We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
73
28
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
28
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboer warconcentration campvinyl recordsthe ownerfloor to ceilinghistorical tourhis knowledgefree statesmall townpiano recitalstory tellercollection of booksevening mealelectric blanketslove bookstwo nightsroad trip
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 106 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2015

Do not be fooled by first impressions of this hotel! Host Tony, very eloquent and intriguing enthralled us with his life stories & experiences. I enquired about satellite television which he replied we do not have radio,television, wifi and the only telephone is my own cellphone. However I do have 80,000 LP records, 120,000 books all catalogued, we then witnessed the evidence.
A totally different experience in hotel staying. We were entertained by the resident concert classical pianist and a superb dinner in intimate but charming surroundings and a hearty breakfast the following morning. This hotel is not a typical drab chain establishment but more an adventure.
Priced to please but not to miss, so if you are within a thousand kilometers of the area, if it is well worth the detour.

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2015

This was our stop over between the Cape and Durban. Arriving at the hotel we were greeted and booked in and in no time were drawn into the amazing vibe of this old place. Talking to Tony about the colossal collection of books and records was greatly entertaining and walking the corridors and looking at the hundreds and thousands of collectables was a bit mind boggling - a very cool place to visit. Dinner and breakfast were good with some nice home-style dishes served. The room we stayed in was quite basic, but clean and tidy, which was all that we needed for a one night stop along our route. The bed itself could have been a bit better, but not a big problem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zombieZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2015

During December, on our way to the Cape Province we made the town Bethulie our stopover as this was on a road we had not yet travelled. Not quite sure what to expect, we arrived on a rather hòt afternoon. The owner and assistant welcomed us personally and to our great astonishment we were informed about " the afternoon's entertainment" that had been arranged. This was a Piano Concert by well known pianist Benjamin Fourie, as well as sundowners on the longest bridge in SA! The hotel itself is also of great interest as the owner has a collection of some 120000 books- of which a great part lines the passage and reception walls in book shelves- over and above the large collection of LP records! As far as room comfort is concerned the beds were excellent, furniture adequate but no airconditioning. This hotel however is very interesting and an absolute must as a stop, should you be in this part of the country.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the road as the rooms on the back side get the full sun inn summer and become extremely hot.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Inkie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2015

If outer appearances are important to you, then you will find nothing 'royal' to look at when visiting the Royal Hotel in Bethulie, but if you're looking for 'royal' treatment, you need look no further. We were greeted like old friends by Tony Hocking - host par excellence - having stayed there once before. We were treated to welcome drinks, a tour of the boer war concentration camp and memorial, a world-class piano concert by resident concert pianist, Benjamin Fourie, sundowners and a spectacular sunset on the magnificently arched Hennie Steyn bridge and then a supper of excellent home-cooked fare back at the hotel, followed by a good night's sleep in our extremely comfortable bed. Tony Hocking is a seasoned historian, with many published works under his belt, and an expert on the history of the area, as well as the 'invisible' history of Bethulie. Of course, the main reason people want to go to the hotel, is to view the book-lined walls displaying some hundreds of thousands of books - a unique and unforgettable experience - but there are many other reasons, too. A detour to Bethulie is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If Bethulie is going through a 'noisy' patch,choose a courtyard room.
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleymarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2015

Our family had recommended staying with Tony at The Royal Hotel on our way along the N1 home. It didn't disappoint! The hosting by Tony and his staff was brilliant and the books and lp's covering the walls are absolutely incredible. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and we did have a fan in our room which helped with the heat. The dinner is good "boere kos" and breakfast was English and hearty. Tony told us all about the history of the area but we need to come back for more than one night to see more of the area, read some books and listen to some lp's.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beansy201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews