We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night sleep!”
Review of Farmstead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farmstead Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I have stayed here with friends and with my husband. Every time I come the rooms are clean and I get a good night sleep. I only had one instance when there was a large group who had adjoining rooms and they stayed in the couch area that was outside my door. There were way too many people in one room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Farmstead Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 861 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2009

This is a lovely "farm looking" motel situated right in downtown Shipshewana.Very nicely kept, inside and out. We were able to book a adjoining rooms about one month in advance. The rooms were fresh and clean with a quiet location towards the back. The help was courteous and friendly. The continental breakfast was basic and adequate.

I liked the fact that the carpeting was clean and bright. I often base my first impression of a motel room on that. If thats clean, usually the rest of the room is. And it was very clean.

Most of the town closed at 5:30-6 pm so there wasn't a whole lot to do in the evening, but it was a nice change of pace from the hectic rat race of the city. We will be returning to stay here in the future.

The flea market is held every tuesday and wednesday so be prepared for the rooms to book early for these days.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meezer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

The Farmstead was a pleasant place to stay in Shipshewana. We stayed part of a long weekend that we split with Nappanee (another Amish community).

The hotel was very clean and convenient to both the Auction and just a short walk from downtown. The continental breakfast was uninspired, but plentiful with boiled eggs, three types of cereal, english muffins, toast, yogurt, milk, coffee, and juice. All of the workers were very pleasant. I didn't go into the pool, but it looked very nice and large enough to keep a variety of people busy. There were three different group gatherings going on the weekend we were there, a family reunion, a quilter's group, and a church group of some sort.

There weren't really any serious negatives, just a lack of differentiation. It is billed as a B&B but is really more of a chain hotel feeling, a bit disappointing for an Amish-run B&B. I will say though that the person I traveled with had stayed at two other hotels in town and liked this best. Next time we think we'll try one of the more authentic B&Bs though.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank WI-Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We had a great stay, after spending all day at the flea market we went back to the Hotel and got hot showers and crashed.
The Hotel is very nice, everyone working there was very friendly and we was happy with our over night stay.
They helped up make our 10th yr Anniversary a wonderful one.
Its also close to and within walking distance to everything.
We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did ours.
Mr and Mrs Brannen

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank melissabrannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My mom and I have stayed here 12 times in the past 11 years, and the facility is just as clean, comfortable and welcoming as our first stay! The atmosphere is completely relaxed, the staff are phenomenal, the pool is first rate, and it's so CLEAN! Our tradition of visiting Shipshewana never gets old, and we never can wait to check in to the Farmstead. After 12 visits, we have our certain rooms that we prefer to stay in (for the advantage of the view, or being close to a side exit, or it being really quiet) and the staff don't hesitate to accommodate our specific requests. Suggestion: spring for a room with a jacuzzi tub! :)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank musser22627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We had an amazing experience at the Farmstead. The setting and atmosphere of the motel is magnificent and all of the staff, housekeeping and desk were all extremely friendly. The proximity to all of the major attractions was very handy, with the world renowned flea market directly across the road. It was an interesting experience to see the way the Amish live and interact in the more modern world. The local restaurants were very nice with the Bluegate and the Essenhaus being our favourites. The Diner by the E and S bulk store was very nice too. A visit to the Rise and Roll bakery and the cheese factory were memorable experiences also. All and all we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Farmstead and would easily recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank CanadaDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

This is THE place to stay if you want to be close to all that is happening in Northern Indiana Amish Countyry as well as the Shipshewana area. My wife and I have had some bad experiences while staying at hotels in the past. My wife and I are very picky when it comes to the cleanliness of a hotel. The Farmstead Inn was very clean, from the front desk area to our room. For my wife to suggest we stay at the Farmstead Inn again on our next visit is saying a lot. For us, our stay was geared to learning more about the Amish. We really were very fortunate in that we met 2 Amish couples from Lancaster, PA who were in town for a wedding and staying at the Farmstead. We struck up a great conversation, as they were very hospitiable. By staying at the Farmstead you may very well have the same experience as us. In addition to that conversation with the couples from Pennsylvania, there was a large group of Amish people coming in for the night while we were checking in.
I highly recommend the Farmstead Inn while staying in Shipshewana, Indiana.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BulldogIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmstead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmstead Inn

Address: 370 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-9200
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: $97 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Farmstead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmstead Inn is located in the heart of Northern Indiana Amish Country. The architecture is patterned after local homesteads and contains 153 spacious and comfortable guest rooms. Our large, well-appointed Inn was designed to offer the feel of a quaint, old farmhouse while offering the modern comforts our guests expect including Free hot continental breakfast, indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, ping pong, basketball and conference center facilities for up to 550. Each room is complete with an HD DirecTV package, refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. It's an easy stroll from the Inn to the many local shops and attractions, including the Shipshewana Trading Place Auction & Flea Market during the summer season. Amenities include hot continental breakfast, free wireless Internet, indoor pool and hot tub, a recreation building and several comfy seating areas with fireplaces. Let our staff welcome you home, to the Farmstead Inn. Across from the famous Shipshewana Flea Market and nearby Shipshewana's downtown shopping and dining district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Farmstead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmstead Hotel Shipshewana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing