We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveler rating
480
26
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
480
26
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool game drives our honeymoon sri lanka yala national park sloth bear per day our waiter safari ranger main pool his knowledge decking area knowledgeable guide mini bar wild boar every meal special shout
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful hotel with a staff that was incredible. Just spent two nights here on the all inclusive safari package. It was wonderful. The room was one of the nicest I have ever stayed in, the staff unbelievably friendly and the safari great fun. The food was also great and some of the best we had in Sri Lanka. Unfortunately, the closest block of the park is closed at this time of the year and the safari trips required a LONG drive, but the guide took great care to make sure we saw as much as possible on each drive. Highly recommend and worth a splurge.

Room tip: villa 1 and 2 have views of the ocean
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S5871DNdianeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To kick off this review and just to be perfectly clear: we just can't praise this lodge enough! This place is an unbelievable slice of heaven.

We spent two nights at the Yala Chena Huts - this is a truly amazing lodge: everything is perfect, from the rooms with the on-deck pools to the truly attentive staff. The location is breathtaking, nestled between the national park and the ocean and the restaurant is outstanding, offering a varied and changing menu of fresh, delicious food.

We went on a highly successful evening game drive with one of the lodge's rangers as well as a driver - we were lucky enough to see two young leopards stalking at sunset, something we had not seen over many safaris in Africa.

We highly recommend the Chena Huts - thank you to the F.O.M. Prasad and his team for taking such good care of us!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lukasp144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is not cheap but it is worth the money: the scenery is incredible, the service impeccable, the food delicious, the design is super unique. Plus, you are immersed in the jungle, with the chance of seeing elephants, monkeys, birds, squirrels and more around the room or during breakfast. The staff is very attentive and kind, the safari is a great experience. Take a walk with the rangers in the jungle at early morning if you can. And a dinner on the beach by candlelight is a must! Truly unique, really recommended. Magical!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Antonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

We visited Chena Huts for three nights recently and had a great stay. The huts are great. Well maintained and comfortable. The plunge pool was great. Each day the we had our room serviced and turn down service. For each day you stay, they do six pieces of laundry. This was great for us since we were on our last part of our trip and were in desparate need of clean clothing. Sun downer, cocktails and snacks, was a great way to wind down the day. Two safari drives are included each day. These were great experiences.The service was exellent, the property was wonderful, it was a great way to wrap up our 20th anniversary trip to Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abigailb782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

I recently visited Chena Huts with my family just a few week ago and it was one of the best hotel experiences i have ever had.

I was a little nervous about it at first because the cost was much higher than some of the other nearby properties, but after staying it was worth every dollar and then some.

From the start of our trip, we were welcomed so warmly by the staff and taken to our beautiful villas. My parents stayed in Villa #1 and their villa had a view of the ocean that was stunning, While our room didnt have an ocean view, it matched in tasteful decor and ample space to truly relax and unwind.

As soon as we had a minute to settle, we reconvened at the incredible pool with a jade green tile floor that really made it pop. We enjoyed drinks while playing in the waterfall feature.

We then enjoyed a well prepared lunch with delicious food and fresh fruit cocktails. After being well fed, we got introduced to ur safari guide and then made our way onto our game drive.

Our game drive was perfect, the vehicle was comfortable and it was just the right amount of time. Our guide was informative and approachable and he helped us locate 4 leopards and plenty of elephants.

We then end our game drive with sundowners overlooking the ocean. we then had a little downtown to clean up before dinner where we enjoyed another meal.

We ended our stay with an amazing sri lankan breakfast and soaking up the views of the ocean before heading out.

We will always remember the amazing time that we had and we really hope to come back to visit with more of our friends and family.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amitism2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews