We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know what everyone is "fussing" about”
Review of Santa's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Claus
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I booked a room and then read the reviews. Needless to say, I was expecting to pay way too much money for a dump with no amenities. We encountered a very pleasant surprise. We booked a family suite (almost $200/night) and I think we ended up in the newly added part. The room was spacious (bathroom too) and updated. We had a large TV with DVD player, small area like a wet bar (sink, microwave, mini fridge, counter, cabinet and drawer). It was clean and well stocked with plenty of linens and toiletries. We did eat dinner at their restaurant after returning from Holiday World. Food wasn't great for the price but it was edible and staff was very nice. There is a pizza place across the street with a buffet of pizza and regular food such as fried chicken, soup, salad veggies and spaghetti for only 6.99, much cheaper than the lodge. Yes the lodge was noisy but of course it's full of excited kids. I never travel without my ear plugs. Pools were nice and clean and they continuously brought out fresh pool towels. I think the place is a little pricey but it is right by the park.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derbycitycindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 385 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2009

Tourist Trap should be the name of this place. There is no room once you walk into the doors and stand in line to check in during the afternoon. We went to our MOLD room and quickly went back to the front desk to see about another room. The receptionist was RUDE but offered three other rooms that we looked at before we choose one. One of the housekeepers gave directions to the best rooms in the hotel which are on the new addition, which we choose. The family suites are well overpriced with the worst beds. We choose the queen delux room with thick beds and it had a microwave and fridge. Our room was clean surprisingly since the housekeeping department was well under staffed. Luckily the lady who cleaned our floor told us that she doesn't care how long it takes to clean a room as long as it gets clean. The sheets on teh beds were thin and the pillows were one flat and one lumpy. The tv got seven channels and could be updated. Beware of walking in the hallways in the mornings as you will have to weave your way through the piles of sheets, blankets, and trash scattered throughout the halls. Don't bother asking for extra blamkets or pillows from this place as they are only washed if there are a stain on the blanket just like the comforters. The food in this place sucked for the buffet that did not include drinks. This place must make a killing during the summer and be DEAD in the winter. I guess if you were only payed minimum wage you wouldn't care too much about your job either.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradise1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED AT !!!!!!!!!! I payed $167.00 for a room with 2 full size beds & a coffeepot . The room was small & dirty. The indoor pool was to small & not any life (white walls,white chairs NO COLOR).The outside pool was to far away from hotal & you had to walk across rocks.I just couldn't believe the place.I have stayed in alot of hotals, from old,to new all over this country. My advise for this one is. FIND ANOTHER ONE!!!!!!! The isn't very good either, breakfast was $10.95 for buffuet(you wouldn't believe IT).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROADGIRL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My expectations when booking a room at Santa's Lodge were modest - and I found that too be excessively high. From the moment we walked in, we realized that this hotel was not about a hospitality service promise. The poor witless staff was clueless. Some were sullen, some rude, some quite friendly, all were untrained in the hospitality business. Busy answering the phone, they were all too busy to check in their guests. Rooms were an abomination: dirty, dirty, dirty. Holes in sheets and towels, no amenities beyond a sliver of soap and a tiny bottle of cheap shampoo, ripped upholstery, a strange orange stripe around the edge of the carpet that sure looked like mold (but we were told was not by an employee), dust on all the furniture and the TV - this was our room. We asked to see another room and that was just as bad. Presented as a room with a jacuzzi, the 'jacuzzi' was a bathtub in the living/sleeping area; the lighting was a sungle overhead light. Later in the evening, we went to the bar for a drink. The bartender laughingly told us that she'd been drinking all afternoon. It was probably useful then that the prices were marked on the liquor bottles in black marker. (My husband asked for a Glenlivet and she was unsure if it was part of her stock; happily, he was able to point it out to her.) The best part of this hotel? Check out. We checked into a 4-star hotel that evening in Indianapolis that cost 1/3 less than what we had paid at Santa's Lodge. The theme park is hugely popular with families but we would urge them to stay anywhere else than Santa's Lodge-Gone-Bad.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSCMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stayed one night in July, this past week, primarily for convenience in location and as I was only staying one night. All the investment from this company apparently went to the outside decorations and somewhat cheezy version for "holiday cheer" in the lobby. Very small children will love seeing the decorations I guess but in every other category this place is a tourist trap.

All amenities and fixtures in the rooms are very average at best and mostly cheap. From the peeling wallpaper, outdated TV, lack of cable offerings, torn fabric in chair, very small bathroom (toilet was impossibly close to the shower and had no lid, this place was just not good. The breakfast buffet had barely average food although polite service.

I paid $127 in total and that is with a promotional discount they were offering. I would confidently say this is about 40 - 50% over priced as Santa's Lodge is essentially a very budget (polite term) hotel masked in some superfluous decorations.

I will not be back and definitely would not recommend a stranger to stay there much less a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dador-Bala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Not much the rooms on the frount side are worn out. thats the ones they try to fill first ask for the new section. Rooms are very over priced. The resturanrt has about 4 items over price you can tell this is the only Hotel & Resturant in town they stick it two you. Next time I will stay ont the interstate about 5 mi. away & save save about half.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Upon arrival, Santa's Lodge was very clean and neat on the outside and our room was clean with updated furniture and bedding. The staff was extremely helpful and very pleasant. You could see Holiday World from the hotel and our kids really enjoyed Frosty's. We would definetly stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slk1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
94 reviews
5.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
15.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Rockport
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tell City
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa's Lodge

Address: 91 W Christmas Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-6123
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Claus
Price Range: $77 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyday is a Holiday when you stay at Santa’s Lodge. You’ll be welcomed at Santa’s Lodge with a vaulted lobby soaring 37 feet into the Southern Indiana skyline. The hand-hewn timbers are actually from the barn that stood on this same site in 1883. The beautiful cedar and oak wood creates a natural setting for our antique Christmas decorations including our Canadian horse-drawn sleigh! Our year-round Christmas décor and lodge setting will surround you with a sense of warmth and pleasure through our 170 guestrooms and suites.Located about a half mile away, we are the closest hotel to Holiday World and Splashin' Safari, home to three world class roller coasters and the number 2 water park in the world! We have a putt-putt mini golf course and arcade right across the street at Frosty's Fun Center. Our shelter house is located right next to the playground for a great picnic opportunity. Take time in the morning to relax on our deck overlooking the lake while eating breakfast from St. Nick's Restaurant.Our Family suites allow the parents to have a little privacy while vacationing with the kids in addition to giving you a little leg room to relax and spend quality time together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon and Booking.com so you can book your Santa's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa`s Hotel Santa Claus
Santas Hotel Santa Claus
Lodge Santas
Santas Santa Claus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing