We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of Nasty despite nice service at the counter”
Review of Days Inn Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Richmond
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed April 7, 2011

1/25/11

HOTEL:
Days Inn-Richmond
5775 National Road East
Richmond, IN 47374

Once again the coupon book came through for us. At the Days Inn in Richmond, Sam behind the counter was super friendly and helpful. He recommended some local restaurants for us and let us know which ones gave us a discount for staying at his hotel. The customer service at this hotel was great. The hotel itself had some issues. Their ice machine was broken. The nice lady at the front desk graciously gave David a tub of huge cubes which smelled like whatever else was in her freezer. David and I joked how there had been a murder in our room since there was what appeared to be blood on the bathroom wall and door jamb, as well as one of the mattresses. But there were no bed bugs. At 2 a.m. I was awakened by the smell of cigarette smoke. I could only assume it was coming through one of the adjoining rooms but it was strong and definitely irritated my nose and throat. All that said, the hotel was comfortable and super affordable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Richmond
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 256 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2011

During the Oscars on Sunday night, Feb 27, you could fill up the tub for a relaxing bubblebath, and watch the Academy telecast comfortably from the tub.

But four freight trains rumbled by during the program. Did you hear who won best costume?

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LodgerFromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

bad twin beds and TV had the color going out. It is okay for a "dont tell motel" but if you are looking to enjoy the experience of a nice room, not even close. the light switches worked only in the middel--not off or on so you had to find the sweet spot to keep the lights inthe bathroom on. basically clean but the beds were not comfy at all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Traveling 8000 miles with our dog can be difficult. Most motels relegate you a smelly dog room. Sam Patel runs a friendly, well-cared for, charming motel. It was spotlessly clean and quiet. It was the best motel-chain experience of our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeebzAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This place prides itself on high speed cable. Forget that. Stayed there, TV did NOT work. Called the office, they said "Sorry". Right next to loud freight trains ALL night long, office staff VERY rude, Manager (or he says he's the owner: Sam Patel ??? would not move me to a room with working TV & not so loud. Breakfast is watered down juice with moldy bread. Disgusting. I checked out & went to the Motel 6 across the street. Only $30 something. MUCH better. Don't even stop in this roach motel. You will regret it. I do.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venuspuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stopped here for 1 night on our way from Montana to NY. The location was convenient - just off the freeway, with a couple of restaurants within walking distance.

The desk clerk was pleasant and we got a decent room rate. The room we were given faced the main road, which I thought would be a problem, but we weren't bothered by the traffic noise. The room itself was average - dated decor, but it did have a fridge, microwave, and free WiFi. It was clean, with a nice sized bathroom. The best feature was the new mattress that had just been put in the week before - very comfortable! However, the sheets had such a strong smell of bleach, it wasn't very pleasant sleeping on them.

The free breakfast in the morning was skimpy at best - cold cereal and bagels, along with coffee and juice.

It was an OK stay for the short time we were there, but for a longer stay, I would suggest one of the other choices in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heypaula717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

Yes, it's next to busy train tracks but that didn't bother us. Instead the worst part of the place was the fact that flat sheets were used for bottom sheets and that they wouldn't stay tucked in. The mattress was awful.

Likewise, the breakfast was awful. No fresh fruit

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 mi away
Best Western Classic Inn
Best Western Classic Inn
#2 of 10 in Richmond
437 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Richmond
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Richmond
Motel 6 Richmond
#6 of 10 in Richmond
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
#3 of 10 in Richmond
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond
Fairfield Inn Richmond
#1 of 2 in New Paris
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Richmond

Address: 5775 National Rd E, I-70 Exit 156A, Richmond, IN 47374-2619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $66 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Days Inn Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing