We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best guesthouse in Bethulie”
Review of Karoo Pandok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karoo Pandok
Ranked #2 of 5 Bethulie B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“The best guesthouse in Bethulie”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

As always, our stay at the Karoo Pandok was a lovely experience - the staff are friendly and helpfull, the accommodation is exquisite and the food absolutely sublime! The location is picturesque - set in one of the most beautiful areas in our country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pieter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent hospitality and great service. Will definitely recommend Karoo Pandok!

Was a bit disappointed with the town, especially as they have been nominated for "Dorp van die Jaar" contestor by Kyknet.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My son and I stayed over at Karoo Pandok en route to Knysna and was the highlight of our trip. A completely magical experience far away from the big city and totally authentic. Louis and his partner were magnificent hosts and the food was out of this world. Fresh, local ingredients and loads of passion emmanate from the home-cooked meals! Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Karoo Pondok on our way to Jbg. Louis was a great host who went out of his way to ensure we were comfortable. We loved our room, especially the mattress on the bed - my lower back pain disappeared. Bliss! Breakfast was HUGE and delicious. And Louis went out of his way to assist with travel advice to other places. I'm just sorry we didn't have the time to explore Bethulie history. Thanks Louis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraN975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

For a farm style experience the place is magnificently mantained. The food is top notch 'boer kos', the owner and staff went far and beyond to make sure our experience was special and very unique. Our karoo braai with karoo lamb ribs prepared by owner Louis was just one of the most special nights we will never forget! Highly recommend that anyone travelling around SA give them a call.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurenceh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Karoo Pandok on my way up to JHB from CT. I was greeted by Louis, the very friendly host, who consistently made me feel welcome and special. The room was exquisite, and the surroundings are just magnificent and very peaceful. There is a lovely energy about the place, and the decor and design is the very best boere-shique. I was able to enjoy both supper and breakfast, and both meals were flavoursome feasts which I would highly recommend! The quaint town of Bethulie is magical, and a trip to this town, and to Karoo Pandok, will enrich your life.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boschbotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just bumped in and asked if they had beds available for the three of us. Even though they were fully booked, they arranged something for us. Also we were lucky enough to be there for the braai, which was pretty good. We had lots of fun til late at night drinking in the kitchen and they even managed to get our clothes washed!

Would come back anytime!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank der_yonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karoo Pandok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Pandok

Property: Karoo Pandok
Address: 09 East Street, Bethulie 9992, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bethulie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bethulie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Country style guest house, rustic ‘Farmers Cottage’and quaint Farmhouse is nestled in the beautiful and historical town of Bethulie. Hidden between typical, picturesque Free state koppies it is the ideal setting to clear your mind and experience true Karoo hospitality whilst enjoying the fresh air and spectacular views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing