We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Tub Disappointment, But Otherwise Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seymour
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hot Tub Disappointment, But Otherwise Wonderful”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I like what I see when it comes to the "new" Fairfield Inns, and this property is a great example of how they are modernizing. From the moment we checked in, all of our expectations were met. The desk clerk was friendly, our room felt larger than it probably was, the bed was super comfortable, everything was exceptionally clean, and the breakfast was more than adequate. Our teenage son appreciated the very well appointed fitness room, which has the kind of treadmills and ellipticals you find in clubs with TVs on each machine. The pool area is very nice and clean, but we were very disappointed to find that, as Foodkop had stated, the hot tub simply doesn't work. When you travel 5+ hours a day in the car, a clean, working hot tub is really important. Although the water temperature is indeed very hot, the jets in the tub obviously do not work. I'm not sure if the hotel doesn't want to fix the hot tub or what, because we received the same explanation about how it was doing exactly what it was supposed to be doing (trust me, it wasn't.) At any rate, our stay was completed with a nice breakfast in the dining area with eggs, cereal, waffles, etc. There is a small, stocked pantry with frozen items and even alcohol to purchase. Everyone at the hotel was friendly, the location is awesome and we faced the highway without any noise disturbance. I would have rated this property with five stars but not being able to use the hot tub after a long trip knocked it down a notch in our book. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra_McCormick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, We always appreciate the feedback and look forward to you visiting us again. We are having the jets for the hot tub looked at for repair or possible replacement. Again, Thank you for your business.

Respectfully;
Debra McCormick
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    46
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
69
43
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We called to make our reservations instead of doing it on line because we had a couple questions. First, and foremost, we asked if they had a hot tub and if it was in working order. We were assured they had one that was working. Hot tubs are very important to us when driving 5-9 hours a day.

The clerks at the desk were very pleasant and friendly. The lobby was beautiful (as all Fairfields are). We went to our room and found it impeccable. It was very clean and all was in order. The only thing missing was the TV channel guide, but we were given one when we asked.

After dinner we went to the hot tub and pool. The pool was warm and relaxing. The hot tub was a HUGE disappointment. The knob to turn for time was missing. The instructions said to set the time (which wasn't possible) and push the button to start. We pushed a little knob that was supposed to be the button and nothing happened. I went to the front desk (dripping wet because I had been in the pool) to report it. The desk clerks came to the pool with me to investigate. They could see the problem, but insisted that it was a whirlpool spa - not a hot tub. Therefore, the jets only moved the water around, not bubble. This was ridiculous! That's not true and I told them I wasn't buying that explanation. They returned to the front desk and came back to us informing us that the general manager would call us the next day to talk to us. As it turned out, the general manager wanted to talk to us after we were finished in the pool. So, we changed out of our suits and went back down to the desk. The clerk called the general manager who spoke with my husband at length regarding the problem.

The general manager said the whirlpool spa story was what she had been told about the hot tub and that's how it was supposed to work, but she didn't believe it either. She ended up comping our room (no charge) & we were given anything we wanted from the store at no cost. Problem resolved. We would've liked to have had the hot tub, but Fairfield made it right for our troubles.

We had a King Suite. The bed was very comfortable. The last few King beds we stayed in at other hotels were not as comfy.

The location is great! Right off the highway. Ask for a room towards the back and other side of the building to avoid the traffic noise. The clerk gave us a room away from traffic noise without us having to ask. There are many restaurants and stores within a very short distance from the hotel. Very convenient.

There was a visitor "reception" that night. They had complimentary beer, sodas, chips, candies and other munchies in the lounge. Very nice. We were tired and took ours to our room.

Breakfast was free. It was the usual fare of eggs, waffles, cereal, muffins, fruit, etc... Nothing special.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra_McCormick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
On behalf of my management and staff, we would like to Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your review and take all comments and suggestions very seriously. As do I take the problem you encountered with our hot tub. This is being investigated now. We appreciate your business and welcome you back to stay with us. I am the person that called you from home the night you encountered the problem. I do appreciate the understanding you showed my staff and hope that you will visit again.

Respectfully,
Debra McCormick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a very nice place for just a brief get-a-way. It was very clean the the staff was very helpful-from the manager and food service especially. The bed was comfortable and the full breakfast was a surprise treat. The pool was clean and it has a small but nice workout area.
It was easy to find near several restaurants. Not far away from Louisville. Ky and Nashville Indiana. Ask for a north view room over the golf course next door. Whoever designed the decor made you feel that you where in a higher priced hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on north side facing a golf course that is next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra_McCormick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for all your great comments regarding your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you here as our guest. We welcome to return in the future. We have just upgraded our Breakfast Bar and happy to hear you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincy, OH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had to spend 3 nights in Seymour. This Fairfield Inn is what I would consider upper end for the brand. Bed was super comfortable, breakfast is what you would expect. Place was clean and all the staff I ran across was very friendly.

Room Tip: I had room 124 which was super convenient to the side parking lot. I-65 Road noise wasn't bad.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank djmd808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra_McCormick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
The staff at the Fairfield Inn & Suites would like to Thank you for the great comments and sharing your personal experience with us. We welcome to return in the future, and as always we will be more than happy to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice decor. Comfortable. Good service. Good value. Fairfield Inn's updated look is stylish and relaxing. The breakfast was plentiful and had a good variety of food. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were clean.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra_McCormick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Kathy, Thank you for the review. We certainly appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you again,
Debra McCormick
General Manager,
Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour Indiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteno, IL
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was not bad, but stayed in nicer. The rooms are small, but they are clean. Breakfast was about normal, but eggs were not fresh. At check in they were making a big deal with the guy next to me because he was a Platnium member. Offered him a drink or points. I was barely acknowledged and got nothing. I guess being a gold member is not enough. Had stayed at a Marriott the night before and they acknowledged it several times. I stayed at the Holiday Inn next door last year and thought it was much nicer. I think it may be the same owners, but the property showed much better I thought and staff was more accommodating. Will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra_McCormick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for review, I certainly appreciate your business and take all your comments into consideration and use all for training purposes. We look forward to your visit as stated in the email I sent you. Thank you for your business. Respectfully, Debra McCormick, General Manager of Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour Indiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Me and my family took a mini vacation right after Christmas. We stayed for 3 nights. My first thoughts walking in the door was very inviting and warm. I can not thank the ladies that work there enough. The manager was the sweetest lady ever and loves kids. The nightshift receptionist Christina was more than accomidating. she told us some things we could do since it was snowing. We had our 9 yr Old daughter and our 7 yr old son with us. This is a very family friendly hotel. The rooms are very clean and the hotel itself is very modern. The town itself doesn't have much to do in the winter but shopping and restaurants. That didn't stop us from having fun. The kids took full advantage of the pool and hot tub. The breakfast was great and it's included with the room. There were eggs, waffles, bacon, pastries, yogurt, cereal ect. I could go on. The coffee is offered 24 hrs a day and is awesome. I'm surprised they didn't limit me lol but it is so good. The beds are very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. We had a standard 2 queen it was nice but next time we will get the suite with the kids. Suits are very nice, the staff was nice enough to show us one for the next time. I was trying to figure out something for the kids to do and the staff was going to allow the kids to make a snowman outside. They chose the pool but I thought it was very nice of them to give the option. Totally recommend this hotel. Another good thing it's in a central location to anything in town.

Room Tip: Double queen has tv desk chair dresser. Suites have living space pull out sofa bed fridge private ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaggedclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra_McCormick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the great posting, we appreciate your business, and so enjoyed the family, its very nice to see families that come and enjoy the hotel, and get to know them. We certainly hope that you get to make here again soon, possiblly when its warm and you can get out and see the area. On behalf of my staff we welcome you back, and look forward to seeing you. Please tell the kids I will be waiting with the snowballs. Debra McCormick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seymour
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seymour
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Seymour
Hampton Inn Seymour
#1 of 10 in Seymour
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Seymour
Knights Inn Seymour
#7 of 10 in Seymour
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Seymour
79 reviews
17.4 mi away
Columbus Hotel
Columbus Hotel
#3 of 9 in Columbus
301 reviews
17.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour
Address: 327 N Sandy Creek Dr, Seymour, IN 47274-9684 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Seymour
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seymour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott-Seymour ,The newest hotel in the area. Conveniently located from I-65, your half way stop between Louisville and Indianapolis, and near businesses such as Wal-mart Distribution Center, Schneck Medical Hospital and Aisin. From a stylish lobby to contemporary rooms, you will be delighted to find modern amenities and services at the great value you expect from Marriott. After spending a day out on the road, at work, or taking in local attractions, you can relax in a luxurious bed with crisp linens, take a dip in the in-door heated pool, or de-stress in the Spa. At the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott-Seymour you will never start your day on an empty stomach with our complimentary Early Eats breakfast buffet, which includes hot items, before heading out to continue your travels, to work, or to play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Seymour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing