We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Quilting Retreat”
Review of Santa's Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Claus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Claus
Palmyra, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for Quilting Retreat”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Large meeting room with excellent light. Service was great. Management came to check on us frequently to see if there was anything we needed and to tell us the menus in their restaurant. Beds were the best I have slept in in a hotel. Can really get you into the Christmas spirit with all the Christmas decor. When can we book again???

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry M, General Manager at Santa's Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comment. It was my pleasure to check on your group, and offer the specials of the day that we were serving at St. Nick's Restaurant. I look forward to your group coming again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    70
    85
    60
    84
See reviews for
249
27
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just spent three days and two nights at the Lodge. The accommodations were just fine. Nothing fancy, but clean and quiet. I heard from friends attending the retreat the hot tub was wonderful! Next time I'll plan time for that. We spent three days sewing in the Celebration Hall. Very nice space for a gathering. The lighting was good and 50 sewing machines running at full speed didn't blow a fuse! Larry checked in often through out the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with microwave and refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry M, General Manager at Santa's Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful things you said about us. Everyone in your group were so pleasant and wonderful to be around, all of the staff here are very excited about seeing your group come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, IN USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The service was good. The rooms were very nice with great beds. Everything was great. Had a really good time . The conference room was big with good lighting. We used it for are quilt retreat and had plenty of room for all our sewing things.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry M, General Manager at Santa's Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I wanted to take the time to say thank you for spending your time and talent with us here at Santa's Lodge. You have so many talented people at the retreat, I hope to see you booking again soon. I appreciate the kind words about our hotel and celbration room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a nice week end.the rooms were wonderful,bed was nice along with a Christmas themed decor.we used the celebration hall for our sewing weekend,the staff made sure we were well taken care of for our event..

Room Tip: There's a nice place too eat in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leroy N Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry M, General Manager at Santa's Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am glad that your group choose to spend your time with us. What a talented group of ladies you have quilting with you. I hope to see many more retreats in the future from such a wonderful group of people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The bathroom had hair on the floor and in the shower. There were bugs on the bathroom floor. There was sticky goo on the chair and table. The coffee had coffee still in the pot and there was coffee stains on top. The halls were filthy. The pool was cloudy. The restaurant did not serve menu as advertised on the website. It instead was replaced with a very poor buffet. Spoke to GM that was looked like he just came out of the kitchen. Tee-shirt and apron. VERY professional, NOT! No comp was even offered. We will NEVER stay there again. We would rather drive the extra miles to the park. Only redeeming quality was LOCATION.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, Front Office Manager at Santa's Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
First of all, thank you for taking time to review. It is through reviews like yours that we are able to find areas of improvement and work through them to bring the best possible guest experience.

Because we are a small hotel, many times management is required to fill different roles, even the less desirable ones that require us to be less presentable than if we were to fulfill our management roles on that particular day especially at breakfast on a Sunday. As the former restaurant manager has recently been promoted to GM, he is still helping fulfill some of the roles in that capacity.

We are improving our housekeeping department through more training and by hiring a new housekeeping manager.

It is my understanding that when this guest spoke to our staff, a conclusion was reached that she only wanted to bring the housekeeping items to our attention and was not seeking any further compensation. We did in fact refund the guest one night room and tax. The guest stated that she enjoyed her stay and just wanted to let us know of a few issues for future guests which we appreciate greatly. At that point, I believe the issue was resolved.

Our management gives our personal best to each of the hundreds of guests that join us for their special visit to Santa Claus each year. It is a joy to share in their fond memories. We hope you'll consider a stay at Santa’s Lodge for what it does offer visitors - a fully decorated lobby filled with the wonder of Christmas, a full service restaurant and bar and comfortable rooms in a great location in America’s Christmas Hometown of Santa Claus, IN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Claus hotels

Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

we had a fun time at the hotel and holiday world. the staff at the front desk was very nice to us. we the buffet and it was good. we will probably go back and do it again it was a lot of fun and the kids had a great time. my friends went last year and they told us about it so we went with them this and my family really like it. when we called to make reservations Andy was very helpful and made sure we got the best rate he could give us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, Front Office Manager at Santa's Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay amd look forward to you coming back again soon.

Don't forget that you don't have to wait for Holiday World to open to stay again as Santa Claus is America's Christmas Hometown and our Christmas packages are filled with so many fun things to do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Horrible experience for my family of four. First room featured a toilet that wouldn't flush. The "repair" man looked at it for two minutes, then told me to "go down to the front desk and ask them for a new room- don't worry, there won't be an additional charge." WHAT ???Then new room greeted us with a dead cockroach in the bathroom. Then I killed another cockroach on the sink in the middle of the night. After two more ran over my suitcase in the morning, we decided to leave. It took 25 minutes to get our money refunded. Then I got a call two weeks later that they accidentally RECHARGED our card but he caught it and they would again refund it.....ughh! We went to the Baymont in in Dale- much better! (and FYI- cheap pancake pillows, lousy beds, outdated room...but I could have lived with that!)

Room Tip: find another place to stay until new management takes over! It is a shame that this place with a pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, Front Office Manager at Santa's Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I would like to thank you for reviewing us. It is through reviews like yours that we can identify problem areas and address those concerns.

Larry is the new General Manager and I am the new Front Desk Manager. We are working hard to make necessary changes and fix issues that we have had.

I would like to first address the pest control issue you experienced. We have recently increased our pest control protocol to include room inspections on a weekly basis to prevent issues like you have experienced.

Regarding your intial complaint of the toilet not working properly, our maintenance manager does room inspections daily and tries to ensure that issues are handled correctly. Unfortunately, I understand this did not happen in your case. Furthermore I understand how this was not handled in the best possible way and for that I apologize on behalf of the staff here at Santa's Lodge.

I hope you can give us another chance in the future bring the Joy of Christmas to your travels.

Andy Hoffman
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
5.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
72 reviews
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Rockport
86 reviews
13.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Lewisport
25 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa's Lodge

Property: Santa's Lodge
Address: 91 W Christmas Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-6123
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyday is a Holiday when you stay at Santa’s Lodge. You’ll be welcomed at Santa’s Lodge with a vaulted lobby soaring 37 feet into the Southern Indiana skyline. The hand-hewn timbers are actually from the barn that stood on this same site in 1883. The beautiful cedar and oak wood creates a natural setting for our antique Christmas decorations including our Canadian horse-drawn sleigh! Our year-round Christmas décor and lodge setting will surround you with a sense of warmth and pleasure through our 170 guestrooms and suites.Located about a half mile away, we are the closest hotel to Holiday World and Splashin' Safari, home to three world class roller coasters and the number 2 water park in the world! We have a putt-putt mini golf course and arcade right across the street at Frosty's Fun Center. Our shelter house is located right next to the playground for a great picnic opportunity. Take time in the morning to relax on our deck overlooking the lake while eating breakfast from St. Nick's Restaurant.Our Family suites allow the parents to have a little privacy while vacationing with the kids in addition to giving you a little leg room to relax and spend quality time together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa`s Hotel Santa Claus
Santas Hotel Santa Claus
Lodge Santas
Santas Santa Claus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing