We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karoo Paradise Pandok”
Review of Karoo Pandok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karoo Pandok
Ranked #2 of 5 Bethulie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Karoo Paradise Pandok”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Karoo Pandok on my way up to JHB from CT. I was greeted by Louis, the very friendly host, who consistently made me feel welcome and special. The room was exquisite, and the surroundings are just magnificent and very peaceful. There is a lovely energy about the place, and the decor and design is the very best boere-shique. I was able to enjoy both supper and breakfast, and both meals were flavoursome feasts which I would highly recommend! The quaint town of Bethulie is magical, and a trip to this town, and to Karoo Pandok, will enrich your life.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boschbotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just bumped in and asked if they had beds available for the three of us. Even though they were fully booked, they arranged something for us. Also we were lucky enough to be there for the braai, which was pretty good. We had lots of fun til late at night drinking in the kitchen and they even managed to get our clothes washed!

Would come back anytime!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank der_yonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were on our way through Bertoulie and spontaneously looking for a place to stay when we saw that inconspicuous sign.
It was more than worth it to have a look what's there.
We had a great South African night having braai with Karoo lamb, drinks, jokes and laughter!
Rooms and the pool were clean and nicely maintained. Breakfast was delicious!

Looking forward to seeing you again sometime!
Dan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We loved this place, the owner Louis was helpful and he makes you feel at home immediately!
Our room was clean, cosy and spacious. It is also the best place to eat in Bethulie, the owner is also a chef and he makes incredible food!
One evening, just before sunset, the owner took us to the D.H Steyn bridge overlooking the Orange river and we had some drinks on the bridge - WOW! what a view, that was a great experience!

The best place in Bethulie, will def go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eljean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My sister and I visited the Karoo Pandok during December 2012 all the way from Cape Town. We were staying there for 5 nights. It really was the most warm welcome, friendly and well rest vacation we ever had. We stayed in the “Kids Room” – clean neat and spacious. The host was very helpful with information about places of interest in and around Bethulie. He even helped us and arranged a guided tour! The breakfast and supper was well prepared and more than enough. It was really worth while the travel and they will see us again in future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

What a lovely stay. The owner was wonderful and helpful. Prepared us a lovely dinner and went out of his way to make us feel at home. We will stay there again!

We stayed at the farm house cottage was lovely spacious and clean. Everything we needed was there.

We enjoyed a lovely candlelit dinner for two on the patio with the rain in the background!

Room Tip: The farm house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptonpark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

WOW!!!

We had the privileged of staying over at the Karoo Pandok guesthouse in Bethulie on our way to Capetown from Johannesburg in October 2012.

We were treated like royalty.

The food were delicious, traditional and very generousness portions.

The rooms are cozy, clean and beautifully furnished and decorated.
Bed linen, towels and mattresses were clearly all well kept and fairly new.

Owner Louis took us to the Orange river bridge for Sun-downers and snacks (4 min drive on the back of his truck)

We went on a historical tour organised by Karoo Pandok Guesthouse. It was so informative.

Nothing was too much to ask for Louis and the other staff and we will definitely be back next year!!!

ps Next time we will visit in the winter so we can start up the old antique Cole stove in the kitchen.

Room Tip: The Karoo Huisie is stunning we all had our own room and a big private garden overlooking some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karoo Pandok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Pandok

Property: Karoo Pandok
Address: 09 East Street, Bethulie 9992, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bethulie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bethulie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Country style guest house, rustic ‘Farmers Cottage’and quaint Farmhouse is nestled in the beautiful and historical town of Bethulie. Hidden between typical, picturesque Free state koppies it is the ideal setting to clear your mind and experience true Karoo hospitality whilst enjoying the fresh air and spectacular views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing