We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly Bates Motel”
Review of Days Inn Portage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Portage
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

First of all, the photo online of this property is not this property. This establishment is a dingy yellow and blue color. Its right off of the interstate, yet even the truckers choose the Best Western across the street.

Few issues with the room:
1. The piss smell.
2. Three light bulbs were out, but there's not enough outlets to plug the appliances and the lamp in at once anyway.
3. Pillows were the size of couch throw pillows with a full size pillow case folded around them.
4. Handle on the toilet was broken.
5. A chair leg was broken, which I discovered when trying to sit down.
6. Room 318 is an "upscale" room with refrigerator (that froze our Chinese food) and a microwave. Yet it is situated right by an exit. If my room door was not locked, the opening and closing of the outside door caused my door to open.
7. Dirty paper coffee cups in a desk drawer.
8. The heater sounds like someone beating on your door, all night.
9. Granted it was a pet friendly room, but when we got there the menus and do not disturb sign were chewed up.

Bottom line is do not stay here. There is a decent looking Best Western right across the street. Go anywhere else but this horrible little place.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Portage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 402 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank NP0114
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The room was very cold when we arrived. The desk clerk came to see what she could do. She is very polite and concerned, tried to be very helpful. We had found the heater had been unplugged as well as the frig.

Next morning I opened the drapes to find the window was open about a 1/4 in.
at the top but was snug, but not tight at the bottom.

I would stay again if needed, but I would make a good inspection before hand.

Thanks Mary Mansfield

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A welcoming place to stay after our car broke down on the Indiana Toll Road. The staff was very helpful in providing us with information, and willingly stored our luggage and allowed us to stay in the lobby to line up a rental, even after we had checked out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Wyndham traveler
Dorr
Reviewed December 25, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Portage
Super 8 Portage
#6 of 12 in Portage
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Portage

Address: 6161 Melton Road I-94 and Route 249, Portage, IN 46368-1316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: $59 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, convenient, and not far from Chicago, our Days Inn Portage hotel is a perfect spot to kick off your Lake Michigan adventure. We are located just off I-94 and I-80/90/Indiana Toll Road, between South Bend and the Windy City. Our hotel is an affordable favorite for people who travel cross-country on the toll road, sports fans who enjoy events in the Chicagoland area, and families who are looking for a stop by the beach. In addition to both major east-west highways, the hotel is near the South Shore train station, the Greyhound bus station, and a stop for the shuttle bus to both O'Hare and Midway Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Portage Hotel Portage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing