We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farmstead Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here again in Sept. As always the staff are super friendly. Even after we left our keys in our rooms(two families) three times during our stay, we were always greeted with a smile. The rooms are very clean, and I am in the cleaning business so I notice the little things. Hallways and stairs no dust built up. The pool area is always clean. Also the basketball half court and ping pong table is great to have for extra fun. Love all the super big areas to relax and the meeting areas where families can sit around tables to play games. The closeness to the shops, flea market , restaurants makes it easy to let your car sit . Great property outdoors lots of rockers and benches around the pond makes it very relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat234-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 932 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent two nights here Sept 2013 with a coach tour group from Saskatchewan. This is a wonderful complex with large hallways and wonderful seating areas on each room. The rooms and hallways were spotless as was the bedding. If you love personalized service you will appreciate this facility. e.g. We left the card on our door stating they did not have to make up our room. Imagine our surprise when we found a personalized note by our maid thanking us.

The breakfasts were also excellent. Be sure to visit the Meno-Hof center located 2 minutes out your front door across the little foot bridge. This is our fourth trip to Shipshewana since 2005 and we always have a wonderful time.

Summary: Shipshewana and especially this facility will relax you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klepper-geocaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is on the main street for enjoying a visit to Shipshewana.The property sits back from the road, has lovely grounds and friendly courteous staff. Nothing fancy, but the rooms are clean and comfortable. Includes a nice breakfast. Close to Amish/Mennonite shops and restaurants and interesting little boutique-type places to poke through in search of "treasures". Ask for the Heritage Trail CD (a driving tour) and stop at some quaint/fun places along the way like Yoder's Popcorn.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in a designated "quiet area". Some guests might like to be closer to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We met family there and found it to be a great place for a mini-vacation. The hotel is big, with nice grounds, pool area, activities like basketball and ping pong and exercise room. A nice lobby with comfortable tables and chairs where we played cards. Good breakfast in the morning.

Rooms are comfortable, large and clean.

Close to the middle of town, walkable to shopping and dining.

Very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BookladyFerndale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed this weekend Friday the 9th to Sunday the 11th at the Farmstead Inn and wasn't disappointed. The rooms were very clean, and the people were nice. The breakfast was good except there was no fruit other than red apples, and the pool & hot tub were nice. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carameldlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were able to get a room at the Farmstead Inn and felt so lucky to have gotten one
with just having arrived. Everyone there was so pleasant and helpful. They have wonderful personalities and are, I believe, the friendliest folk you will ever meet. From checking in to the service in regard to our room right down to the breakfast foods and hats off to the cleanliness in
this hotel. Remarkable. Great stay....would go there again in a heartbeat....and honestly can
hardly wait to return again. Oh and one other thing; everyone we met had a custom of bidding you 'hello' or 'good day' accompanied by a smile....I ask you....where on earth do you find this? Thanks everyone there!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My friend and I took a spur of the moment trip, and found this awesome place! The place was very nice with new renovations and friendly staff. We enjoyed the windows that opened in our room allowing us to listen to the night sounds and to see the stars. It was so close to all the shopping and entertainment. We are looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frog2fuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#1 of 6 in Goshen
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
#5 of 5 in Shipshewana
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmstead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmstead Inn

Address: 370 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-9200
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: $93 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Farmstead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmstead Inn is located in the heart of Northern Indiana Amish Country. The architecture is patterned after local homesteads and contains 153 spacious and comfortable guest rooms. Our large, well-appointed Inn was designed to offer the feel of a quaint, old farmhouse while offering the modern comforts our guests expect including Free hot continental breakfast, indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, ping pong, basketball and conference center facilities for up to 550. Each room is complete with an HD DirecTV package, refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. It's an easy stroll from the Inn to the many local shops and attractions, including the Shipshewana Trading Place Auction & Flea Market during the summer season. Amenities include hot continental breakfast, free wireless Internet, indoor pool and hot tub, a recreation building and several comfy seating areas with fireplaces. Let our staff welcome you home, to the Farmstead Inn. Across from the famous Shipshewana Flea Market and nearby Shipshewana's downtown shopping and dining district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Farmstead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmstead Hotel Shipshewana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing