We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price gouging.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa's Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Claus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Claus
Marion, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the price gouging.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Room was the same price that you would expect out of a hyatt, hilton, or marriot... but the quality was the polar opposite of what you would get from those brands. The bed was horribly uncomfortable, I barely slept. The whole place smells stale. The pools were nice, except they were dirty and they don't enforce rules. There were unsupervised children misbehaving and being dangerous the whole time. There was no option for breakfast other than they're overpriced buffet, and there are almost no restaurants or any type of option for food once you're in the area.

My experience is that it's way more worth it to stay a bit further out and just drive to Holiday World the next morning.

Very dissapointed and felt extremely taken advantage.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuneTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    69
    85
    59
    84
See reviews for
248
27
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, UT
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Santa's Lodge probably has the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. Helpful and genuinely interested in their guests' comfort. The hotel is nicely located, conveniently close to Holiday World, and the Santa theme fits in well with the community and surroundings. The hot breakfast buffet seemed like a pretty good deal if you are partial to fried, starchy foods, and the biscuits and gravy were delicious.

That said, however, the hotel seriously needs some re-furbishing and updating, inside and out. It was probably clean enough, but the carpets, bedspreads, and other furnishings just have too much age on them and the room just didn't look and smell as "fresh" as we would like. The double queen room was a little on the small side, there was no computer desk, and the wifi connection was slow and unreliable. The bathroom area was tight and crowded and the walls are obviously too thin, as the guy snoring in the room next door made it hard for me to go to sleep.

I would stay here again, but I also hope that the owners/management soon update and freshen up the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joes_CV_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel is perfectly located for any travelers visiting the nearby Holiday World/Splashin' Safari attractions. It is a pretty looking lodge set next to a small lake. The Christmas themed lobby and outdoor decor was cute, as well. The rooms, however, were average with small bathrooms. Please keep in mind that the high (well, at least to me) price for this hotel is strictly due to the great location. If you'd like to pay a little more for an average hotel based on its proximity to Holiday World, then this is the hotel for you.

Also, we were hoping to get a connecting room with the rest of our family, but when we booked over the phone, we were told they did not have any. When we arrived, we were surprised to see a door in our room leading to another room. However, when we inquired about it, we were told that although the doors are there, they were permanently sealed shut a few years ago. This is just something to keep in mind if you require a connecting room.

One other tip: we checked in right after Holiday World closed, which was definitely a busy time for them. If you can check in earlier or later than the park's closing time, I'm sure it would make the check-in process much faster.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMusic_City_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We arrived late on a Friday evening and when we opened the door to our room we instantly smelled a musty, old odor. The room seemed to be clean, but the odor was foul. I, being the OCD that I am, checked the room for bed bugs (because they put off a musty smell) and other rodents before I let my family come in. I saw no signs of them, thankfully! That being said, two days later we found a bug in a yogurt cup that was placed on the bed. UGH!!! We quickly checked out and told the woman at the front desk about the bug. Her real concern was that we received our bill under the door of our room that morning. She did ask where the bug was found and we were told that an exterminator and management would be notified. We asked that they give us a courtesy call to let us know what they found so that we could be prepared to deal with the WORST!! She told me that someone would call and we never heard anything more from them. We wouldn't stay here again and if you do your taking a risk! They are very convenient to Holiday World which is the only positive thing I can say!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Claus hotels

Fort Knox, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband was home for RR for two weeks after being in Afghanistan for the past 8 months. We wanted to take the family to Holiday World and stay close because of the little ones. Since this was the closest, was it worth to spend $139 a night for location, and expect a decent hotel? Not at all.
They advertise as a themed hotel, but only had a few decorations in the lobby. The original room they gave us had such an odor and stains on the rug...smelt like sewage. The next room was somewhat better. Still runned down. The indoor pool was cold and needing repairs.

Consumers beware they have a 72 hour cancellation policy therefore we couldn't cancel when we saw it. They didn't even provide the little things like a pen or pad in the room and did not refresh toiletries knowing we were staying for 2 nights with 4 people in our room. Not worth the money

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Old hotel in need of updating...yes. Overpriced...yes. Clean...yes. Convenience to Holiday World...incredible. We stayed one night in a queen standard room. Beds were fine. Pillows were thin. Very clean room with great water pressure in shower. We ordered a pizza at Frosty's for dinner which was surprisingly good. We did not use the pools but did wander around and they looked clean. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet at St. Nick's restaurant left a lot to be desired. Bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy were okay. Hashbrowns and eggs...not so much. Cereals were also available. Canned fruit was the only fruit choice on the buffet and there were no bread options..muffins, bagels, etc... $8.95 was way too much to pay for the buffet. Would I stay here again? Yes, but only because of the convenience to Holiday World. Santa's Lodge is the only hotel anywhere close to the park. Not a bad experience overall and we did get a good night's rest. But the rooms should be half the price they are. Christmas decorations in the lobby and grounds were fun, but again in serious need of updating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoogaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The garbage over flows in the lobby bathrooms. Garbage cans in the hallways were not changed all weekend. THE BEDS ARE THE TINIEST BEDS EVER! OUR FIRST ROOM SMELLED SO BAD WE REFUSED IT AND THE SECOND ROOM WASN'T MUCH BETTER! We were told the manager was not on duty Friday night and Saturday morning there was a line waiting to talk to him! It's a shame. This could be such a great place if they bothered to put the money they are charging for room (WAY OVERPRICED!) back into the place. Holiday world was fabulous, but I would DEFINATELY drive the extra miles and stay in a better hotel The only nice thing I can say was it had hot water, but don't expect soap and shampoo the second night you stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamstance7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
5.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tell City
4.8 mi away
Budget Host Stone's Motel
15.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa's Lodge

Property: Santa's Lodge
Address: 91 W Christmas Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-6123
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyday is a Holiday when you stay at Santa’s Lodge. You’ll be welcomed at Santa’s Lodge with a vaulted lobby soaring 37 feet into the Southern Indiana skyline. The hand-hewn timbers are actually from the barn that stood on this same site in 1883. The beautiful cedar and oak wood creates a natural setting for our antique Christmas decorations including our Canadian horse-drawn sleigh! Our year-round Christmas décor and lodge setting will surround you with a sense of warmth and pleasure through our 170 guestrooms and suites.Located about a half mile away, we are the closest hotel to Holiday World and Splashin' Safari, home to three world class roller coasters and the number 2 water park in the world! We have a putt-putt mini golf course and arcade right across the street at Frosty's Fun Center. Our shelter house is located right next to the playground for a great picnic opportunity. Take time in the morning to relax on our deck overlooking the lake while eating breakfast from St. Nick's Restaurant.Our Family suites allow the parents to have a little privacy while vacationing with the kids in addition to giving you a little leg room to relax and spend quality time together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa`s Hotel Santa Claus
Santas Hotel Santa Claus
Lodge Santas
Santas Santa Claus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing