We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Claus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa's Lakeside Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We really enjoyed a one night stay. The only down sides, IMO are paying extra for linens, including sheets and towels. Because a one bedroom is already $190 a night in peak season. Not a cheap stay. We brought our own. :) Still fairly worth it though. It is a lot nicer place than the Santa's Lodge. If you come here and drive, bring your own fishing pole, linens and all you need for grille or firepit. We just used the grille as our fire pit because I was not in to paying $5 for wood for a short fire pit time. But it is a great place for families. The family who owns this place works very hard and you can tell they put a lot of time and energy into it. The cottages like Cedar Tree etc... are on a side of the road with more traffic. Just know this is not pictured on their website. I didn't hear a lot of traffic noise but on Monday morning, my kids did from where they slept in the main living area. If you want to stay close to Holiday World, this is the best choice in my opinion.

Room Tip: If you can stay on the side closer to the pool and main office, it's not close to the highway or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
308
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We've been coming to Santa's Cottages every summer for 3 years in a row and plan to do it again next year. Our first trip was in CupidA with spouse and toddler. Second trip expanded to include some extended family and was in Rudolph Stable. This year there were 8 of us and we stayed in Christmas Bell which is one of the largest properties, holding up to 10 people. We had plenty of room for our group of 3 adults, 2 teenagers, and 3 younger ones.
The cabin was great - lots of space, clean, all of the comforts of home, and decorated in a really festive way. I liked this location on the grounds because it was right next to the playground and new basketball court, so the kids could easily wander over there and still be within our sight while sitting on the patio or around the fire pit. The only downside was the location along the pond. It's the smaller pond and at the very end, so they didn't get much action when fishing or trying to feed the fish. We did however have some visitors one morning. There was a mom and 11 baby ducks that came up to our patio to great us. They were obviously very socialized already, but once the bucket of fish food came out and we tossed them a few pellets, they were really happy. They got to the point of eating right out of the kids' hands. Adorable!
We'd been traveling for 4 days prior to the 3 night stay here and did some laundry on the first night. It was so nice to be able to pack lighter knowing that was an option. 2 washers at $1.75/load and 2 dryers at $0.50/load in the laundry room next to the pool - convenient as well if you have anyone swimming and you want to throw a load in the wash. Bring your own detergent or supplies are available in the office.
The kitchen was stocked with almost everything we needed. One note - you may want to bring plastic baggies or wrap or some sort of tupperware container if you plan to prepare any meals and might have leftovers.
They do provide plates, bowls, cups (including coffee mugs and plastic wine glasses), can opener, utensils, wine opener, paper towel, etc. We brought our own fire skewers - not sure what your options are there if you don't have those packed.
It's literally 2 minutes down the road to get to Holiday World and the small town of Santa Claus, IN. We extended our stay to 3 nights this year just so we could have a bit of extra "down time" at the cabins. Such a wonderful place where we've made great memories. The kids talk about it year-round and look forward to our next vacation!

Room Tip: Base your room choice on your size of party and what you are wanting to do at the property . . . the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amylister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved it here!!!! It felt like home and we didn't want to leave. The kids loved fishing off the porch, having a nice fire to roast hot dogs and marshmallows, playing at Elf Park, free dvds to watch, the pool and the peacefulness of nature. This is one place we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What an adorable place! This was our first time staying at the Cottages and we were certainly impressed and pleased. The Cottages are cute, clean and a nice place to stay. Of course we were in the area for Holiday World, and the location to the park could not be beat- so close! My kids had so much fun fishing, feeding the ducks, swimming in the new pool, and playing laser tag in the grassy area. The only think I would suggest is to remind guests to bring kitchen towels and bath hand towlels and salt & pepper- I would have thought these items would have been available and was bummed when they were not. Also- pillows are in the cabins, something I would have liked knowing. In all, a great place for great family memories!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a very relaxing vacation. Cabins are clean, comfortable, and cute! So much better than a hotel! The owners are so friendly and helpful. They are out driving on golf carts checking on everyone or you can run up to the office and get anything you need.
Plenty to do for the kids!
They have several great playgrounds! Tire swings, huge sandbox area, slides, playhouse, as well as a very nice pool and splash pad. Oh, and free DVD check out in the office!!
We ate every meal at our cabin when we weren't at holiday world- which is 2 minutes away.
And holiday world is great also!
Can't wait to come back to santas cottages!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkansasfamilytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmg77
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My 3 kids are already asking to go back. We loved the cabin and property and made a great family memory here! We especially liked the stocked lake and fire pit. Pool was very nice, as well. Very convenient to Holiday World and the state park. We are already planning another trip here soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at the cottages June 29-July 2nd, and when it was time to leave, we didn't want to! This was our first time there, and we had the best time! The cottage that we stayed at, was so adorable and super clean. Everyone that worked there was nice. It was very peaceful and relaxing. We were going to go to Holiday World, but us and our kids decided to stay at the cottages the whole time. Our 10 year old daughter, said it was better than Disney World! She loved fishing. Our 4 year old, said he didn't want to leave, because he liked it there. We are definitely going to be staying there next summer! We might even make it a tradition every summer!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal Markowich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
5.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
73 reviews
8.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Rockport
86 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Huntingburg
107 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa's Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa's Lakeside Cottages

Property: Santa's Lakeside Cottages
Address: 1405 W Christmas Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-6028
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming lakefront cottages on 2.6 acre lake in Santa Claus Indiana. The whole family can comfortably spend a great vacation enjoying the area attractions of Holiday World and Splashin Safari, Lincoln State Park and Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial, golfing at Christmas Lake Golf Course, or enjoying the beauty of rural southern Indiana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa`s Lakeside Cottages Hotel Santa Claus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing