We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAN'T GET ENOUGH!”
Review of The Station Family Restaurant - CLOSED

The Station Family Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Restaurant details
Remington, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“CAN'T GET ENOUGH!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Everything on the menu that I have had has been wonderful. Mexican Thursday is a must, and their "Build Your Own Burger" is one of the best burgers I have ever had. If you are fortunate, you will visit when they have the roasted red pepper and gouda soup!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparky0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I had an omelette, which was pretty good. My girlfriend had no such luck. She ordered a BLT, which came as a club sandwich. She asked for her fries extra crispy...they were limp and getting cold already...not crisp at all. Server was friendly enough, but never came back to see if we were happy with our food. Overall, a below average experience...

Helpful?
Thank jmandly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remington, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A local Treasure”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lunch was good to great and dinner was fantastic.
Thursday lunch the place was hopping busy, but the soup and sandwich came to the table faster than a truckstop can serve their branded fare. The hometown atmosphere and excellent food intrigued and delighted me. I knew I would be back soon.
Saturday evening the pace was quiet and relaxed, The spaghetti was amply served as fast as the lunch and the leftovers will do good for two after church tommorrow. The the Haddock served with lots of fish and their homemade chips left the place in my satisfied belly.
If you make it down this way and eat at the interstate junctions, you missed the best and settled for a lot less than you could have enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Diner Fare - New Owners”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The Station is under new owners. I can say that the food is still good and the service, too. Pro tip: order the house chips with your sandwich. The Station is a no-frills small town cafe trying to make it. If you're passing by on US 24 or I-65, this is a great alternative to the fast food at the exit. Credit cards accepted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsEat360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Good Small Town Restaurant”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

A good small town restaurant with a Mexican twist.

Breakfast is the usual suspects - eggs, bacon/sausage/ham, hash browns, pancakes/French toast, and corned beef hash. A 2x3 combo of eggs, meat, and pancakes or French toast is $6.95.

Lunch brings burgers, breaded pork tenderloins, and chicken sandwiches. There is one or two daily soups. On an old rail schedule chalk board show the daily specials. The other features a number of Mexican standards - tacos, burritos, and my dad's favorite - a chicken chimichanga.

The food is good here. Certainly better than the fast food options near I-65. It is straightforward - the food, the service, and the prices. This location has changed hands many times since its heyday as Fisher's Remington Cafe. This is the best version since then.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LetsEat360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Remington, IN
Remington, IN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing