We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wonderful Hidden Gem

This is a must see. The museum is located on the fairgrounds in Rockport IN. It is made up of the... read more

Reviewed June 14, 2018
Sherlock6142
,
Cincinnati, Ohio
via mobile
Very informative

We enjoyed our visit. The video recreation of Abraham Lincoln's boyhood was very informative. The... read more

Reviewed June 3, 2018
Timothy V
,
Muncie, Indiana
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
10
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
10
6
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

This is a must see. The museum is located on the fairgrounds in Rockport IN. It is made up of the museum, and about a dozen log buildings. These buildings were moved to the museum location and reconstructed there. The buildings range from simple log cabins to stores to inns and even a law office. The buildings are set up to display what life was like back in the day. You are free to roam about the grounds at your own pace. You are not rushed because the next tour leaves in 15 minutes. I spent over a hour going from building to building, and seeing some of them more than once.

The museum itself displays items from WW I and WW II as well as the civil war. There are some things regarding the Lincoln family, but at it's heart this is a great museum with a wide selection of historic items to view.

As with many smaller museums, this one struggles to pay the bills. Depending on your level of historic interest, I would allow 2 to 3 hours to see the place. Please consider leaving a monetary contribution. I know they would appreciate it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Sherlock6142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

We enjoyed our visit. The video recreation of Abraham Lincoln's boyhood was very informative. The ground are easy to walk.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Timothy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

I have drove by this museum many times. Today, my daughter and I, decided to stop in and view the museum. I was very impressed. There were several pieces inside the museum that the volunteer said the Smithsonian has been trying to acquire. There are some great local pieces as well as Lincoln Artifacts inside. In the back area, there is a small town of cabins and buildings. The Kentuckian movie was filmed here. There is also a neat civil war exhibit on display. Take the time to visit this hidden gem. They only take cash.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank oakley1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016

Have been here several times. The Museum is really nice but my favorite is the living farm as it would have been during Lincoln's day. People dressed in period attire tending the farm and working in the cabin to talk with guests as you look around. Kids and adults will both like it. Don't miss out hiking at the state park across the highway while you're here.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2016

Abraham Lincoln spent his formative years in the Rockport area of Indiana. Not too many people know this. My ancestors are from Rockport and this trip to see the area was exciting. Any one interested in studying Lincoln shoud spend some time here. The museum and "village" is typical, needs some money to keep up, but has some really unique and special items on display. GO!

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews