We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time passed this place by”
Review of Days Inn Portage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Portage
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Portage
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“time passed this place by”
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Chose the Day's Inn because it was the only place we could find listed for Portage at the Travel stop on I-80. It was like going back in time, room had no wireless internet and the only electrical outlet to recharge phones and DVD players was on the bathroom counter. Very drab decor, like it hadn't been updated since the 1970s. The tub tile either need regrouting or a good scrubbing. No bathroom vents which caused the door hinges to be rusty. The heat worked okay but during the night it started to make funny noises, I think it was the fan. Beds were fairly comfortable.
Breakfast was minimal; bagels/defrosted danish/oatmeal packages. Not even sliced bread for toast, and unlike most places now it had no eggs or waffles. Not even peanut butter. The cream cheese had been frozen (it crumbled instead of spreading) and may have turned before it was frozen (had a very strong cheese taste). Staff was friendly.
This place has clearly seen better days and I was surprised when we got off I-80 to find that there were many other choices closer to the Interstate. Even with an AARP discount we paid over $20 more than we did for much nicer places along I-70 and I-74.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    76
    94
    72
    100
See reviews for
165
77
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen scotland
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2009

This is the worst hotel I have stayed in the manager and staff were extremely rude and refused to understand our complaints
The outside looks good but do not be fooled this is definately one to miss
the rooms are large and smelly ,beds are mildly uncomfortable curtains are old and have moth holes which let in daylight.The bed was infested with bugs and we were covered in bights
The front desk re-sold our room only 1 hour after we checked in and a couple walked into our room after we had gome to bed
The girl on the desk seemed more interested in covering her own back than listening to our complaints.
someone also did not tell the truth as she said the hotel did not have a computerised booking system yet the manager said system was down
this hotel although budget is overpriced they should pay you to stay there
bad hotel bad customer service not good advert for Days Inn
two good points next to Denny's free parking

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyinghostaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portage hotels

wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I had cancelled my reservation directly with this hotel in the time frame required for a refund but my credit card was charged as a no show. I have spoken numerous times with management and accounting at the hotel and they refuse to refund my money. They will not even give me any contact information regarding the owner. I would be very leary of booking this hotel as I have experienced very unprofessional practices and unfair charges. BEWARE!!!!!!

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We booked our stay based on previous positive experiences at other Days Inns. When entering the room we noticed an odor which seemed like it had been bombed for insects. After reading other comments...this may be. We didn't see any little critters in any case.
In spite of the smell we made a decision to drop our bags in the room and go for supper to discuss our options. While at the restaurant we met a couple from the area who, not knowing where were staying, suggested anywhere but the area near where we had checked in. We assumed they were referring to the no-tell motel directly across which looked like it had parking meters on the doors.
We were only passing through after driving for 10 hours and exhausted, so we decided to stay. We checked the beds (which were clean and comfortable), the bathroom (outdated, but clean), and carpets had been vaccumed & didn't leave any dirt on the soles of my socks. Once we got used to the odor we had a comfortable night.
The staff, although slow, were reasonably pleasant. Although vouchers were provided for a continental breakfast, we didn't test the food. Instead we decided to eat at Denny's right next door.
It definately wasn't the best place we've ever stayed, but the bed was comfortable. Had we planned to stay longer, or not been as tired, we would have looked for other accomodations,
In fairness to the hotel, it appeared that they may have been renovating as the exterior seemed to have been freshly painted and they were erecting a new sign the morning we left.

  • Liked — Close to highway and other amenities, ie Denny's, Starbucks, Quaker Steak & Lube, Gas
  • Disliked — Odor in the room, Lobby seemed old and uninviting, Staff were slow and unenthusiastic
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OK_or_Bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

When we checked in, we immediately had to ask for another romm, as the bathroom was full of mold, and the room was just not clean looking. The other room was a little better, but still not as clean as it should have been. The glass surfaces were smeared and dirty looking, the box springs were stained and dirty. the towels were thin and we only had 3 towels and 2 wash cloths for 4 people. The patio door lock was broken and a bright light out side interferred with sleeping. The daily service left a lot to be desired. The whole building was seedy looking , dirty and run down. If we had been going to spend any amount of time in the room, other than sleeping, we would have gone elsewhere. The overall experience was very dissappointing, and we would not stay there again or recommend it.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Very sub-standaed rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

i travel for business not too far most of the time but noramly its easer just to find a weekly hotel most places i stay are mom and pops well i found out the rate was good here but whean i arrived i was told i had to live like a 150 miles away along with a whole sheet of rules and basicly told i didnt meet the critera. most hotels of this age have some tenets that carry it through without that i see why this place is in shambles

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank tippyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

this was a very sub-par accommodation. The facility seemed in over-all dis-repair. The desk help was slow. The bathroom tub lacked a stopper among various other minor shortfalls. this was the last stop of a 2 week western trek and the only place that disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treks2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Portage
Super 8 Portage
#6 of 10 in Portage
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#3 of 10 in Portage
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Portage
99 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Portage

Property: Days Inn Portage
Address: 6161 Melton Road I-94 and Route 249, Portage, IN 46368-1316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, convenient, and not far from Chicago, our Days Inn Portage hotel is a perfect spot to kick off your Lake Michigan adventure. We are located just off I-94 and I-80/90/Indiana Toll Road, between South Bend and the Windy City. Our hotel is an affordable favorite for people who travel cross-country on the toll road, sports fans who enjoy events in the Chicagoland area, and families who are looking for a stop by the beach. In addition to both major east-west highways, the hotel is near the South Shore train station, the Greyhound bus station, and a stop for the shuttle bus to both O'Hare and Midway Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Portage Hotel Portage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing