We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Mariann Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariann Travel Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scottsburg
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here on my way to Bloomington, IN and found it to be a comfortable, clean, facility. Rate was approximately $55.00 for the night. Is it an older property, yes. But at that rate, you can never be to sure what you are going to find on the otherside of the room door. The motel is clean and basic, young lady at the front desk was gracious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hsmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Owner at Mariann Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Henry - Thank your for good review of the Mariann Travel Inn in Scottsburg IN. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Even though our property is on the older side, we are making efforts to keep it clean and a good value for our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We picked this hotel as a cheap alternative as a way stop on our way back to Indy. The phrase "you get what you pay for" was really emphasized by this visit. The room was dirty, dated and very loud. We could not wait to get out of there, as the clientele was a bit less than desired. Spend the extra $$$ and go to the Hampton.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topgunn_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Owner at Mariann Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Topgun99 - We're sorry that you had a bad experience at the Mariann Travel Inn recently. I would ask whether or not you requested to be moved to a different room as you implied that your room was dirty and loud. We would have moved you without any question. We can't do anything about the property being dated as it is over 30 years old and we have made attempts to keep the rooms update. Obviously we did not suceed in your opinion. As far as our clientele being "less than desired" I take exception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Every year my father and I travel from Texas to southern Indiana for a family reunion, followed by his high school reunion. Unfortunately this coincides with the annual Hot Rod Show in Louisville Ky. making it next to impossible to find a room in the area. This time, we decided to drive a little farther north, and that's when we discovered this wonderful place. We were absolutely delighted with our stay. There's a nice park with grills, which we took advantage of in the evenings, for cooking out. There's also a beautiful pool and cabana with a grill / smoker, sadly we didn't have time to use them. For breakfast we went to the great restaurant right there by the Inn, what a delight. We cannot come up with one negitive comment between us. From the management to the staff to the clean, fresh, comfortable rooms and of course the price, this was truly an excellent experience for us. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

CharlesJ - Thank you for your excellent comments about the Mariann Travel Inn and Restaurant. We look forward to serving you again in the future hopefully this coming August. Plan to spend a little more time with us so you can enjoyed the pool and our grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

After having stayed in other motels in Scottsburg, and not being happy with them, I decided to try The Mariann Travel Inn based on TripAdvisor reviews. I am very happy I did. The Simmons BeautyRest bed is extrememly comfortable. The room was so clean and smelled and seemed fresh. The staff is friendly and genuinely concerned that all guests have a good experience. The price is quite reasonable, and the motel is well-located in relation to the places I needed to get to. A family reunion got quite loud late into the night at the pool. When I asked the front office woman to try to reign them in, she helped immediately. I will stay here again the next time I am in the area, plus would recommend it unconditionally to anyone. Not a fancy motel, but a very well-run, safe and comfortable place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeingTheWorld56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

SeeingTheWorld56 - Thank you very much for your excellent comments about the Mariann Travel Inn. We apologize about the loudness of the family reunion group that was there the same night but it appears our front desk clerk was able to get a solution for you. Because of our grounds and the outdoor pool we have begun to attract a lot of families with children which can get a little loud at times. We appreciate your understanding and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This motel was Clean, free wi-fi, and hot breakfast. We had a good nights sleep and felt great in the morning. We will come back again when we are in the area.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank NonnieDowntown60610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariannscotts, Owner at Mariann Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

NonnieDowntown - Thank you for your nice comments about our Mariann Travel Inn and posting your excellent rating on TripAdvisor. We welcome you to be our guest anytime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I stop in on the way home from down South. What a nice surprise. Rooms where very clean. Breakfast was great. Talked with some local people who said they eat there all the time and the food is away's good. Don't let the low price fool you. it a great value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariannscotts, Owner at Mariann Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dean - We thank you for your excellent review of the Mariann Travel Inn and Restaurant. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you as our guest on your next trip through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here early Dec 2010 driving back from Florida, Great Price, clean rooms. Restaurants food was outstanding and staff very friendly. You don't get service like this at most places anymore. Stay here with out any worries!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike59929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariannscotts, Owner at Mariann Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Mike - Thank you for you excellent review of the Mariann Travel Inn and Restaurant. We appreciate your staying with us and we look foreward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Scottsburg
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Scottsburg
Hampton Inn Scottsburg
#1 of 6 in Scottsburg
528 reviews
20.3 mi away
Ramada Sellersburg/Louisville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
62 reviews
19.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Seymour
81 reviews
19.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seymour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariann Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariann Travel Inn

Address: 1250 W McClain Ave, I-65 Exit 29 north of Louisville, KY, Scottsburg, IN 47170-1165
Location: United States > Indiana > Scottsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scottsburg
Price Range: $60 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariann Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mariann Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariann Travel Hotel Scottsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing