We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slappy's Rib Shack

Slappy's Rib Shack
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We got a half slab of ribs, half a chicken, baked beans and potato salad. The only bad thing is that the potato salad tasted like it was bought from a grocery store. Everything else was excellent. They need to be on the KC Masterpiece BBQ Cookoff show. I would have paid more if the asked.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyrose28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food; terrible management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The management of this place is incredibility unprofessional and unless you are a member of his small circle of friends you should expect to be treated poorly. I have even heard he swore at a ex-school teacher at her 60th birthday party. This came after he showed a video with nudity with a bunch of kids around. It is too bad because they have pretty good food

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeremy_J278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Ribs and Smoked Chicken Wings Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Never had smoked chicken wings...they were out of this world and huge! And the ribs....some of the best I have ever had!
We are from MA and have children in TN and Austin and I have never had better ribs....definitely a 5 out of 5!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macy, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Always excellent tasting food. No complaints here, but wish they had an eat-in dining room as well as take away. The building they are in doesn't support that type of atmosphere though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank macytaxlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slappy's Rib Shack also viewed

 

Been to Slappy's Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing