We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Claus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa's Lakeside Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Santa's Cottages were an ideal place to stay in Santa Claus, Indiana!!! So very clean and very much there to keep children busy...so well kept! Family friendly!!! I was there with my daughter and her 4 children. They loved feeding the fish, swimming in the pool. We didn't have time to play at the playground but it was also well kept and inviting. One grandson even caught 2 fish and was thrilled!!! The price seemed perhaps a little on the high side, but considering the extra things to do there...
I hope we can go back...or maybe just my husband and I for a quiet place to enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boiler69_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 365 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great place to stay for family. only improvements....dishwashers in every unit! Don't do the dumb extra cost for linens, just include it in your price. folks are great to work with. Music piped into the pool area at all times would be great. every unit also needs an oven.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mama6Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We really enjoyed a one night stay. The only down sides, IMO are paying extra for linens, including sheets and towels. Because a one bedroom is already $190 a night in peak season. Not a cheap stay. We brought our own. :) Still fairly worth it though. It is a lot nicer place than the Santa's Lodge. If you come here and drive, bring your own fishing pole, linens and all you need for grille or firepit. We just used the grille as our fire pit because I was not in to paying $5 for wood for a short fire pit time. But it is a great place for families. The family who owns this place works very hard and you can tell they put a lot of time and energy into it. The cottages like Cedar Tree etc... are on a side of the road with more traffic. Just know this is not pictured on their website. I didn't hear a lot of traffic noise but on Monday morning, my kids did from where they slept in the main living area. If you want to stay close to Holiday World, this is the best choice in my opinion.

Room Tip: If you can stay on the side closer to the pool and main office, it's not close to the highway or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We've been coming to Santa's Cottages every summer for 3 years in a row and plan to do it again next year. Our first trip was in CupidA with spouse and toddler. Second trip expanded to include some extended family and was in Rudolph Stable. This year there were 8 of us and we stayed in Christmas Bell which is one of the largest properties, holding up to 10 people. We had plenty of room for our group of 3 adults, 2 teenagers, and 3 younger ones.
The cabin was great - lots of space, clean, all of the comforts of home, and decorated in a really festive way. I liked this location on the grounds because it was right next to the playground and new basketball court, so the kids could easily wander over there and still be within our sight while sitting on the patio or around the fire pit. The only downside was the location along the pond. It's the smaller pond and at the very end, so they didn't get much action when fishing or trying to feed the fish. We did however have some visitors one morning. There was a mom and 11 baby ducks that came up to our patio to great us. They were obviously very socialized already, but once the bucket of fish food came out and we tossed them a few pellets, they were really happy. They got to the point of eating right out of the kids' hands. Adorable!
We'd been traveling for 4 days prior to the 3 night stay here and did some laundry on the first night. It was so nice to be able to pack lighter knowing that was an option. 2 washers at $1.75/load and 2 dryers at $0.50/load in the laundry room next to the pool - convenient as well if you have anyone swimming and you want to throw a load in the wash. Bring your own detergent or supplies are available in the office.
The kitchen was stocked with almost everything we needed. One note - you may want to bring plastic baggies or wrap or some sort of tupperware container if you plan to prepare any meals and might have leftovers.
They do provide plates, bowls, cups (including coffee mugs and plastic wine glasses), can opener, utensils, wine opener, paper towel, etc. We brought our own fire skewers - not sure what your options are there if you don't have those packed.
It's literally 2 minutes down the road to get to Holiday World and the small town of Santa Claus, IN. We extended our stay to 3 nights this year just so we could have a bit of extra "down time" at the cabins. Such a wonderful place where we've made great memories. The kids talk about it year-round and look forward to our next vacation!

Room Tip: Base your room choice on your size of party and what you are wanting to do at the property . . . the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amylister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved it here!!!! It felt like home and we didn't want to leave. The kids loved fishing off the porch, having a nice fire to roast hot dogs and marshmallows, playing at Elf Park, free dvds to watch, the pool and the peacefulness of nature. This is one place we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What an adorable place! This was our first time staying at the Cottages and we were certainly impressed and pleased. The Cottages are cute, clean and a nice place to stay. Of course we were in the area for Holiday World, and the location to the park could not be beat- so close! My kids had so much fun fishing, feeding the ducks, swimming in the new pool, and playing laser tag in the grassy area. The only think I would suggest is to remind guests to bring kitchen towels and bath hand towlels and salt & pepper- I would have thought these items would have been available and was bummed when they were not. Also- pillows are in the cabins, something I would have liked knowing. In all, a great place for great family memories!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a very relaxing vacation. Cabins are clean, comfortable, and cute! So much better than a hotel! The owners are so friendly and helpful. They are out driving on golf carts checking on everyone or you can run up to the office and get anything you need.
Plenty to do for the kids!
They have several great playgrounds! Tire swings, huge sandbox area, slides, playhouse, as well as a very nice pool and splash pad. Oh, and free DVD check out in the office!!
We ate every meal at our cabin when we weren't at holiday world- which is 2 minutes away.
And holiday world is great also!
Can't wait to come back to santas cottages!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkansasfamilytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
2.3 mi away
Santa's Lodge
Santa's Lodge
#1 of 1 in Santa Claus
389 reviews
5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ferdinand
Comfort Inn Ferdinand
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Rockport
91 reviews
17.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa's Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa's Lakeside Cottages

Address: 1405 W Christmas Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-6028
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Santa Claus
Price Range: $99 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming lakefront cottages on 2.6 acre lake in Santa Claus Indiana. The whole family can comfortably spend a great vacation enjoying the area attractions of Holiday World and Splashin Safari, Lincoln State Park and Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial, golfing at Christmas Lake Golf Course, or enjoying the beauty of rural southern Indiana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa`s Lakeside Cottages Hotel Santa Claus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing