We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty and sparsely equipped” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Interstate Motel - Rensselaer

Interstate Motel - Rensselaer
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Interstate Motel - Rensselaer
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rensselaer
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nasty and sparsely equipped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed here due to dangerous black ice on the highway...I hadn't been in a Knights Inn in a very long time, but remembered they vary a lot. Well this left a lot to be desired. The chain on the door was missing. The ice machine had garbage in it--had to get ice from front desk. Nothing extra in room like shampoo, hair dryer, coffee machine. Basically two grungy beds and a non-working remote. Oh and the faucet had a mind of its own and was difficult to get it to turn on and off, let alone pick your water temperature. It was tolerable in this emergency situation, but I'd never seek it out. and at $53 with AAA discount, ridiculously oveprriced for this small town!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyCityGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
9
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

I swore I would never stay at another Knights Inn motel. I have had two nasty experiences with the chain. These were motels in other parts of the country, but after two bad experiences, I would not have tried this one except for the decent reviews. We are "budget " travelers, so price is important. This seemed one of the lower priced motels near Lafayette, IN (40 miles away). I would rate this motel slightly above average and would stay here again. The rooms were clean, and the night we stayed the surroundings were quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is not a deluxe hotel, but also does not charge a deluxe price --around $60 per night (two people)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truckboy357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

I was suprised when I opened the door to my room. I expected the worst - especially since the Knights Inn chain had been one I have pretty well crossed off my list after my last (and terrible) experience over five years ago at the one in Murfreesboro, TN. I gave it a shot, though, since reviews on TripAdvisor were on the better side. It paid off.

The room, though VERY basic, was well maintained and felt clean to me. A very nice "under 50 bucks" place to crash fo rthe night. Limited toiletries and a VERY firm mattress - but a good room over all. Staff was friendly, and I was suprised to find out that the room actually does have internet service - something that wasn't there when I made the reservation months in advance. It is good Wifi, too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunnyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

This hotel is good for basic accommodations. The staff was quite friendly and welcoming, gave me suggestions for what I could do/see the next day with family (not much but that's not the hotel's fault.)

Accommodations did not include many of the "perks" I've come to expect even in budget-level rooms. No microwave or refrigerator though there was a nice TV. Even though it was not listed, I was pleased to find out that wi-fi WAS available. The furniture looked as though it had seen better days. Still worked for what it was there for, though.

I wish that it had allowed pets - I would have liked to have brought my small dog with me on the trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

My son and I stayed here on our way to my Grandfathers funeral in Fowler, it was a very clean room, it was quiet at night and the lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful with directions, if you need somewhere to stay that is affordable then this is a great litte place to stay! its not some fancy high class place if that's what your used to you probably wont like it, but were just everyday people(we love to camp and would have if not for the purpose of our trip needing us to be showered and dressed up) and it was great for us! I woud definately stay here again if the need arised.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elstonian_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

Typical Knights Inn. Cheap quality everything but clean, inexpensive, and the small pool was very clean. Share-croppers staying at hotel were grilling in front of their rooms. My understanding is that was a seasonal thing for the corn industry. Wise to ask about this first and tell them you want to be in a section away from all that--for privacy and silence.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank GuyTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in Rensselaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rensselaer
12.8 mi away
Super 8 Remington
Super 8 Remington
#1 of 1 in Remington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Hebron
Comfort Inn Hebron
#1 of 2 in Hebron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
24.4 mi away
Super 8 Hebron Lowell Area
17.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interstate Motel - Rensselaer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interstate Motel - Rensselaer

Property: Interstate Motel - Rensselaer
Address: 8530 W State Road 114, Rensselaer, IN 47978-8812 (Formerly Knights Inn - Rensselaer)
Location: United States > Indiana > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy motel located conveniently off of I-65 on state road 114 in Rensselaer, Indiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Interstate Motel - Rensselaer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing