We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first summer camping trip..very disappointed!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
clarksville, in
2 reviews
“first summer camping trip..very disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We decided to take a week vacation in June to holiday world and camp. We have camped here multiple times in October and were always pleased more or less. We arrived on a Saturday around 7 pm..we have 3 little ones so we could not wait to get out of the truck! Lol! We looked and looked for our site and realized we couldn't find it because someone was already in it! We had to wait hours for the staff to find the people who parked their camper there. I had to tell the staff multiple times that I wanted to speak to a manager ASAP. Finally we were directed to an empty site to wait while the people moved. It was nearly 930 before we were able to pull our camper to our site. My kids were starving and tired..and it was HORRIBLE! We were told we would be "taken care of" for our troubles. The next day the manager came to our site and handed us $40...NOT impressed!! We paid a good amount of money to stay here..and had rented a golf for the week..and had to buy season passes for 5 people! NOT A CHEAP TRIP! The pool was run down..as was all the pool furniture. Most was cracked and broken. We will never spend our summer vacate here again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spoulter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review about your stay with us at Lake Rudolph.

I am so sorry about the mix-up upon your arrival. I understand that you were extremely frustrated after your drive to arrive and have to deal with these issues. I apologize for the inconvenience. I have passed your comments onto our owner and management staff.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, PR Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    112
    46
    34
    17
See reviews for
248
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

My family and I stayed in a Christmas cabin for 2 nights. Overall our stay was very nice, but honestly, the cabin is not worth the price you pay per night. The mattresses are probably the worst we have ever experienced in any of our travels. The shower is useless if you are over 5 feet tall. They should really list the fact that the shower is no where near the size of any normal shower on their reservations page. It is smaller than the shower in most campers. I am 6' tall and literally could not use the shower. The ceiling is way to short for an adult to be at all comfortable. My Mom is 5'8" and had a hard time taking a shower in that bathroom. On the plus side, the cabin was clean and the site was very nice. The kids went swimming at the campground pool and had a great time. The gas grill and porch were a huge plus! Bottom line is, while we had a wonderful time, unless the prices would be drastically reduced, I would not recommend the Christmas cabins to any friends or family and I would not stay there again. These cabins are simply not worth the price... Especially when you have to bring all of your bedding and towels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leggieblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review about your stay with us at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort.

We appreciate your comments about the price of our Rudolph's Christmas Cabin, as well as difficulties you experienced with the shower. I have passed them onto our management staff.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, PR Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteland, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Do NOT rent an RV here. Our RV was old, smelled musty, the couch was crooked, we didn't dare sit on it....mattresses covered in stains, chunks of mattresses missing...ceiling air conditioner dumps water on the mattress! Scary, stinky, run-down dump. in BAD need of upgrading/renovating/etc. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Probably better off in a tent - at least you won't have to sleep in a musty old creepy run down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Indymom12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
I am very sorry that you were not pleased with your stay. Your comments about the condition of your rental RV have been passed onto our general manager and housekeeping manager.

To help us with this issue, could you please let me know which rental unit you stayed in? That way our staff can correct these problems. Please email me at laura@lakerudolph.com. I apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, PR Coordinator
Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft mitchell ky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed over Memorial weekend - one of their busiest of the year. We found the park to be very clean, the employees friendly and there was lots to do. The sites are a little close, but that's camping. They supply electric, water and dumping at each camp site. That was nice and convenient. We were in a pop-up, so it was nice to have water and electric right there. They rent golf carts so you can get around more easily, but certainly not necessary, as you can drive to the pool or the camp stores if you don't want to walk. The bathrooms were clean for the most part.

It's right next to Holiday World theme park and there is a shuttle that will take you to the front gate. Or you can walk if your campsite is on that side. There is a lake for fishing and peddle boats, ice cream and pizza, camp store with much of what you need, (there is a little grocery less than a mile away), there are activities for kids and adults, volleyball, large pool/baby pool, etc.

If you make reservations, be specific about what type of campsite you want. There are some that are not so level that we noticed. Or you can rent an RV or cabin but they are pricey. Campsites are $53 a nite....not cheap either.

We did have an issue with loud neighbors playing cornhole at 12:30AM. I called the front desk and Security actually answered - they took care of it minutes later. Believe it or not it happened two nights in a row. Also, in many parts of the campground, you can hear the roller coasters from Holiday World, from about 7:30AM to 8:30PM.

Room Tip: Ask about level campsite and noise from Holiday World.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ky_kat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesburg, Kentucky
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The campground was very nice and clean. The employees were very friendly. My kids loved decorating the golf cart and participating the glow parade. The shuttle pickups for Holiday World was great. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3connsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights tent camping at Lake Rudolph in May. No real surprises upon arrival as most of the reviews on this site are fairly accurate. The campground is very clean with well mantained facilities and friendly staff members.

We requested a tent site in the Dasher area which is conveniently located next to the swimming pool, bathrooms, and the shuttle to Holiday World. Since we were only staying a few nights, we did not rent a golf cart. However, the campground is HUGE and I would recommend renting one if you plan on exploring or are renting an RV or cabin (they tend to be further out). Most people had golf carts!

Since it wasn't technically summer season, not all the amenities were available during our stay. The shuttle service to Holiday World was great. We never waited more then 5 min and the pick up/drop off is right at the front gates.

Lake Rudolph is the perfect place to stay if visting Holiday World. I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpk1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

This Campground was wonderful. So clean! The shuttle was great and drops you right at the main gate of Holiday World. My family did the paddle boats and loved them. I woul highly recommend this campground. Stop at the Candy castle while you are in town....it's awesome too!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Familyfromil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
6.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tell City
4.8 mi away
Budget Host Stone's Motel
15.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Tell City
Ramada Limited Tell City
#2 of 3 in Tell City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Property: Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Address: 78 N Holiday Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-8500
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the great outdoors by staying at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort in Santa Claus, Indiana. Voted one of the top ten favorite parks in North America and a two-time National RV Park of the Year, Lake Rudolph is the closest lodging and camping to Holiday World Theme Park & Splashin' Safari Water Park. Multiple family lodging options include over 270 Vacation Rentals (Cabins, Cottages & Rental RVs), and nearly 230 full hookup RV Sites and Tent Sites, including over 100 paved sites. Family fun amenities including Santa's SplashDown WaterPark, the giant Blitzen Bay swimming pool, playgrounds, basketball courts, horseshoe pits, fishing, paddleboats, kayaks, gem mining, mini golf, game room, camp store, Blitzen Kitchen Ice Cream & Pizza, family activities, and much more. Lake Rudolph is the perfect solution for your getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Rudolph Campground & Rv Hotel Santa Claus
Lake Rudolph Campground And Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing