We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice RV park”

Little Farm on the River
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rising Sun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Farm on the River
Kilgore, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice RV park”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the little farm on the river. Check in was great with friendly people. Sites that are river front are very level but do have standing water when it rains. Showers are not that great but ok. They are private but need to be updated. I did drive around the pond part of the park and these sites are not all as level but do have shade which the river side does not. We are here during the week so not much going on. Seemingly weekends are when everything gets going. Visit the creation museum. It is very close and has lots to see and learn.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jhjhjhjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This week we took our first family vacation, the excitement was high. I saw this place advertised on the Creation museum website and saw some positive reviews on Google so thought it was going to be great. We got there in the dark, the lighting was almost non existent. We drove around twice trying to find our place. We could not see the road and accidently drove in an empty campsite and got stuck in thick mud. We had to trek through the mud with four little ones to the cabin. The lighting was so poor we could hardly see the road. Trying to avoid stepping in big puddles was almost impossible. The front light was not on. No emergency number was listed on their main line, in the cabin or on the front office door. I had to go through Facebook to get help getting our van out. I was surprised to find the upstairs beds were not made. The hand soap in the bathroom looked curdled. We ate the dinner we brought and my husband showered to get the mud off. The water turned ice cold half way through his shower. Then I pulled the bedding back on the main bed and found a bed bug perched on the pillow. I googled on my phone to verify it's identity. It was definitely a bed bug! We packed up and left immediately. The place was flooding, our shoes were soaked. They refuse to refund us. The lady who returned my call did not believe there were bed bugs even though I said I had photographed one. She said they couldn't grow to be apple seed size and since they hadn't had anyone stay there in a while bed bugs couldn't survive. A quick google search shows they are indeed appleseed size and can live for a year without a meal. She also tried to threaten me away from leaving an online review. Ugh. They charged us $128.94 which is huge for us. We didn't get into a new place until nearly 2am. Stay away from Cabin 93! I sure hope we didn't bring any bugs home! I didn't even ask for a full refund since we were on their premise for a few hours, but definitely felt they should have given us most of our money back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rising Sun hotels

Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed visiting Little Farm on the River. The staff was gracious, friendly and helpful. It was a real treat for us to camp in this beautiful spot along the Ohio River.

This campground is divided into two areas. At one end of the road is the camp store/check in. This area also has the pool and pond. At the opposite end of the road is the boat ramp and sites along the river, where we stayed. In both areas, the sites are spacious. The level, gravel pads are surrounded by lush grass. There are night lights at each electrical hookup. The area is surrounded by cornfields, definitely a working farm. Looking over the fields, I felt like I had just entered the set of “Secondhand Lions”.

In our section, a building held a laundry room and five unisex lavatories. Each lavatory had a commode, sink and shower. The handicapped one was huge. The lavatories were older but always immaculate.

We highly recommend Little Farm on the River and plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently camped at Little Farm on the River. There were a lot of activities for the kids and my two had a blast and want to return as soon as possible. During the day there were crafts for the kids. At 6pm there was a costume contest followed by trick or treating around the camp. There are two sections to this camp; one on a small pond and the other near the Ohio River. A trailer took the kids between the two sections so they could trick or treat at both.

The staff was very helpful when I called for a reservation as well as during check in. I thought the playground could use some upgrading. It was very small and one piece of equipment was broken. We stayed in one of the rental cabins and it was clean, although the pictures on line make it look much larger. It met our needs for the weekend, but no way could I stay here much longer than that. We don't camp a lot so I don't have much to compare this place too, however, sites where I was seemed very crammed together and had the nieghbors kids almost on top of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micaryan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just purchased our camper last year. We have camped here about 7 times last year (2012) Great place for families with kids. They have tons of activities for kids. Don't miss the month of October they all kids of Halloween activities for the kids and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Lake
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Little Farm for many years and have always been more than satisfied with the friendliness of the staff and owners. The view of the river is beautiful and very peaceful. During the month of October, our grandchildren expecially love the celebrations for Halloween. We will be heading there again shortly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabbylobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have been camping here since it opened.It is agreat place to camp.The River-view sites are the best.Roomy sites and of course,looking atr the river with boats and you never know what you will see on the Water.You won't regret camping here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rising Sun
8.7 mi away
Hollywood Casino Lawrenceburg Hotel
8.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
10.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 7 in Lawrenceburg
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Lawrenceburg
138 reviews
13.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cincinnati Airport/Erlanger
11.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cincinnati Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Farm on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Farm on the River

Property: Little Farm on the River
Address: 1343 E Bellview Ln, Rising Sun, IN 47040-9401
Location: United States > Indiana > Rising Sun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Rising Sun
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing