We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is going down hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Princeton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Findlay, Ohio
1 review
“Hotel is going down hill”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

princeton, in hotel is going down hill, trash in pool area not cleaned up both nights, the tv cable was not working and the staff had no logical reason or fix to help us. we had to figure out the tv's on our own and the staff did not help at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredSchmits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    91
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
112
63
20
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Not too much to complain about. Breakfast actually lasted and they had several servers that were very nice and continued to bring out food every time something was gone. There was a lot of different foods to choose from as well, and they had fruit that was fresh out all day!

At night they have a managers special sort of thing downstairs where basically everyone staying went down and drank for a while before staggering up to their rooms. Not for sure how often that happens, but it's a little creepy to be in an elevator with barely-legal men drinking long neck bottles of Budlite. Not something I'd really want the kids to see again.

They only had smoking rooms when we stayed, but they had one of the room scrubbers on and working for the first hour we were in the room and that did help quite a bit. At least my eyes stopped stinging after a little while.

The room could have been cleaner, but I think it was because they were so packed the day we were staying and we checked in early. The housekeeper that came in to get the air cleaner apologized and was very nice, so were all the receptionist at the front desk. I didn't think they would be so nice to our small children as it seemed like more of an "adult" hotel, but they were very lovely.

As we were leaving, one of the housekeepers had to stop and talk to our children, telling them how cute and gorgeous they were. It was very sweet. The only real complaint about leaving was that receptionist didn't say a word to us getting off the elevator and one of the housekeepers downstairs seemed annoyed as she stuffed everything into the elevator.

I also had the strange experience of having to tell one of the younger housekeepers that we were going up in the elevator, as she stopped it on the second floor as we were going up to our room on the third floor. Never had that happen before.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlws86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We have grandchildren in Princeton that we don't get to see very often. So for July 4th this year we came for a visit. We stayed in the Hampton Inn and it was so lovely! The rooms were so clean and the beds felt like heaven. The staff was so friendly and made us feel right at home. We absolutely loved staying here! It makes us feel so good that there is a wonderful hotel that we can stay at while visiting family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveledtheWorld49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I had a nice cozy stay with a very nice soft bed and good shower. The am breakfast staff was very cordial as was the desk staff. A nice beer and wine evening social was also great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tennisgal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

we where on a family trip from the northeast,what a great place to stay!! very clean and comfortable.the staff was great.. nice breakfast and happy hour..close to a sonic...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
721 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,030 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel was very clean and very nice. It is in rural Indiana with not much around. I really liked this hotel but a couple of issues kept me from giving it 5 stars. The construction of the hotel was cheap, our door wouldn't close unless you pulled it shut, the door handle would hang down most of the time, and the first time we used the bathroom - the entire toilet paper holder fell right off from where it was mounted! The indoor pool lacked proper ventilation and the chemical smell not only filled the pool area so you couldn't use it but the chemical smell filled the entire first floor. We also needed an extra blanket but the front desk said they had none - only small crib blankets.

The best part of this hotel was the amazing breakfast. It was the first hotel we have ever stayed at which has a huge rice cooker at breakfast time serving sticky rice - yum! They also had several different oriental flavor packets to go with the rice but were all written in Chinese so we had no idea what they were. They even had packets of dried seaweed.

We would absolutely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Not knowing what we were going to find when we stopped at a hotel in rural Indiana we were wonderfully surprised by how nice our hotel was. Even though it was the least expensive of the hotels we stayed at while on vacation, it was the nicest. The staff was friendly, The room was very clean and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was much more and tastier than we expected.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Princeton
Fairfield Inn Princeton
#2 of 3 in Princeton
52 reviews
13.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Evansville North/Haubstadt
13.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Evansville
Red Roof Inn Evansville
#20 of 36 in Evansville
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Evansville North
21.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Vincennes
22.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Evansville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Princeton

Property: Hampton Inn Princeton
Address: 107 S. Richland Creek Dr, Princeton, IN 47670-9508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Princeton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing