We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no cabin stay for us” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Monrovia, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“no cabin stay for us”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked a reservation for 7/11/12 in a legend cabin. The cabin was 3c and an experience. First we had to find our own cabin due to lack of help. One young lady trying to show 30 cars to their spots. Then we got to cabin to find the doorknob would not come together and therefore we could not close the door. With all of our things in the cabin this caused stress as well as frustration. The lock was fixed. The shuttle we took had no air and it was 90 degrees. Think someone should stop buying golf carts which there were thousands and buy new shuttles. After bumping our heads several times on the loft roof to put our kids to bed and trying to make our way down a steep ladder which led to loft, we wake to find several thousand ants all over our things and the main floor. I spent about an hour sweeping them up and out. Very disappointed in this stay. At 200.00 a night I would expect so much more ...feel ripped off and would not do this again

Room Tip: find a hotel in the area and give them your hard earned money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil N Milissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hello -

Thank you for your review of Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort.

I apologize that your stay was not what you were expecting. I have passed your comments onto our management and housekeeping staff. The doorknob and lock should have been fixed prior to your stay; this and the ants are unacceptable.

Regarding golf car traffic, our security staff works hard to maintain safety of our guests. We have reached the limit of golf cars (200) that we feel is safe and will most likely not be investing in more in the future.

I'm sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at laura@lakerudolph.com.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, PR Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    112
    46
    34
    17
See reviews for
248
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was my family first time at Holiday World! After looking at several hotels we decided on Lake Rudolph. We couldn't have made a better choice. The king size RV was kept clean! The staff was friendly. The location was perfect for the theme park, shuttle was a big plus! The only complaint was the paddle boats was damaged and each time we tried to rent the available ones they were being used!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in one of the standard rental rv's. It had plenty of space for the our family. This was the first time we had rented this type of accommodation. The campers do not come furnished with blankets, pillows, towels, sheets. You will have to bring your own. They do provide some dish soap and a dishcloth. I would also recommend renting a golf cart. Not only is it convenient it's a blast for the kids to ride in especially the golf cart parade. We loved the staff at the campground especially the security staff and the shuttle drivers. It's a great place for the family.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wkymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We've been to Holiday World before and always stayed in hotels nearby. This being our only trip this summer, we went for broke and rented a family cabin. My husband became sick on our first day at the park . We were able to go to our cabin to rest and leave our teens to ride all they wanted to and take the shuttle back later. We all used the shuttle the next day and never waited more than 5 minutes for it to come by. They even stopped at our door on the way back!
Love the family cabin-has more privacy than the R.V.s [ bigger lots] ,or the Christmas cabins.We didn't miss the T.V. or the big porch- our back porch with table and chairs and yard with picnic table, grill, and fire ring was more than adequate. The Golf Cart Parade was a hoot.
The camp store is limited ,but the prices are good. There's a supermarket practically at the entrance to the campground.
There were a few ants-well we have some of our own back home. I know there's a balance between poisoning ants and poisoning people that it can be hard to maintain. We didn't bother to report them until we were leaving. They seemed concerned, but we weren't there to see what they did about them. I'm sure they try to get rid of them. Everyone who works there is extremely nice
As far as the price goes, I guess it's not too high as all the cabins were full. The convenience of everyone being able to do what they want ,when they want , makes this a good deal. I was very glad not to be stuck either in a hotel room with whining teenagers or without a car while they returned to the park .
Bottom line , I wish we had stayed at Lake Rudolph on our previous trips. minna

Room Tip: Family cabins are good for families with teens, 4 mattresses in the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The cabin had ants. Very overpriced for what it was. We complained about the ants and someone came with bug spray and told us to spray and them give the can back. We were given a refund for 1 night after we cut our stay short due to the ants.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whirlwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hello -

Thank you for your review of Lake Rudolph. I apologize that your cabin had ants in it; that is unacceptable. I am also very sorry that our staff member simply brought the spray and did not handle this problem. I have passed your comments onto our management staff.

Again, please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, PR Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

My family has gone to Holiday World for years, and we've always stayed at hotels about an hour away from Santa Claus, between the park and our hometown. I've often been intrigued by the Lake Rudolph shuttle at the Holiday World gates. Like that was the special club. Full of cool kids who didn't have to trudge eight miles to their car in the parking lot.

Well, this year, we had a group of seven going--two married couples, an older lady, and two college-aged sisters. After reading some dismal reviews of area hotels, as well as hoping for a special experience, and granted my lifelong curiosity about Lake Rudolph, I looked into it. I immediately wanted a cabin. So badly. They're barely more than the rental RVs, and they look adorable, but they were totally booked.

So we decided to roll up our sleeves and try our hand at the Super King Size rental RV. It was so much fun! One couple took the king-size bedroom. The older lady took the couch (she could have easily enjoyed a bunk, but this allowed her some privacy, apart from late-night snackers in the kitchen). And the younger couple and the two college-aged girls took the other bedroom, which had a full size bed and four bunk beds. We did so much climbing around in this room. Easy entertainment! A fort-builder's paradise, even for twentysomethings.

The whole place was spotless. Space was a little limited in a normal, RV sort of way, but I found the close quarters oddly fun. The table was plenty big--it does, as advertised, seat six.

Fire pit and picnic table out front were great. Roasted some marshmallows, played some board games. Had no trouble getting wifi at our site. We stayed practically next door to Blitzen Bay, the pool area, but I never even had any trouble with noise.

And the convenient access to the free Holiday World shuttle stop cannot be underestimated! I had all these public transit horror stories built up in my head, fearing the shuttles would all be packed and we'd have to wait or something, but it was perfectly smooth sailing both ways, to and from the park.

A couple of us spent some time in the game room one evening and won two stuffed animals from the crane game! For all of its delicious hokiness, I love Santa Claus. It's like this happy alternate dimension in southern Indiana, where even the crane game, the longest-running scam of the arcade realm, doesn't rip you off.

Oh--and, as some other reviewers have mentioned, the Holiday Foods grocery across the street is very well-stocked and reasonable. And has an impressive supply of camping gear (firewood, s'more supplies), as does the camp store. You can save packing space by buying food, etc., when you get here.

If you have a group and are planning on paying for two $100 hotel rooms twenty miles down the road anyway--don't! Would definitely recommend even the king sized RV at Lake Rudolph. I can't wait to book ahead and try a cabin next time. I want a Christmas one! For all of the amenities--HW discount, free shuttle, plus kayaks and paddle boats and mini golf and all sorts of other things at little to no fee, you can do so much better with this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Very glad that you had a nice time. Thanks for the review!

Thank you,
Laura Barker, PR Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are going to go to holiday world they have a great shuttle service and just a nice area for camping or staying in one of there rentals this was our 5th year there

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank illinoisrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thanks for your review!

Thank you,
Laura Barker, PR Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
6.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tell City
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Huntingburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Tell City
Ramada Limited Tell City
#2 of 3 in Tell City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Property: Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Address: 78 N Holiday Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-8500
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the great outdoors by staying at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort in Santa Claus, Indiana. Voted one of the top ten favorite parks in North America and a two-time National RV Park of the Year, Lake Rudolph is the closest lodging and camping to Holiday World Theme Park & Splashin' Safari Water Park. Multiple family lodging options include over 270 Vacation Rentals (Cabins, Cottages & Rental RVs), and nearly 230 full hookup RV Sites and Tent Sites, including over 100 paved sites. Family fun amenities including Santa's SplashDown WaterPark, the giant Blitzen Bay swimming pool, playgrounds, basketball courts, horseshoe pits, fishing, paddleboats, kayaks, gem mining, mini golf, game room, camp store, Blitzen Kitchen Ice Cream & Pizza, family activities, and much more. Lake Rudolph is the perfect solution for your getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Rudolph Campground & Rv Hotel Santa Claus
Lake Rudolph Campground And Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing