We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Questionable business practices.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Shelbyville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Questionable business practices.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I reserved 2 rooms via Hotels.Com for 4 nights.

When we arrived at the hotel after driving for 11.5 hours, we were told they only had one room reserved for us and had no other available rooms.

The hotel blamed Hotels.Com for the mistake and over the next 3 days we heard them tell several other customers the same thing.

When Hotels.Com contacted the hotel to investigate, the hotel told them I used and was charged for both rooms.

I am currently pursuing a refund for the second room that I reserved but did not get to use, via my credit card company.

Aside from that, the room was clean and the beds were comfortable but the noise from the highway was almost unbearable.

Next time, I'll stay at the Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel, away from the highway, for more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear MadMorf,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We value what our guest have to say. We deeply apologize for the mix up with the thrid party booking company, and the noise level outside your room. Please be aware that this issues are being addressed with the management staff , so we are able to give our guest the value they deserve. We hope you come back and stay with us to receive a better experience.

Sincerely,

Holly Gossett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    41
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
41
29
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is nice. I stayed here , because I was going to the Indiana grand Casino. Not bad and the shuttle does pick up here so worked out. the breakfast was less than desirable. I enjoyed the Hampton more and I an a choice member at this chain.

Room Tip: Nothing special here adequate accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn47905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear shawn47905,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

we decided to spur of the moment go to the casino and so I looked up on priceline and found this for $45 and being 2 1/2 star it was pretty good price. I fell this hotel should be rated higher than 2 1/2. The decorations was current and up to date, the staff very friendly and willing to help us. The breakfast was good and service was excellent. Even tho the elevator was down, time we returned from the casino it was fixed. I would differently stay here again. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were spacious and we didn't hear any noise from the hallways! The rooms were very cleaned and maintained. Thanks for an enjoyable stay!! :)

Room Tip: check out priceline for deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvdeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear luvdeals,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we regret the inconvenience of the elevator being down from time to time. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience beyond the elevator problems. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Holly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPR
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After a bad experience at a nearby hotel, moved here for 4 day business trip. Room was clean, looked good and very comfortable. Staff was polite and courteous, and complimentary breakfast had nice selection. I don't know if I'll be back in shelbyville again, but if I am, I will definitely stay here

Room Tip: I too would avoid rooms facing the interstate, it can get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Brandon S.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your trip did not start off the best. But I am also happy to hear that we were able to help in making your experience much better. We do our best to provide our guests with every amenity that they may need, as well as back it up with friendly efficient staff. Thank you for taking the time to let us know we are doing a good job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We chose to travel through Indiana on our way back from Tennessee to Missouri. The Holiday Inn Express in Shelbyville is one of the few hotels located close to the Indiana Grand casino so we decided to spend a night there. Our reservations for 2 King non smoking rooms were in order and the desk attendant even corrected the reservation to provide the proper lower price without being asked. Hotel appears to be newer and was reasonably clean. It seems as though there has been some settling of the structure as the bathroom doors in both rooms would not close properly. We did not experience any problems with the motion activated AC that has been mentioned in some of the previous reviews but the noise level is quite high from both the highway and the hotel interior. The beds were adequate and the free breakfast was of decent quality for a hotel with several hot selections, juices, coffee, tea bags, yogurt and such but was a bit light on fruit with only bananas. Overall the Hotel served our purpose with no major complaints other than the noise level but I did find the Holiday Inn Best price guarantee to be a joke as I found a lower price shortly after making the reservation but in the nearly 24 hours it took for them to verify the price had gone up.....somewhat of a scam in my opinion

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room on the back side of the hotel that is farther from the highway in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Rodney L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. We apologize for the challenges you had experienced with the outside noise which affected your stay negatively and would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, thank you for your time and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The rooms are nice and clean. The hotel is relatively new which helps. There is a review that says to get an odd number room to avoid the freeway noise (especially the motorcycles) and I agree. Note that all of the king rooms (except for the suites) face the freeway so request two queens.

Room Tip: Get an odd number room to avoid the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Paul N.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, It is our goal to provide our guests with clean efficient rooms. We cannot wait to have you stay with us again. Next time you make your reservation, besure to specify your preference of room location, and our agents will do their best to accomodate you!
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Awesome Stay! Excellent Staff and Management! This was one of the best hotels we have stayed at all year! Rooms had plenty of space, the Hotel was super clean, and the staff made you feel at home. If you're in the area this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Aaron R.
Im glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel!, and thank you for the excellent review. Not only do we strive to provide our guests with a good experience with our property, but also with our staff. We push our staff to go above and beyond for our guests, providing them with a great experience.
Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelbyville
Comfort Inn Shelbyville
#2 of 6 in Shelbyville
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Shelbyville
Hampton Inn Shelbyville
#1 of 6 in Shelbyville
222 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Shelbyville
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 6 in Franklin
74 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Greensburg
13.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis
Address: 38 W Rampart St, I-74 at exit 113, Shelbyville, IN 46176-9472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a brand new hotel in the Shelbyville area. We offer discount rates to local corporations. We are 2 miles from the Indiana downs and the Indiana Live casino. We offer a free hot continental breakfast to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing