We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best mexican” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Caretta Restaurant and Bar

La Caretta Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #16 of 93 Restaurants in Schererville
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Second La Caretta in area, one also in Merrillville, IN
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have visited the one in Merrillville more often, but this one is more of the same. Good food and good service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, IN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in NWI!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

This place is the best in Northwest Indiana, hands down. The service is excellent and the food awesome. The only problem is that you sometimes have a long wait. We have tried almost everything on the menu, and all of it is awesome. The Texas nachos, enchiladas suizas, and shrimp tacos are some of our favorites. The margaritas are huge and strong, the pina colada margarita is the best. They are generous with the chips and salsa and drink refills, too. You must try this place!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great experience :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very great experience. Must try the margaritas!! Food is tasty and atmosphere is welcoming

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hoteldiva05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Fabulous Mexican Food! I mean fabulous....and a nice atmosphere.....a nice variety of menu options. Love visiting!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank dabfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John, In
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I ordered the chicken tacos for take out and they were delish! The manager was very kind and friendly and went out of his way to ensure my order was correct and I had everything I needed.

Helpful?
Thank Monica421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caretta Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to La Caretta Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing