We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed that the restaurant, pub was closed and overgrown by weeds and rooms were outdated and old!”
Review of The Courtyard - CLOSED

The Courtyard
Restaurant details
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
281 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very disappointed that the restaurant, pub was closed and overgrown by weeds and rooms were outdated and old!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Only thing this place has going for it is the view of Ohio River. It was overgrown by weeds and the courtyard itself had old plastic tableclothed tables in a mosquito infested overgrown weed garden:( Inside Room #5 found old outdated furnishings with an old broken coffee maker:( Restaurant and Pub were permanently closed which left nothing invitingin the area for dining:( Casino nearby has a new hotel but we wanted a quiet romantic getaway. It was quiet because no one else was there on Saturday night:( I would suggest going on down the river to Belterra Casino. It's obvious the owners have list the passion and money to maintain this once nicely appointed venue:(

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, convenient and reasonable”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Courtyard, staff is always helpful and friendly, and great view of the river. We go every year for the Bean Festival, quaint small town festival, with good entertainment. We had a (2) bedroom suite this year that we shared with our friends. It had everything we needed and more, although it definitely could stand some updating, for the price it was unbeatable. Back door opens out onto the courtyard where there is outside dining. We have eaten at the Underground Pub several times and always had great service and good food. I always look forward to the Stuffed Mushrooms, and their Filet Mignon is some of the best I've ever had. A short walk to town and also the casino or they will call a shuttle to take you there. All around, this is a great place to stay, we will definitely be back next year, or maybe before.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nan_43324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We take a 200i mile road trip at least twice a year along the eastern Indiana/Kentucky portion of the Ohio River. Destination? A Monterey Chicken Sandwich and fries at the Courtyard. Great ride, great food, wonderful history.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PostInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The outdoor atmospere was really nice. Tables in a courtyard with live music and umbrellas. The food was a little less than average. I do feel like my marinated chicken came out of a freezer box. You just don't get not one but two perfectly sized totally flat chicken breasts that aren't in shrink wrap. Otherwise, it was pleasant and the servers were nice. I would appreciate fresh food though. I can throw meat in a microwave.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank penny585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This place has a little bit of everything!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I liked the fact that there is an inn right above the restaurant and this place kept me from needing a cab! I was able to rent a room at a great rate and get some dinner and drinks. When I was ready to leave I had an excellent view of the river. When I was ready to go gamble there was a shuttle ready to pick me up and take me to the casino! The chicken salad sandwich is awesome!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa62198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courtyard also viewed

 
Rising Sun, IN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing