We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first time experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed there for our yearly visit to Holiday world. Our granddaughter always wanted to stay in a camper so we rented the standard RV. The RV was very nice and clean, the bathroom had hot water with good water pressure. The kitchen was supplied with dishes and utensils, but if you are planning to grill out, make sure you take your aluminum spatula, the ones provided are plastic. The RV had a full size bed in a room and in another room it had 2 bunk beds. The top bunks had just a pad for a mattress, this will make it good for children, but will not recommend for adults. The full size bed not very comfortable either, but we were expecting it, so we took a mattress pad. Overall the RV was good for our needs. The campgrounds are big, they have a nice big pool, a store and a place where you could get ice cream, donuts or pizza. There is a grocery store very close to the campground so you could go there to get anything you might be missing. We rented a golf cart since we saw that they had a golf cart parade and decorated. Being our first time, we were not as decked out as other golf carts, but the parade was a blast. People really get their creativity hats on and decorated their carts to the max. I felt that you do not need to rent a golf cart if you don’t want to, but it’s more fun, especially with children. The employees are super friendly and it’s a great family environment. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and we will make this a yearly tradition.

Room Tip: Prancer area is close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank summerfun57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We're glad you had a nice time!

Thank you,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 353 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This is now my favorite family campground. The campground is clean and well organized. They have activities at low and some at no cost for everyone. Camp store prices are very reasonable. Reservation made for 2015 already. Golf carts are available for rent at a reasonable daily rate. My favorite part is the Glow Golf Cart Parade held every other evening. Take lots of decorations and glow in the dark items to decorate your golf cart should you rent one. Decor items are hard to come by as shopping is limited in the area. We also bought a few bags of candy to toss to kids. Those with dogs, be sure to take plenty of doggy pick up bags to pick up after your dog. There's none to be had anywhere. We had to use sandwich bags after a failed search to other near by towns.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Full-Time R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're thrilled to hear that we are your favorite family campground. Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nice campground and our family always enjoys going there. It is a bit pricey. BEWARE: They have some new water slides at the campground pool, but charge you to use EACH day. This should be included in your stay - no extra fees!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KCHOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We're glad that your family enjoys your stays with us. I have passed your comments regarding pricing of the waterpark, as well as overall pricing, onto management staff.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Our family loves Lake Rudolph, we have been here 3x now. The pool is wonderful and our kids love the water slides. I only wish the water slides were included in the price of the stay. Renting a golf cart is a must. Rangers had no problem telling us what not to do on the golf carts but we saw many people under 16 driving the carts. That did upset us. Pull through RV sites would be nice because we always camp with other family.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank sross0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lake Rudolph. Underage golf car drivers are an issue that our Ranger team members are constantly working on. We are very concerned about guest safety in the campground and take our safety regulations seriously.

We are glad that you're a frequent visitor and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed over the July Fourth Weekend. The maintenance staff was outstanding helping us with trailer issues. We stayed in the older section by the camp store. The site was nice, but you could hear a howl from the roller coaster during Holiday World hours. The sight was on a hill, which made it tough to find a level spot for the picnic table. I would suggest having some description of the sites such as level, hilly but level drive, etc... so campers
could better select from their needs. The closest bathhouse was old, but clean. There was no hot water, seat, or water pressure so we ended up going to the new bathhouse by the pool. This was not a problem because we had a golf cart, which is a must due to the size of the campground. I wanted to be in the golf cart parade, but it was scheduled for the same timeframe as the Holiday World fireworks :-(. I would recommend major events at Holiday World and the campground would not be at the same time. The campground was busy - sold out. I would not recommend allowing kids on bikes and skateboards. The roads are slim with much traffic. There were lots of teenagers in the golf carts with poor driving skills. The best part is the free shuttle from Holiday World. It runs regularly, is clean and air conditioned. Overall, a good time. We plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Twoboysandtheirdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hello -

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us over the 4th of July. We're happy that you had a nice stay. We have made note of your comments regarding your site, congestion and traffic in the campground, and the activity schedule and they have been passed along to our management staff.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I originally made reservations for 3 nights in June, but due to unexpected events had to reschedule. I called and changed or dates to the first week in July - still for 3 nights in a Christmas Cabin. The day before we were to go I realized I didn't get a confirmation email for the change so I called just to confirm. They had only reserved 2 nights when I changed our dates. The girl told me that she didn't have anything open for that 3rd night. She also told me that I did receive a confirmation. When I told her I had checked all my email folders and it wasn't there, she told me that it was confirmed over the phone with me. I told her that it was but it was confirmed that we still had 3 nights, not 2. She would never admit that they made a mistake and basically made me feel like she was accusing me of lying. She finally told me that they have an "overflow" cabin they could put us in. She said it was just like the Christmas cabin except it didn't have TV's. I wasn't satisfied, but I took it because it was my only option.
We were very disappointed as soon as we entered the cabin. It was so small, much smaller than we expecting for the price. The shower was so small my husband could barely use it. Then I opened the cabinets. Mouse droppings everywhere! It was disgusting. I went to the office and complained. I was told they would send someone to clean it up. That was it, not even an apology. I'm not sure the cabin had actually been cleaned after the last time it was used even though there was a card saying that "Lexie and Kara" had cleaned it. We found various items that had been left by the previous guests. So while we were out someone did come clean up the mouse poop. But guess what we found the next morning... more mouse poop!!!! Not only were we totally grossed out to know we were living with rodents, we had to throw away any opened food we had bought. I went back to the office and complained. By this time we were leaving the next day. I finally got to speak to a manager and he refunded one night to us. So we still had to pay for 2 nights in a rodent infested cabin that want even what we reserved.
I want to add that we have rented cabins in Gatlinburg / Pigeon Forge several times. They are in the middle of the mountains and we have never seen any evidence of mice. They are also 100 times nicer and we have paid about the same price for them.
That was our first and last trip to Lake Rudolph. And I will be spreading the word.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Jennifer A,

We’re sorry that your experience at Lake Rudolph did not meet your expectations. Please know that we take this feedback very seriously and will address reported signs of rodents. We will also discuss with our team members how to handle guest feedback of this nature going forward.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that you may reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Lake Rudolph Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just got back from 3 nights a lake Rudolph. This is my second trip and hopefully not our last. We had a blast. I don't understand these bad reviews about the rental units. What in the world do people expect in a campground? Obviously you are not used to camping. Our unit was very clean and it was level and huge, We did not rent a golf cart and had NO ISSUES driving our vehicle around the entire campground. You can drive right to the pool and water slides, which are very cool for something to do on your down time, it's only $4.95 for a wristband after 5pm. There's a parking lot right by the pool, so it don't make sense someone would say you cant get to it in a vehicle. Keep up the great work, we love it there.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank shellfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lake Rudolph. We're glad you had fun.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
0.4 mi away
Santa's Lodge
Santa's Lodge
#1 of 1 in Santa Claus
386 reviews
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Rockport
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Ferdinand
Comfort Inn Ferdinand
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
94 reviews
5.8 mi away
Motel 6 Dale IN
Motel 6 Dale IN
#1 of 5 in Dale
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Address: 78 N Holiday Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Santa Claus
Price Range: $213 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the great outdoors by staying at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort in Santa Claus, Indiana. Voted one of the top ten favorite parks in North America and a two-time National RV Park of the Year, Lake Rudolph is the closest lodging and camping to Holiday World Theme Park & Splashin' Safari Water Park. Multiple family lodging options include nearly 290 Vacation Rentals (Cabins, Cottages & Rental RVs), and nearly 230 full hookup RV Sites and Tent Sites, including over 100 paved sites. Family fun amenities including Santa's SplashDown WaterPark, the giant Blitzen Bay swimming pool, playgrounds, basketball courts, horseshoe pits, fishing, paddleboats, kayaks, gem mining, mini golf, game room, camp store, Blitzen Kitchen Ice Cream & Pizza, family activities, and much more. Lake Rudolph is the perfect solution for your getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Rudolph Campground & Rv Hotel Santa Claus
Lake Rudolph Campground And Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing