We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!”

Santa's Candy Castle
Shepherdsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a common stop when we go to Holiday Inn.....Love the Candy and the ambiance....they have many flavors of taffy and candy sticks. Such a festive place even in the summer!!

Helpful?
2 Thank peepadoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    58
    39
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hospitality!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A really interesting castle with goodies galore. Hot Chocolate and the owner were wonderful. Such a nice guy! Our girls talked (Typed back and forth) to an elf on his computerized "Naughty or Nice" questionarre system.....not really worth the price, but it was cute and they received a certificate sent from the North Pole afterward.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank brickell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Candy Castle Needs More Candy”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I read reviews others had written about the Santa's Candy Castle and unfortunately I got my 5 yr. old grandson all excited about going there. Big disappointment. We had visions dancing through our heads of every kind of candy, including sugar plums, but it fell way short. They mostly sell fudge, flavored popcorn, pez dispeners, and also lots of books. We bought a couple of books and some popcorn, but it was a real let down, especially for my little grandson. We bought no candy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santas_Candy_Castle, Owner at Santa's Candy Castle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are genuinely sorry that your visit fell short of expectations.

During the month that you visited, our offerings included the following handmade confections: Milk Chocolate Pecan Delights (like "turtles"), Dark Chocolate Pecan Delights, Sugar-Free Pecan Clusters, Peanut Clusters, Peanut Brittle, Divinity, Chocolate Covered Oreos, Chocolate Covered Rice Krispie Treats, Chocolate Covered Raisins, Chocolate Covered Caramels, White Chocolate Pretzels, Milk Chocolate Pretzels, Peanut Butter Meltaways, Dark Chocolate Mints, Chocolate Covered Graham Crackers, English Toffee, Dark Chocolate Almond Bark, White Chocolate Almond Bark, Toffee Crunch Bark, Cranberry Walnut Bark, Cookies 'n Cream Bark, Peppermint Bark, Snowflakes (white chocolate/coconut), Reindeer Shoes (1/4lb caramel w/ finely chopped nuts enrobed in milk chocolate), Rocky Road Bars, Coconut Bars, Milk Chocolate Covered Mousse, Dark Chocolate Covered Mousse, Pecan Roll Slices with Caramel Centers, Pecan Roll Slices with Nougat Centers, Raspberry Creams, Maple Creams, Chocolate Fudge, Chocolate Pecan Fudge, Peanut Butter Fudge, Chocolate/Peanut Butter Fudge, Pumpkin Fudge, Smores Fudge, Chocolate/Amaretto Fudge, Banana Nut Fudge, and Dreamsicle Fudge.

Our specialty is our cocoa, so we also offered 27 flavors of gourmet hot chocolate (20 cocoa favors, 6 white chocolate flavors, plus a sugar-free): served hot to drink in the store or bagged mix to take home.

We also offered Frozen Hot Chocolate, our signature drink made with our gourmet cocoa mix.

We also offered over a dozen flavors of candied popcorn & fresh cheese popcorn.

We also offered over a dozen flavors of salt water taffy (actually closer to 20 flavors).

We also offered a three-rack display full of Jelly Belly products.

We also offered a giant wall of PEZ, one of the largest retail selections of PEZ anywhere.

We also offered a display rack full of 99c "fun" candy - things like pop rocks, giant pixy sticks, rock candy, sour straws, push pops, ring pops, candy bars, etc.

We didn't have sugar plums when you visited; we usually only offer them during late November & December. Based on your comment, we will consider offering these year-round in the future.

Please let us know if there was another specific candy/confection that you were looking for, so that we might consider including it in our future offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must visit if in Santa Claus!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a stop on a whim while we were on our way back from Holiday World. We were greeted with truly one of a kind knick knacks, delicious treats (I recommend the FIRE popcorn for spicy food lovers) and an owner (or great employee) who truly cares about the business and the town. He went out of his way to show us other attractions on the map and was extremely thoughtful and enjoyable to talk to.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Must-Visit while in Santa Clause, Indiana.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This small shop has all kinds of candy, fudge, flavored popcorn and really yummy frozen hot chocolate. There is an eclectic collection of items to buy. A large selection of PEZ, Christmas books and memorabilia. The fellow working there was delightful as well and made a wonderful impression on my family.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank vicfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa's Candy Castle also viewed

 

Been to Santa's Candy Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing