We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun trip, had bigger expectations, but nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
cvg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun trip, had bigger expectations, but nice.”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We were traveling with family and small children. I was very excited to stay there. As other travelers stated the entrance is beautiful with fresh baked cookies and staff was extremely nice. The room was ok, but carpet was really dirty, children had black dirt after crawling for 5 minutes. Other than that, room was nice with awesome comfortable beds. The breafast bar let us down a little, as sometimes breakfast was late and they ran out of hot items quickly. However, there was cereal, yogurt, waffles and fresh fruit. We came on the holiday weekend, so it might have been a little hectic at times. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b17083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments. We apologize that you were less that 100% satisfied with your stay. Rest assured that on your next visit to our property you will not encounter the same issue. Have a wonderful Summer and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    137
    50
    19
    27
See reviews for
392
57
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Very nice hotel ~ wonderful location. Walking distance to many restaurants and Bass Pro Shop. If we are ever in the area again, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Bas Pro Shop is one of the nice perks about staying in Portage. It is an amazing store and has many suprises when you first walk through it. We hope that you will be back to Bass Pro Shop again soon and that we will have the pleasure of your company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Originally a one night stop, we extended our stay here for four days because of location and the hotel. We had a family suite (dining table, 2 twin beds and a separate room with king bed).

Staff was very friendly, facility was very clean, beds were extremely comfortable (Tempurpedic matresses). Pool area was large, well cared for and very kid-friendly, and the free breakfast was a great start to the day.

Located 10 minutes from the beaches at Indiana Dunes park, 6 minutes from the train to Chicago, and only a 45 minute drive to downtown Chicago, this hotel was a great base to do some exploring of the Lake Michigan coastline and some museums in the Windy City.

Overall, this was a great stay at a good price. There's a Longhorn steakhouse next to the hotel that provided great food with good service. The only negative at the hotel was the Internet connectivity. WiFi signal was strong in the room, but the speed was crippled (512k down) presumably to encourage guests to pay for more speed. Use of the Internet on an iPhone or iPad was a frustrating experience since the ISP login page wanted to display for 10 seconds every time you wanted to surf or check email. I ended up going with AT&T's 3G for most of the time (3G signal was strong, and speed was faster).

Aside from this small detail, though, we had an excellent stay and would definitely visit again.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank asfjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Our staff members will be very happy to see your kind words. We are always pleased when you are pleased. Come back to see us again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The Good - Easy to find, nice atmosphere and well cared for. The pool area for kids is really great. Our son was really excited to see the kiddie pool with all of its amenities. I don't think there is a single hotel in the surrounding area with this. You can get a suite which closes off from the living area, and with kids that is a necessity in my opinion. The breakfast was good and the ladies working in the breakfast area were so nice. Another thing I absolutely have to have is a mini fridge, they have that and a microwave / coffee maker. The beds were tempur pedic.

A few things that I wish I could change - Upon check in there was no smile, no welcome to country inn and suites etc. It was just sort of like I was buying a lottery ticket as far as communication. Same way with checking out etc. They weren't rude, there was just a sense that they were doing their job going through the motions type thing. They did call up to see if we needed anything and that was very nice.

And through no faults of the hotel - next door there is a restaurant that has a biker wednesday. They have a concert and bikers from all around the area arrive for it. It is on Wednesday nights. Now if you don't have kids this just might be a fun thing for you to attend. Us having kids, it was like right after I put my kids there was a rock concert outside their window, and motorcycle noise every five seconds. The hotel has no control over this, so if you have to stay on a Wednesday night I might ask to stay on the opposite side of the hotel though I'm not sure that would help. It ends by midnight though.

Lack of restaurants around to eat. We had to drive into Portage to find a Subway for dinner. It was our last night, we'd been to Chicago, we were all tired and low of any food we'd brought. I wanted something healthy enough, or what I call real food, and not have to pay a ton of money. There is a gas station on the corner near the hotel for milk , water, etc those kinds of things. A Longhorne steakhouse next to the hotel that was good for dinner one night, but they allow smoking in a non closed off area of the restaurant . I wouldn't take my kids in there again, I'd do takeout.

The pluses outweigh the minuses. I find myself trying to figure out how to pack enough food for a two day trip to the Dunes and not have it on a Wednesday night essentially. Also about a half hour north is Washington Park Zoo and Beach in Michigan City and if you have kids, and don't mind the half hour drive this hotel for amenities and price cannot be beat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btravel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Thank you so much for your review and your feedback. It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your kids had a great experience.

Just this year a new Beach area has opened to the public that is just 1.5 mile's from our Hotel. It is called Portage Lakefront and Riverwalk. It has great parking a beautiful Pavillion and Nature walks that are amazing. We will be sure to provide you with details and a map next time we see you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Overall it's a nice hotel, the beds are super comfortable. However, trying to get the kids to bed with all the noise was nearly impossible. I don't know what the floors are made of in this hotel, obviously not concrete. The stomping around upstairs was making the light fixtures rattle. I could hear bums squeaking in bathtubs, toilet seats closing, water running and people in the hall. My daughter was worried that someone was trying to get into our room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momnumber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
We sincerely regret the disturbance. Our kid friendly Aquatic Center attracts a large number of families at the weekends and as much as we try to contain the exuberance of the children it can sometimes mean additional noise. On your next visit, we would be happy to assign one of our quieter fourth floor rooms upon request. We take all feedback seriously, and regret that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Wow! That really sums it up! This was the first stop on a long weekend trip to Chicago with my 3 young grandchildren (ages 5, 4 & 2 1/2.) First, let me say the employees of this place were absolutely fantastic, starting right from check-in and including the very friendly housekeepers we had contact with throughout. One lady in particular made a point of "having fun" with my grandchildren during an elevator ride. She took the time to greet them and talk with them, and made them feel important. The room was so comfortable, clean and spacious. And the beds . . . . wow! The mattress was top quality and so comfy. Now the best part, especially since I had the grankids along and this weekend was really about them: the pool area! They were heaven for the enire day & evening. This place has one large "regular" pool with a smaller pool attached, a large hot tub, and a good sized "kiddie pool" complete with a frog slide. The kids were so excited and had so much fun. The whole pool area was huge, with lots of tables & lounge chairs (and an air hockey game!) and VERY clean. We also never ran out of towels!

If there was any SLIGHT negative, it was during the free breakfast . . . when we went to breakfast it was packed with people and they had a hard time keeping up with the crowd. But, know that wasn't your normal complimentary breakfast (just a few rolls, cold cereal, and maybe some fruit) there was eggs, waffles, susage gravy & biscuits, name brand yogurt and cereal, oatmeal, sausage links, and other items.

I did have a problem with a loud tv in the room next door @ 1:30am, and it was taken care of very quickly.

Overall, I was so incredibly pleased with my stay and more importantly, at least to me, my grandkids had a fantastic time and slept great! We will definitley return!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeeTeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Country Inn & Suites is all about family and especially kids. We all have kids and grandkids ourselves and we do all that we can to make our Hotel family and kid friendly. In fact we get so many families and so many kids sometimes that it does get a little noisy as you mentioned and our breakfast area sometimes gets very busy.

We hope that you and your family have a wonderful summer and that you will return to see us before the grandkids return to school.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2010

My kids loved the kiddie pool and I being a fussy Mom and Wife was impressed with the cleanliness and overall condition of the Hotel. It is beautiful when you first arrive and is "home like" when you enter the Lobby area. The staff is amazing and friendly and helpful and made a great recommendation for dinner our first night.

The tempurpedic beds are the best (need these at home) and we slept so well. Breakfast was very nice and the breakfast Hostess (Nancy I think was her name) was so friendly it was like being at Grandma's house.

We are coming back often. We had a great time and so will you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julielynnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with our Staff. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
147 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
411 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Address: 1630 Olmstead Dr, Portage, IN 46368-1696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located near the the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and just 1 mile from Portage's Riverwalk beach park. We are a family friendly hotel with a large aquatic center featuring a kiddie pool, hot tub, swimming pool and an arcade area. We offer a great free breakfast every morning that includes fresh homemade waffles, various hot items like sausage and eggs as well as lots of fruits and cereals. We are just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago with great rail service available daily until midnight or later. The famed Lighthouse Outlet mall is less than 20 minutes away as are numerous casinos. Portage is a great place to vacation or just visit. Our beaches are second to none and our people are friendly and always inviting.. The famed Steel Mills of NW Indiana are just minutes away from the hotel so business clients are always welcomed. Specially negotiated rates are available for all contractors and vendors doing business with the mills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Portage Hotel Portage
Country Inn And Suites Portage
Country Inn Portage
Portage Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing