We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what Srimangal needs!”
Review of GK Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sreemangal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GK Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 14 Sreemangal B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I echo the other reviewers' opinions, this is a friendly, clean guest-house and deserves to do well. The other hotel I stayed in (not listed on Tripadvisor) before I found this one was far, far worse and approximately the same price.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 43 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have been staying at Green Leaf Guesthouse for a couple of nights. The room was clean, perfumed and comfortable, with hot water, tv, fan and a window with mosquito net.

The staff was helpful and friendly. Tapas could also organize everything we needed, from bikes to a guided tour of the surroundings.

Highly recommended! An island of comfort in Bangladesh for a more than reasonable price!
Sadly there was no wifi available, even though it was planned and you could use the desktop computer at the reception. Oh ... the help of Tapas is priceless!

Moreno

Room Tip: As far as I saw every room is ok, and all of them are facing a communal area with dining facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent 5 days at Green Leaf Guesthouse and loved it. The place is newish, very clean and extremely affordable. The rooms are large, well furnished with a typically hard bed, comfortable chairs, tv and clean bathroom. There is a common kitchen and sitting areas where the life of Green Leaf happens- cups of tea with staff and other travellers ensured that we gained local knowledge, made friends and had a good time. It is the easy way hospitality is offered at GreenLeaf that makes it such a comfortable place to stay. Tapas Dash is the perfect tour guide- knowledgable and friendly. Sreemangal was a highlight for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've just come back from 4 days in Srimangal where we stayed at the Green Leaf Guest House. It is a new Guest House - very modern, EXTREMELY clean with ever such a friendly owner and manager. They speak very good English. Nothing is too much trouble. They really looked after us. It felt like a home from home.
Their services include ac and non ac rooms, hot water on demand, tvs in the room, a dining room with freezer, kettle, microwave and meals on request. They have free internet, laundry service, car parking, a smoking zone and 24 hour security.
They can also organise bike rentals, a car (which is theirs) and a guide, who is the owner's cousin called Tapas Dash. He has been mentioned in several guides. We had two days with him and it was amazing. He is so friendly, his English is impeccable and he is a genuinely nice guy who just wants you to have a good time and show you his country. We went to the National Park and he was extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna. It was so interesting. We also walked through tea plantations, a pineapple plantation, drank the famous 7 layer tea, had a trip out to the rural wetlands to see small villages and went bird watching at the observatory, which was fantastic. He also accompanied us the the cinema, which was highly amusing. It was the little touches, like taking us into a tea house to try the local snacks that made him more than just a normal guide. It was like visiting a friend who was taking you round their home town.
I would recommend both the Guest House and Tapas as a guide 100%.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jasminehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a very good place to stay if you go to Sreemangal.
Young, enthusiastic staff is friendly and rooms are clean.
And they are associated with a great guide that can show you all the beautiful spots in the area.
Sreemangal and the Green Leaf Guesthuse are absolutely worth a visit.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
5  Thank Anne-Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this modestly priced and newly established guesthouse for a week. You could not miss it if you make you own way there as it boasts well-designed and prominent signage at the gate of the premises and all down the fence on College Road. It is conveniently located in the town of Sreemangal, within easy walking distance of four very good restaurants and other sources of food for those who prefer self-catering (fresh food stalls, streetfood vendors, a nice sweet shop etc). We were met at the railway station by the effervescent and charismatic tour guide Tapas Dash, whose services are recommended. Tapas speaks excellent English and is very obliging and thoughtful. Typical of many Bangladeshi and Indian places, the bed in our room was very hard, which took some adjusting to. There was a lot of noise from the street throughout the night, but this just adds to the colour and excitement, especially if something is happening at the mosque or a game or football is on. The atmosphere is back-packery and you need to bring your own towels and top sheet if you like to sleep with two sheets. Laundry service is reliable. There is no wifi service, but the up-to-the-minute computer in the guesthouse office is made available to guests at no charge. It is easy to pick up a rickshaw or autorickshaw right outside the guesthouse, although it helps greatly to have a hotel staff member assist in communicating with the drivers. PS Sreemangal is the tea capital of Bangladesh and to celebrate that fact you will be offered lots of cups of tea if you stay here. :)

Room Tip: Some rooms lead off short corridors while some come directly off the shared central area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roslyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is superb, one of the best guest houses in Bangladesh for sure. The staff are friendly and obliging and will make sure your stay in Sreemongol is fantastic. It's not too far from the train station and there are a few good restaurants only a short walk away. They also arrange tours which are good value.
I would stay here again in an instant.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NZkiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sreemangal
8.2 mi away
DuSai Resort & Spa
DuSai Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Maulvi Bazar
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemon Garden Resort
Lemon Garden Resort
#4 of 7 in Sreemangal
2 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Sultan Tea Resort & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel & Apartments
Richmond Hotel & Apartments
#2 of 4 in Sylhet City
8 reviews
13.4 mi away
Rangauti Resort
Rangauti Resort
#3 of 5 in Maulvi Bazar
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GK Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GK Guesthouse

Address: College Road | near Ezone Cyber Cafe and Srimingal Police Station, Sreemangal na, Bangladesh (Formerly Green Leaf Guesthouse)
Location: Bangladesh > Sylhet Division > Sreemangal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sreemangal
Price Range: $10 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, stylish, quiet guesthouse. Close to Srimingal town center. Friendly staff can help you plan your visit - enjoy tea plantations, national parks, bird watching at wetlands, waterfalls, local villages, lotus lake and cultural activities. AC/non AC single, double and twin share rooms available ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing