We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Atlanta, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were to stay in this campground from Sunday-Thursday but left a day early. They were doing road work at the campground and it made it difficult to get to the pool and water park unless you paid $40 a day to rent a golf cart. I felt that everything you did at this campground was at an additional cost. The shuttle service to Holiday world was great and we had no problems there. We were very unhappy with our campsite. The site was concrete but once we were finally able to park because of the close space we were given there was no place to put lawn chairs except on the ground. The fire pit was in the mud because of the rain so we were unable to enjoy sitting around the fire. This campground only had one thing going for it and the was the ease of going to Holiday World. I would no recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shirleyod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lake Rudolph. We apologize that your stay was not what you'd hoped and expected.

We are in the process of paving several roads and apologize for the inconvenience. Would you please email more information to me at lbarker@suncommunities.com. I would like to know which site you stayed on so we may investigate further.

Again, we apologize that you were not happy with your stay.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    123
    51
    37
    19
See reviews for
273
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place is AWFUL! First of all, it took 3 phone calls and over 20 minutes just to get someone to answer the phone to make the reservation. Unless you have lots of kids and want to go to Holiday World, there is absolutely NO reason to stay here! It was so crowded and noisy!! It was not much more than a trashy trailer park! This place is PACKED with Old FEMA trailers that are on blocks with wheels off the ground and is the worst park I have ever stayed in. We were traveling in a motorhome towing a vehicle and asked for a pull through site. Apparently they do not know what a pull through site is, because when we got here, the young kids at the check-in don't have a clue and said I am not sure if you can pull through or not, just go on and drive to it and see!! WOW what a trained employee. Gave us very little instructions and of course we could not pull through, so we had to unhook at site and then back up, because the fire ring was right in the middle of the site and also the picnic table. Our kind neighbors next to us saw what a mess we were in, and so kindly offered to move his truck and help us move the picnic table so we could get in. It was HORRIBLE experience. They packed us in with our big rig next to a lot of tents and campers that were all around us.We had people on every side of us at the back and side of every window and door. I have stayed at crowded campgrounds but this is RIDICULOUS!! I called and asked for another site and the girl on the phone said she did not have another one. They told us this was a level PREMIUM DELUXE SITE for $60.00 I was expecting a very nice park. It was the worst ever!! If it had not been raining and we were tired, we would have just left and driven another 100 miles! I could not wait to leave the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harleybabe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lake Rudolph. We apologize that your stay was not what you'd hoped and expected.

Please be assured that our Rental RV Units are not FEMA trailers. Many of them have been custom designed and built. We are sorry that you had a long wait to reach a reservation staff member. This is a time of the year that we do experience very high call volume.

Your comments have been passed onto our management staff. If you could please send me an email with your site number to lbarker@suncommunities, we will investigate the issues you encountered during your stay and take a look at the specific site. Again, we apologize that you were not happy with your stay.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband, myself, and 2 year old just stayed June 15-18th, 2014. The location, atmosphere, and amenities in the campground were great, but our RV was less than to be desired. When we walked in our site, it did not appear to be level, as you were naturally pulled downward. The floor was dirty, there was dust all over, and a half drank water bottle on the top bunk. The furniture appeared dirty and I was hesitant to want to sit on anything. The mattresses were rock hard, and is ended up borrowing a blow up mattress from a family member. Our bedroom door struggled to open and shut bad bathroom had no plug so I had to give my 2 year old a shower. I would not recommend staying in the trailers, but maybe cabins were cleaner. The campground itself was fantastic but wouldn't recommend trailers at all. We traveled with family and my dad was told they were recently under new management, so hopefully the trailers will get a makeover and deep cleaning!

Room Tip: Don't stay in rented trailers. They are dated and not thoroughly cleaned. Mattresses are like c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lake Rudolph. We apologize that your stay was not what you'd hoped and expected.

Your comments have been passed onto our management staff. If you could please send me an email with more information including when you stayed with us and your rental number, we could look into this incident. With that information we would be able to check which staff member cleaned your specific rental and make adjustments. Please email me at lbarker@suncommunities.com.

Again, we apologize that you were not happy with your stay.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I am mixed on this one. This park had great amenities. I liked the pool, shuttle, and super clean bath houses. They also have a few water slides you can access for about 8pp. What I didn't like was the size and lack of monitoring of quiet hours. Unless you book close to the pool, you are going to have to rent a golf cart for 40-60 per day. There are plenty of security during the day but at night it is lacking. The park was very loud! This is likely due to the proximity if all the sites. Be sure to bring ear plugs!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jadewilkerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lake Rudolph. We apologize that your stay was not what you'd hoped and expected.

Your comments have been passed onto our management staff, including our Ranger Manager regarding nightly security and monitoring of our quiet hours. Again, we apologize that you were not happy with your stay.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegrass state
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We camped here in our 36 ft 5th wheel for 2 days. The campground is huge. Our spot was tight getting into. So when you make reservations look @ their site map on line and ask the reservation person explicit questions of the surrounding around each spot. We checked in on a Sunday afternoon. They have two tiny cabins to check in. The check in girl should have escorted us to our spot, because the campground is confusing and if you miss your turn in, then you will have to circle around small roads. I saw her escorting another camper later in the day?? They have a nice camp store. Necessities, souvenirs , you can rent a basketball, crafts there, movies& even gem mining. Our boys love fishing so they brought their poles & fished in the lake every spare moment. They run a shuttle bus to holiday world, nice touch. Blitzens kitchen delivers pizza & has slushies. We said next time we'll stay longer.

Tip: rent a golf cart 4 or 6 person. Place is huge with hills. Bicycling it was exhausting. Reserve ahead as they sell out. You cannot bring your own.

Take a family picture of the giant Santa to the left of the campground entrance. In front of town hall. Mine turned out so cute.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank phislamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lake Rudolph. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We're sorry that you were not escorted to your site. The campground is rather large and our Welcome Center staff members should always offer to escort you.We will discuss this with the manager and correct this issue immediately.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We rented May 30th-June1st in the standard RV rental. The dishes were dirty, there was food crumbs in the silverware tray and something had melted in the freezer and left there. We were to have four bunk beds, a sleeper sofa and a full size bed. The mattresses on the two top bunks were one inch thick and used to pad the two bottom bunks and still uncomfortable. The full size mattress was terrible but the real loser was the sleeper sofa. The sofa was so uncomfortable to even sit on that we had to bring in our lawn chairs to sit on. And forget the bed which was at a head down position. We had rented the RV and ONLY wanted somewhere decent to sleep knowing we would not be in the RV very much. We all showered at the new Splash Down bathhouse which was much nicer than the RV. We could have stayed at a hotel for the same price. We did not stay at the RV on Saturday even though we had paid for it. That being said the employees were so friendly, helpful and pleasant!!! They all get a thumbs up. But please replace the sofa at least in 63D. My daughter was in from Alexandria, VA and I was embarrassed. I wonder had I complained would we have been moved to another RV???? I just assumed they were all this bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon46151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lake Rudolph. We apologize that your stay was not what you'd hoped and expected.

Your comments were passed onto our management staff. We are in the process of replacing mattresses and pullouts in several units. I see that you stayed with us May 30th - June1st in 63D. That is a rental until that our Maintenance Manager has replaced mattresses and the sleeper sofa in as of last week. Again, we apologize that you were not happy with your stay.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have stayed in the Legendary Cabins for several years now and will continue to do so because of it's location in the shadow of the Legend Roller Coaster and easy access to Holiday World. While not plush, you have the fun of camping without being hot, getting rained on and having the comforts of home in your cabin. We love sitting by the campfire with friends and hoisting a few after a day of fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us!

Laura Barker
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
83 reviews
6.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Rockport
89 reviews
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Huntingburg
110 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Property: Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Address: 78 N Holiday Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the great outdoors by staying at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort in Santa Claus, Indiana. Voted one of the top ten favorite parks in North America and a two-time National RV Park of the Year, Lake Rudolph is the closest lodging and camping to Holiday World Theme Park & Splashin' Safari Water Park. Multiple family lodging options include over 270 Vacation Rentals (Cabins, Cottages & Rental RVs), and nearly 230 full hookup RV Sites and Tent Sites, including over 100 paved sites. Family fun amenities including Santa's SplashDown WaterPark, the giant Blitzen Bay swimming pool, playgrounds, basketball courts, horseshoe pits, fishing, paddleboats, kayaks, gem mining, mini golf, game room, camp store, Blitzen Kitchen Ice Cream & Pizza, family activities, and much more. Lake Rudolph is the perfect solution for your getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Rudolph Campground & Rv Hotel Santa Claus
Lake Rudolph Campground And Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing