very adequate. We enjoyed the waffles. The first day, a very kind guest made our waffles for us. The next day, we made them ourselves and didn't put enuf batter in so they were kind of weird looking. However, now we know better so next times we'll make them better.

The couple who own this motel were very friendly. We had a very nice visit with the wife.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky2Belleville_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon in
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We checked in June 17th 2013. First problem our key did not work. Had to have someone come in and use a power tool to fix the door so we can come in and out. Once we got into the room we did not have any soap. Went downstairs to get some soap and front desk gave us one tiny little soap. We had to ask for at least two soaps because they are so little. Breakfast was good, but when we went downstairs around 7am, there was no coffee. We had to tell front desk and wait for coffe to be made. Once we came back after a great time at the flea market, found our beds were not really made up. One bed had no sheets on it, so I had to sleep on top of the blanket. The other bed the sheets were on the bed but in a bundle under the blanket. Makes you wonder if you are sleeping on dirty sheets or clean. We plan on coming back but will not stay in this hotel too scared to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unhappy12364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This little gem is fresh, clean, and tidy, inside and out. It is right on the main street and handy to all attractions. The good sized rooms had free wireless internet, new TV, fridge, microwave and smelled like fresh flowers. Very adequate free breakfast. Lots of free parking and flowers around the property. In the morning I sat outside and watched the horses and buggies go clip clopping back and forth. The owners were friendly and helpful and genuinely conerned about the upkeep and maintenance of the premises unlike many other places we have stayed. What a pleasant experience! So glad we discovered it and we will always stay there from now on.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the north side on a Tue and Wed night and despite a couple big trucks parked outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burt777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern us
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My 84 yo mom and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago. Pluses are that it's all ground floor and very accessible; very quiet; and clean. Minuses are that the lighting was terrible. The lights in the bathroom were like Klieg lights. The lights in the room itself were very dim. There was a table, but only one chair. We didn't try the breakfast--it looked pretty typical. I'd stay here again, but was it the best place ever? Probably not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druidclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Four of us girls have stayed here for over 12 years once a year for two nights on our annual Shipshawana trip and wouldn't stay anywhere else. We meet another group of girls each year that stay here also and we have a wonderful time. The rooms are always very clean and each year there are always updates to the room and service. The owners are super nice people and always so happy to see us each year. They have added a very nice breakfast which you can enjoy before you head out for your day of shopping. There are chairs and benches that you can sit on ourside your room and visit with other guests if you choose. It has a very homey atmosphere and all the staff are always very pleasant and accomadating. Wouldn't want to change anything as it is the highlight of our summer.

Room Tip: They are all good!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small Town USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We researched this hotel last year and decided to pay more to stay at a different hotel after reading the reviews. Then this year I saw that farily good things were being said about it, so we tried it. Nice place for the money. Our rooms were quiet, clean and spacious. The free breakfast was not my cup of tea since the only protein it had on it was the sausage in the gravy but others may be good with it. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
0.7 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
19.6 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Ruhe Blatz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Ruhe Blatz Motel

Property: Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Address: 1195 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Der Ruhe Blatz Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by 16 Amish families it's called the "The Rest Place" and with all there is to see and do in our quaint little town, you'll be ready to kick off your shoes at the end of the day and settle in for a quiet night. Each of the 30 rooms feature all oak furniture built by the local Amish families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Der Ruhe Blatz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing