We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME”
Review of Slappy's Rib Shack

Slappy's Rib Shack
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We got a half slab of ribs, half a chicken, baked beans and potato salad. The only bad thing is that the potato salad tasted like it was bought from a grocery store. Everything else was excellent. They need to be on the KC Masterpiece BBQ Cookoff show. I would have paid more if the asked.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyrose28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food; terrible management”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The management of this place is incredibility unprofessional and unless you are a member of his small circle of friends you should expect to be treated poorly. I have even heard he swore at a ex-school teacher at her 60th birthday party. This came after he showed a video with nudity with a bunch of kids around. It is too bad because they have pretty good food

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeremy_J278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Ribs and Smoked Chicken Wings Ever!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Never had smoked chicken wings...they were out of this world and huge! And the ribs....some of the best I have ever had!
We are from MA and have children in TN and Austin and I have never had better ribs....definitely a 5 out of 5!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macy, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Always excellent tasting food. No complaints here, but wish they had an eat-in dining room as well as take away. The building they are in doesn't support that type of atmosphere though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank macytaxlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slappy's Rib Shack also viewed

 

Been to Slappy's Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing