We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, good service, great drinks.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thirty-Six Saloon

Thirty-Six Saloon
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good service, great drinks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

However, the food was only okay. I had a pulled pork sandwich. I don't know how the kitchen managed but it was salty. I think they must smoke it then shred and store in a pan of broth. My friend's cheeseburger was well done - too well done. Another friend had onion rings fresh from the freezer, then fried and brought to her. I expect that from Dairy Queen but a restaurant like this should bread their own.. It's a shame the food isn't better. It's a fun atmosphere and the service was good.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanlikestoeatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    78
    24
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taylorville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went as a large group, multiple dining areas, rustic atmosphere. Staff very friendly and attentive, very reasonable prices and good food. Plan on going there on my next trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Been twice for lunch! Lunch and dinner menu fit on a 5x7 card. Not a good sign. Food average! Was not crowded but servers slow and not friendly or helpful! Place is cool but that's the best thing about it!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1tinsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyesville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big town saloon in small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Thirty-Six Saloon is a landmark in Rockville. It has grown into a great watering hole with food. Management has steadily improved the decor and atmosphere that I would put up against any big city same type venue. Now it's time to work on the menu! I love to go and have a beer but would appreciate a little better quality to the menu. Just notch it up a bit--a better quality ribeye sandwich (not the paper thin current one). How about a "fresh" salad, something fresh and fun? And, I really really really would like a little dessert---shooters would be perfect!
If you want somewhere to go, have a sandwich, drink a beer or two, this is a great place to head for.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good all round atmosphere. The rib eye steak was pretty good too? We enjoyed the service and the relaxing atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirty-Six Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Thirty-Six Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing