We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ In Years”
Review of Firehouse BBQ

Firehouse BBQ
Ranked #4 of 105 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Firehouse BBQ and Blues is Richmond Indiana's oldest firehouse. Owned and operated by two Richmond Firefighters, it is Indiana's premier BBQ restaurant. We specialize in southern style smoked pork, chicken, and brisket, and serve it up in a comfortable, nostalgic atmosphere. Live Blues music can be enjoyed every Friday and Saturday night. We also specialize in catering. You can plan your event to take place in our banquet room, or we can cater your event at your location.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best BBQ In Years”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great old place with lots of character and the bet BBQ I've had north of the mason-dixon. Prices were reasonable and enough food that I didn't go away hungry. DId not stay for the show, but has a stage for blues bands.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    50
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great bbq and atmosphere in a fun district of Richmond”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This restaurant's a must if you're visiting Richmond. Located in Richmond's oldest firehouse in the reenergized historic depot district, decorated with cool fire-fighting paraphernalia, murals and tributes to Gennett records, these firemen serve up delicious, fairly priced bbq and tasty sides. Along with nearby Ghyslain and Sheba's, this could be a top three dining spot. Sadly, no Tofu For the People.....shall I say "yet"????

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAFPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I recently had dinner here on a Friday night and it was very good. I tried the key lime pie and it was DELICIOUS! They said it was homemade and it definitely tasted like it. A good local place to eat!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A distinctive and delicious dining destination”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Housed in what was Richmond's first firehouse in a building that dates back to the 1800s, Firehouse BBQ and Blues is a great spot for lunch, dinner or drinks with a side of live music. The building features incredibly detailed murals, and the food is solid down-home-style barbecue along the lines of ribs, pulled pork, and brisket. Don't miss the cheesy potatoes! A fun, casual place the whole family can enjoy in Richmond's emerging Historic Depot District.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mommyamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Skip the chains and go local”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

On a road trip across Indiana, there are always lots of fast food and chain restaurant options for dinner, but my family likes to find good, local offerings and the Firehouse BBQ in Richmond is an excellent stop. It's worth getting off the highway to explore and have a good meal. The restaurant is located in the historic depot district, which boasts several galleries and a number of restaurants.

Our meal at the Firehouse was very good. We had some nice salads and a pulled pork dinner. The beer on draft was cold and refreshing. Service was extremely quick and amazingly friendly. We also really loved the murals on the walls! A great stop!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarperMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing