We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware bedbugs”
Review of Farmstead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farmstead Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Recently visited Farmstead Inn and although the stay seemed fine except for what I thought were initially mosquito bites. Later, at home we discovered bedbugs. After doing much research, I am fairly certain that we brought the critters from the hotel. We only visit hotels once a year. You cannot imagine what problems these pests have caused. Please beware.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
12  Thank atlgpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlconrad, General Manager at Farmstead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

At the Farmstead Inn we take customer feedback seriously. We are also quite aware of the impact of bedbugs to our guests. We recently received an inquiry regarding bedbugs on September 12, 2011 from a guest who had stayed August 7th to the 9th. Upon notification of this concern, we immediately contacted our pest Elimination vendor who inspected the room and found nothing...no bedbugs and no trace of bedbugs. The Farmstead Inn has never had a problem with bedbugs. If you have questions or concerns, please contact us at 260-768-4595.

Darcy Conrad
General Manager
Farmstead Inn and Conference Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 890 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our family has been staying at the Farmstead Inn for several years and it has always been the place we call ''home'' when we visit Shipshewana. The staff is always welcoming and our rooms are freshly clean. Looking forward to our next stay. Thank you for the hospitality. Sara from Illinois

Room Tip: Always try to get a room that lets you see and here the horse and buggies. It makes your trip comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Westayed at the Farmstead Inn several times. Always clean, excellent check-in, and nice indoor pool. Right across from the large Flea Market at Shipshewana, Ind. Hopefully the whole family can go next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We just got back from our 14th anniversary vacation to Indiana. We stayed at the Farmstead Inn and we were so glad that we did. It made our anniversary very special. This place is so beautiful - you can not even begin to imagine. Our room was so much larger than we expected - we had a king bed - a sofa bed - a refrigerator and a microwave. The bathroom area has two sinks - one inside the tub area with a hair dryer and one outside with a coffee pot - iron and ironing board and closet. We just loved our room. The lobby has the neatest stairs - see the photo. The grounds are beautiful with flowers- a gazebo - pond and paths to walk around. We got there on Saturday and the first thing that we did on Sunday is get up and take an early walk. Town is not that far and we saw plenty of horse and buggies on our walk. They ride up and down in front of the hotel all day.
We came back and had a great breakfast at the hotel and it was really good and had more than most places. We spent our Sunday afternoon at the indoor pool and hot tub. We went into the lobby where there are tables and we played some games. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
If you are planning a trip to Shipshewana, be sure to stay at the Farmstead Inn - we loved it and we found it worth the 10 hour ride and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with a sofa bed - we used it for our suitcases - not enough drawer space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Farmstead has been part of our family summer tradition for at least 10 years! We won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyndilou09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I have stayed at Farmstead Inn about 8-9 times in the last 5 years. They treat you so nice and are very accommodating. The place is always so clean and well kept. The front desk people are courteous and really care about you. One of the front desk ladies called me about a month before my scheduled arrival, when a better arrangement of rooms became available for my friends and my stay. Housekeeping staff is great and the rooms are well maintained. When we were there in 2010, there was a tornado warning and the staff made sure they alerted all of us and made certain we were comfortable while waiting in the hallways. Great place to stay if you are there for the flea market, as you can walk across the street to the market. Within walking distance of great restaurants and also to Yoder's store. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Farmstead Inn!!

Room Tip: Any room is the best room at the Farmstead!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meema1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at the Farmstead Inn while on a family weekend getaway. Now we have two boys 11 and 13 and they are not much into shopping. So planning for the weekend where everyone got a little of what they wanted was an adventure in itself. But at the Farmstead Inn there is a Great swimming pool and best of all they have a basketball court and ping pong tables. My kids LOVE IT!! I myself loved it too. Right on the main strip with plenty of shopping and dinning. This will be where we stay everytime Shipshana is in our plans!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic room and it was a great size room. Bigger than your standard room at anyother h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
#5 of 5 in Shipshewana
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmstead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmstead Inn

Address: 370 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-9200
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: $93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Farmstead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmstead Inn is located in the heart of Northern Indiana Amish Country. The architecture is patterned after local homesteads and contains 153 spacious and comfortable guest rooms. Our large, well-appointed Inn was designed to offer the feel of a quaint, old farmhouse while offering the modern comforts our guests expect including Free hot continental breakfast, indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, ping pong, basketball and conference center facilities for up to 550. Each room is complete with an HD DirecTV package, refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. It's an easy stroll from the Inn to the many local shops and attractions, including the Shipshewana Trading Place Auction & Flea Market during the summer season. Amenities include hot continental breakfast, free wireless Internet, indoor pool and hot tub, a recreation building and several comfy seating areas with fireplaces. Let our staff welcome you home, to the Farmstead Inn. Across from the famous Shipshewana Flea Market and nearby Shipshewana's downtown shopping and dining district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Farmstead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmstead Hotel Shipshewana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing