We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting Stop”

Saint Meinrad Archabbey
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Stop”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is one of only 2 Archabbey's in the country. Very neat to happen upon this in a small town. We were able to walk around and take photos. On the weekend there is a guided tour, during the week its self-guided. The brochure gave good directions as to where to walk and what we were looking at. It was amazing to see the architecture and paintings inside. The pipe organ was awesome to see. Peaceful place to take a moment out of your day to reflect. You can also watch during prayer services or participate in mass there at certain times. Worth the drive to see this place. Very unique. Monks still live here as well as run several businesses. FREE

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank midnitefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and retreat!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My daughter was left for the One Bread One Cup retreat and I spent one night in Benet Hall the night before I had to pick her up to take her back home. Beautiful grounds to have walks (just bring OFF! due to the woods.) It is quiet and refreshing to just have quiet time. The cell reception is not too good so it's the perfect reason to leave your cellphone in your room. The OBOC retreat for teens was an awesome retreat not like the "one size fits all style" retreats but it's more personal. I would highly recommend any retreat at the abbey and stay at the guest house!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjmoorememphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“beautiful look”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went there to take a picture outside and walk around, when we want to enter the church, the door is locked, so can't see the inside, but the outside environment is quite good. There is a lake as well, but we forgot to walk to that side. There is a tour at 1:30pm each Sat. Also there is self-guided tour. But not sure the details as we didn't notice that at that time, we know it only when we come back and looking at the information leaflet. You can get the tour information from the gift shop or guest house. It also provide accommodation to people, but not sure the price as we didn't live there. Anyway, it's a nice place to take a look and spend some time to walk around and relax.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ELKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quiet!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

it was a wonderfully peaceful visit! It's really beautiful! The ground are kept so beautiful, & the buildings are just as amazing to look at!

Helpful?
Thank BeckyH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
202 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“This is a great place to visit!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

St. Meinrad Archabbey is a wonderful place to visit. The church is beautiful inside and out. The monks have daily Mass and daily prayer in the church. The scenic southern Indiana hills are a perfect backdrop to this quiet getaway.

St. Meinrad is numerous retreats throughout the year; the guest house is new and comfortable.

The gift shop at the bottom of the hill has lots of great Catholic books, jewelry, candles, and much more.

A great place for individuals, couples, families and friends to spend time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ordeal_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Meinrad Archabbey also viewed

 

Been to Saint Meinrad Archabbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing