We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”
Review of Farmstead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farmstead Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our first trip here and the hotel was more than I expected. The room was large w/2 queen beds. No frills but very clean and comfortable.
We stayed three nights. Breakfast is fair. There is cereal, some type of gravy to put over mini bisquits, english muffins (they crumbed when I tried to split it), bananas (most black), unwashed apples (so when do I eat it?) along with coffee and juices. Ate there just one morning and ate out the rest.
Front desk was not overly friendly but pleasant.
It is across the street from the Flea Market which is held Tues/Wed during the summer. Area is really hopping then as this is HUGE. Wear comfortable shoes and be prepared to spend the day walking it.
The best pie can be found across the street (and we're die-heart dessert eaters) at the Auction Restaurant. Again Tues/Wed its packed but fine the rest of the week (closed Thursday). We even took a whole pie home.
The Essenhaus in Middlebury (approx 15 min ride) is a must for good dinner. You don't need reservations but if you don't be prepared to wait.
Shops are all around. There are some just down the road (no sidewalks) or about 5 min by car on Harrison St. Just park and start walking down the street lined with one shop after the other and ends with Davis Merchantile which houses quite a few stores and floors.
Buggy rides are advertised but if you want a really nice and informative one go one block over to Morton Street across from the Bakery and there is a wonderful Amish gentleman who only charges $5 (compared to the more expensive rides) and who is more than willing to discuss Amish way of life and answer any questions.
Trip was well worth it and although the hotel offers an exercise room, we felt the walking qualified us enough to forego it but the pool/whirlpool did help those tired feet.
There's a lot to take in but the shops close EARLY and the town is shut down by 8pm but by then you welcome the comfort the rooms have to offer.
And if you do take the buggy ride, tell "Sam" Hello from his English friends Carol/Barbara.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlfriends2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
There are newer reviews for Farmstead Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 854 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

We have stayed at the Farmstead Inn several times, mostly recently last week for 2 nights. Our party included myself, my husband and sister. We chose the Farmstead based on location to the Shipshewana Flea Market (directly across the street) and past stays here. It is very clean and comfortable with a nice indoor pool and hot tub. Rooms are large and well-appointed. Ther rates are reasonable for the area and the location is ideal for the Tuesday and Wednesday Flea Market, and shopping in downtown Shipshewana. The included breakfast is average for a hotel. The only negative thing was the beds, although comfortable, could use new frames as they move around a bit when you turn in bed. Altogether a good place to stay while in Amish land and we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaLynn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My sisters and I have visited Shipshewanna EVERY year for the last 14 years, always staying for at least 2 nights and 3 days. Our main point of interest has always been shopping at the Flea Market and the surrounding shops. In the first few years we stayed at a hotel in Goshen. We always saw The Farmstead Inn, and talked about how nice it looked and how Beautiful!! the grounds surrrounding it are!! And the fact that the Flea Market is literally, across the street! We all assumed that it would be an outragiously, high priced hotel!! WRONG! The Inn is very reasonably priced, especially with all the added ammenities! CLEAN, COZY, CONVENIANT, With a very friendly and competant staff. We have stayed there for the last 7 or 8 years (approx.), and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else!! Definitely a first class Inn!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbeeno13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Love this Inn! Planning two trips back to this inn 2011. Can't wait to take more friends. This is the perfect relaxing place.

Room Tip: They always have specials!!
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

I called the Farmstead Inn and reserved 1 room for 3 nights for New Years 2010. Was told of a special they were having. Bring in 10 non perishable items for the food bank and get a percentage off of rate. Good idea. It was only good untill the end of the year 2010. We were staying until the 2nd of Jan. But was told that if we brought in 30 items the 3rd night was free. When we arrived we were told that they would not honor this arrangement that was made by the clerk. The check in clerk had an attitude from the time we stepped up to the desk. There for we decided to go else where. We ended up not having a very plesant New Years. We did talk to the manager the next day about what happened. But got nowhere. I will not be recommending this place at all. while it looks good on the surface, the service is not good.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
5  Thank granny_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The motel is in a great location, right across from the flea market. The breakfast was fine,and plentiful. Would have liked it better if it ran a little later for folks who like to sleep in on vacation. The rooms were clean.and a good size. The shower in the bathroom was awful...felt a need to "run around " to actually get wet. The beds were not great probably about time to change them .I feel, for the cost of the room a few amenities would have been nice. A bar fridge to store a can of pop or the cheese we purchased at the market across the street would have been nice. Maybe a coffee maker in the room. There was coffee available in the lobby but quite a distance from my room. Maybe I just expected more, because so much of this is standard in a lot of motels these days.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amenitiesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We took our family vacation this fall and stopped in Shipshewana, IN for two days (one night). Farmstead Inn was a beautiful hotel and was in a great location. You could easily walk to the flea market, although we did park across the street since the flea market itself is so big and it was easier to put purchases in the car rather than carry them. By the way, the flea market is more modern 'closeouts' and 'seconds' than antiques -- there were only a few true antique dealers at the time of the year when we were there. However, we walked to the antique store next door to the hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great store, beautifully displayed, and relatively normal pricing. We really also liked the Menno-Hof museum -- we also walked to that next door. The breakfast at the hotel was very nice -- yogurt, boiled eggs, bananas, apples, muffins, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, cereal, etc. along with juices and coffee. We enjoyed the very clean rooms, good food, and perfect location in Shipshewana -- 'would definitely recommend it! Somewhat pricey, but was everything they said it was. Nice pool, too!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family875342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmstead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmstead Inn

Address: 370 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-9200
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Farmstead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmstead Inn is located in the heart of Northern Indiana Amish Country. The architecture is patterned after local homesteads and contains 153 spacious and comfortable guest rooms. Our large, well-appointed Inn was designed to offer the feel of a quaint, old farmhouse while offering the modern comforts our guests expect including Free hot continental breakfast, indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, ping pong, basketball and conference center facilities for up to 550. Each room is complete with an HD DirecTV package, refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. It's an easy stroll from the Inn to the many local shops and attractions, including the Shipshewana Trading Place Auction & Flea Market during the summer season. Amenities include hot continental breakfast, free wireless Internet, indoor pool and hot tub, a recreation building and several comfy seating areas with fireplaces. Let our staff welcome you home, to the Farmstead Inn. Across from the famous Shipshewana Flea Market and nearby Shipshewana's downtown shopping and dining district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Farmstead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmstead Hotel Shipshewana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing